Club Monaco Reviews | Glassdoor

Club Monaco Reviews

Updated January 14, 2019
496 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Francis Pierrel
49 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Great discount with company & Ralph Lauren" (in 97 reviews)

  • "Employee discount was very good" (in 60 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "PASSIONATE and INSPIRATIONAL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Club Monaco full-time

    Pros

    - face challenges head on
    - inclusive working environment: everyone's opinion counts
    - cross functional business partnerships are STRONG
    - true vertical retailer
    - real people who have a passion to share the brand with the world

    Cons

    - heavy meeting culture
    - lean teams, however on the plus side of this is that every level of the organization is important and gets exposure all the way up to the CEO!

    Advice to Management

    - engage engage engage!
    - more exposure to the RL brand and initiatives

    Club Monaco Response

    Jun 27, 2018 – Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for such a thoughtful review of Club Monaco! Teams are lean, but as you mentioned, this means everyone's role and opinions are taken into account. We appreciate your feedback!


  2. "Great Job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Club Monaco full-time

    Pros

    Employee discount was very good

    Cons

    Some management wasn't the most pleasant

    Club Monaco Response

    Nov 29, 2018 – Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review of Club Monaco, we appreciate your open and honest feedback!

  3. "Positive company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Club Monaco part-time

    Pros

    Discount
    Positive leadership
    Team energy
    Clients
    Growth

    Cons

    Hours
    Flexibility
    Requirements for purchasing clothes
    Growth
    Long hours on feet

    Club Monaco Response

    Jan 11, 2019 – Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review of Club Monaco, we appreciate you calling out our positive leadership and energy!


  4. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - POS in New York, NY
    Current Employee - POS in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Club Monaco part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Breaks
    - Employee discount
    - Co-workers
    - Hectic but enjoyable environment

    Cons

    - Unskilled managers
    - Long standing shifts

    Club Monaco Response

    Dec 6, 2018 – Employer Brand Manager

    Love your "hectic but enjoyable" comment! Busy is good -- especially in a brand as great as Club. Thank you for your review!


  5. "Very Positive Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Kind workplace, and I gained great experience

    Cons

    There would be times where I would have to come in to cover for another employee, however this was rare.

    Club Monaco Response

    Nov 29, 2018 – Employer Brand Manager

    Retail is such a wonderful, unique role, and we appreciate your dedication to our consumer. Thank you for your review of Club Monaco!


  6. "Lack of Communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Club Monaco full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good discount, some nice people. Great product, but sometimes lacking in variety.

    Cons

    Lack of accountability to store-level management. I have been left high and dry a number of times looking for answers to very reasonable questions or ignored on very reasonable requests. I was never trained, nor were clear expectations set for me. I floated between DOR's and was not given the tools and knowledge required to do my job.

    Advice to Management

    Set clear expectations of your employees and raise standards for hiring staff. Take actions to terminate staff who don't perform and listen to store management.

    Club Monaco Response

    Nov 16, 2018 – Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for your thoughtful feedback on Club Monaco, we will be taking your comments regarding training to the appropriate teams.


  7. "Prudential Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Backstock Employee in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Backstock Employee in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Club Monaco full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great 50 percent off employee discount at Ralph Lauren and Club Monaco

    Great location that gets a lot of foot traffic, reflecting their sales.

    There are some good/genuine people who work here, that care about the team, and you’ll know who they are.

    Cons

    Very political atmosphere. At times, senior employees/management can be overheard gossiping about customers and employees in very disrespectful ways that sometimes attack aspects of their identity.

    Supervisors seem to play “favorites” while targetting other employees.

    Advice to Management

    Using periodic check in’s with employees to openly discuss performance and refrain from discussing an employees performace openly with other employees in areas where they can be overheard or at all.

    Possibly having monthly/periodic store meetings where stylists can upkeep sales skills and backstock employees can share techniques that can streamline responsibilities.

    Club Monaco Response

    Nov 14, 2018 – Employer Brand Manager

    We appreciate your review of Club Monaco, and your advice was insightful and thoughtful. We will be sharing your thoughts with the appropriate teams.

  8. "sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    good people and decent hours

    Cons

    horrible management horrible upper management

    Club Monaco Response

    Sep 7, 2018 – Employer Brand Manager

    Work is always a more positive experience with good co-workers. Thank you for your review of Club Monaco!


  9. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Club Monaco part-time

    Pros

    Well run, fun summer job.

    Cons

    Inconsistent scheduling and long hours.

    Club Monaco Response

    Aug 30, 2018 – Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review of Club Monaco! We appreciate your feedback regarding scheduling.


  10. "Company Not Flexible to Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Retail Store Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Assistant Retail Store Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Club Monaco full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Salary, benefits are great

    Cons

    Discount is not good enough if they want you currently styled each month.
    Upper management does not listen to feedback/pushback. Expects better results with the same methods EVERY time.
    High high turnover of employees

    Advice to Management

    Learn to listen to store management feedback. Don’t treat every store like A carbon copy. Store should have its own individual personality and marketing/ clothing assortment based on local demands. Otherwise the company is no different from a mass chain; not luxury brand. You can sell glasses for $300 but you can’t sell to people who know nothing about Club Monaco because of lack of marketing and brand recognition.
    Company culture and values are non existent because it doesn’t trickle down from corporate or upper management. Company hires those that don’t understand or wish to understand empathy or enthusiasm for human connection.

    Club Monaco Response

    Oct 2, 2018 – Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for your detailed feedback on Club Monaco, we will be sharing your thoughts with the appropriate teams.