Club 21 Reviews | Glassdoor

Club 21 Reviews

Updated Sep 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Club 21 CEO Christina Ong
Christina Ong
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Merchandiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Merchandiser in Singapore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Club 21 full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Overall peers are good.

    Cons

    New business head doesn't understand fashion. No one seems to know where the business is going. Brands are old and no longer in demand. Many work in fear.

    Advice to Management

    There is a serious issue with new management. Lacks integrity, lives in his own world.,there are good people with good views that are disregarded. No one dares to speak up anymore as they will probably be setup to fail. After 9 years working here, the new management in 2018 that poorly reflects a good understanding of fashion with no work ethics is the last straw for me. There is alot of heritage and hope.... With declining sales for the last 5 years, 2018 ended even worse. Looks like if senior management remains the same 2019 and after will continue to decline.

    Show More
    Club 212019-01-24
  2. "Place for fashion fanatics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tanglin Hill, Central
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Club 21 part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Casual - Close knit team - Good staff benefits (in terms of fashion)

    Cons

    - None for now. The company is doing fairly well.

    Club 212018-12-15
  3. "Terrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Singapore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Club 21 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good working place like marina bay

    Cons

    I been bully by senior staff on my first day msnagers sides old staff than new staff..unfairness

    Advice to Management

    Treasure new staff and dont be one sided

    Club 212019-01-08
  4. "Part time retail staff at Kids 21 Orchard Forum"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Club 21 part-time

    Pros

    No shifts at this shop, 10am-7pm everyday, 6 days a week. $8/h usually, and $10 on public holidays (and I think weekends too).

    Cons

    Do the math, you work more than 44h a week. Most full timers (about 5) made it an unpleasant place to work. Lazy and don't finish what they start but ask part timers to do it. Eat their own food with their own bowls and ask part timers to wash it for them. Completely out of the job scope. They don't even work well together among themselves. Will stand around chatting when shop is empty but can't stand the sight of... part timers not doing anything. Lunch is only 30min and you have to walk out to other buildings to buy it back cos there's nothing in the mall. Not enough time for me. This mall is also far from the MRT. All the part timers at this outlet kept quitting in less than 1- 2 weeks.

    Show More
    Club 212018-12-21
  5. "sales personnel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Club 21 part-time

    Pros

    shift work, decent pay, discount for staffs

    Cons

    6 days of work per week

    Club 212018-09-18
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Should you work here?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Club 21 part-time

    Pros

    Good experience, I've learnt a lot about the retail industry through a few months of working there. The pay is reasonable. The off-days assigned were also thoughtfully planned.

    Cons

    I applied for the job reading good reviews about the environment, one of the main concerns of mine when looking for a job because I was just looking for experience, but I got assigned to a store where the people were only friendly to me half of the time. One my full-timer coworker would talk bad about a customer then compliment them and did the same to another part-timer. Said coworker would come to work in a bad... mood affecting all our moods. The coworker's attitude was the only thing that bugged me, apart from that, there's nothing completely bad about the job. All my coworkers were kind and helpful, with this exception part of the time.

    Show More
    Club 212018-02-27
  7. "Laid back working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Club 21

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, good discounts for fashion and hotels

    Cons

    In general, many retail companies are suffering, especially luxury fashion

    Club 212018-01-23
  8. "Big plans but turbulent undercurrent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Executive in Singapore
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Club 21 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company belongs to COMO Group, which has potential for growth. Will be keen to see how the plans unfold. Very family-like. Opportunities depends on the team you are in.

    Cons

    Things only move when you work with and around the old guards. Can be inefficient. Poor communication across the company.

    Advice to Management

    Treasure talents before you lose them.

    Club 212017-11-10
  9. "Part timer at retail shop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Club 21 part-time

    Pros

    Good place for training interpersonal skills

    Cons

    Heavier workload expected during sales period

    Club 212017-10-30
  10. "Review for club21"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Club 21

    Pros

    - health and dental benefits - dynamic working environment - young work structure thus more flexible - staff discounts -

    Cons

    - sometimes expected to work overtime (for bazaar) - required to clear up other people's work - pay isn't very fantastic

    Club 212017-08-02
Found 30 reviews