Club Monaco Reviews | Glassdoor

Find your next job here

Club Monaco Reviews

Updated February 17, 2018
439 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Francis Pierrel
28 Ratings

439 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • No commission for such high sales goals (in 34 reviews)

  • There is not much room for growth or a raise (in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "great for retail experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Club Monaco part-time

    Pros

    The hours are flexible and great team to work with. Company values there employees and works to expand you knowledge on luxury garments and visuals

    Cons

    no cons really other than short hours and schedule changes constantly. There is never really stability when it comes to when you work and when the schedule changes.

    Advice to Management

    My advice to the management would be to work on how you talk to your employees and the relation to the work places. Also managers need learn not to micro manage your employees

    Club Monaco Response

    Jan 19, 2018 – Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for your feedback, and thank you for your service as a front line resource to our Club Monaco consumers!


  2. "Clothing Sylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Club Monaco part-time

    Pros

    Great Atmosphere! They are super flexible with your schedule.

    Cons

    Can’t really think of any!

    Club Monaco Response

    Feb 23, 2018 – Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review of Club Monaco, we appreciate your support of our brand!

  3. "Stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist in Boston, MA
    Former Employee - Stylist in Boston, MA

    I worked at Club Monaco part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Fun environment and beautiful clothes at a great discount

    Cons

    Low pay and little to no incentives

    Club Monaco Response

    Feb 23, 2018 – Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review of Club Monaco, we appreciate your support of our product and brand!


  4. "I Sure Tried"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager
    Former Employee - Store Manager
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Club Monaco full-time

    Pros

    I was given chance to relocate and travel a great deal. Development opportunities are available if you are willing to put in the work, have natural talent for retail management, huge plus if you’re relocatable. Strong company culture. Fairly organized from the top down.

    Cons

    Difficult to break past the store manager title despite strong relationships, successes and tenure. Often tough clientele with needless sense of entitlement.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Club Monaco Response

    Feb 1, 2018 – Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you very much for your thoughtful review and feedback of Club Monaco! A special thank-you for calling out our company culture, as we work hard to ensure this is embedded throughout all... More


  5. "Seasonal work at Club Monaco"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Sales Associate - Stylist in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Sales Associate - Stylist in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Club Monaco (More than a year)

    Pros

    You get a good discount on all Ralph Lauren clothes. Coworkers were cool.

    Cons

    The pay is pretty awful and the hours are not great. The store I worked at kept flooding and closing for the day. It was pretty standard retail. Not the worst, but not really great either

    Advice to Management

    Better communication with employees. Treat your employees like they actually matter as people and have a brain in their head.

    Club Monaco Response

    Feb 23, 2018 – Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. Here at Club Monaco, our people are our most valuable asset and we strive to create a productive and comfortable work environment. We will share your thoughts with the... More


  6. "Growth Potential Cut Short"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Stylist
    Former Employee - Support Stylist
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Club Monaco part-time

    Pros

    Absolutely admire the store image and the clothing is beautiful. I am a customer for life.

    Cons

    Worked there in college. At that time, management wanted me as a Stock Associate, when I had previous experience and made clear my desire to be to a Sales Associate ('Stylist'). Then, we came to a compromise where I would be a 'Support Associate,' which essentially turned out to be me running go-backs and grabbing clothes that stylist for their clients. Was not developed or cross trained. Needless to say, I am now the Customer Experience Manager at a different fashion retailer and running the ship quite fine.

    Advice to Management

    Don't write off talent based on an image or prescribed personality type. Be more aware of diversity, character, and quality.


  7. "Good in certain aspects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Store Manager in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Associate Store Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Club Monaco full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I saw a decent amount of advancement and raises. Clothing discount was good. Some of the people that work there are worth having a relationship with.

    Cons

    Not fair with pay rate to any employee or the price of he clothing with the expectation to be ‘club’ every day. They’re not very truthful (or basically liars) about their intent with some team members. High expectations with little training.

    Advice to Management

    Treat people nicely. Don’t be catty and conniving.

    Club Monaco Response

    Jan 30, 2018 – Employer Brand Manager

    Our retail team members are so important to us here at Club Monaco, thank you for your feedback.

  8. "In Store Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager
    Former Employee - Manager
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Club Monaco part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Generally great coworkers (particularly the part-time stylists)
    - Beautiful store and great clothes
    - Great discount policy
    - Push toward being customer service centric

    Cons

    Store managers are not trained or provided with any actual managerial skills or tools. Generally, they were great sales people and moved up the ranks from working there for a while. However, they don't actually have any management ability and have not been trained on how to be effective managers and how to organize fellow managers and staff. Store managers know how Club Monaco works and operates, but they don't know how to actually be a manager and work with other people.

    Advice to Management

    Train managers on more than just brand facts and logistics. Give them tools to be effective and positive managers and uplift, organize, and communicate effectively with their staff.

    Club Monaco Response

    Jan 19, 2018 – Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for your feedback on Club Monaco. Managerial training is important, and we believe a majority of learning is done on the job. We encourage managers to contact their People & Development... More


  9. "Tough retail environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part Time Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Part Time Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Club Monaco part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Cool co-workers, beautiful flagship store

    Cons

    Minimum wage, pushy managers, treated like children

    Advice to Management

    Stop pushing sales goals so hard, managers! I understand corporate does it to create a sense of urgency among the sales associates to sell, but the retail climate is dying...there is nothing we can do if people don't come through the door. Also, stop paying employees minimum wage...please. Otherwise, it is nice working in a beautifully designed store and it is great getting a discount on the Diptyque shop & Tobi's Coffee.


  10. "Great Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Club Monaco full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Had many great mentor experiences

    Cons

    Career development was lacking from corporate HR


Showing 439 of 448 reviews
Reset Filters