Club Monaco Reviews | Glassdoor

Club Monaco Reviews

Updated June 17, 2018
459 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Francis Pierrel
37 Ratings

459 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Great discount with company & Ralph Lauren" (in 99 reviews)

  • "There was a good work life balance and really good employee discount but that’s about" (in 55 reviews)

Cons
  • "No commission for such high sales goals" (in 36 reviews)

  • "Stylists are not commissioned and there is pressure to make sales goals with few incentives" (in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Loved working there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    You're around fashion and clothing you love.

    Cons

    Authority figures can micromanage your every move.

    Club Monaco Response

    Jun 1, 2018 – Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Club Monaco, we appreciate your passion and support of the brand!


  2. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    chill work environment, but boring

    Cons

    boring sometimes and short breaks

  3. "Fulfilling Work Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Technical Designer in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Associate Technical Designer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Club Monaco full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great work environment and great leadership to learn from

    Cons

    Lacking in some structure, and lacking salary benefits for those who have been with the company a long period of time

    Club Monaco Response

    Jun 15, 2018 – Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks for your review of Club Monaco! We will be sure to share your feedback with the appropriate teams.


  4. "Great Work balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist in Washington, DC
    Former Employee - Stylist in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Club Monaco part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good discount
    Fun managers
    Worked with my school schedule

    Cons

    Slow growth
    Sometime slow paced environment

    Advice to Management

    Consider your staff for growth opportunities rather than hiring managers externally.

    Club Monaco Response

    May 11, 2018 – Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for your great feedback! We value internal movement and growth here at Club Monaco and continue to make that a focus.


  5. "Associate manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Club Monaco full-time

    Pros

    Great teams. Fun times and experience

    Cons

    No work balance, bad management

    Advice to Management

    More Career Opportunities , better management

    Club Monaco Response

    May 25, 2018 – Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback for Club Monaco, we will share your comments with the appropriate teams.


  6. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Full Time Key Holder
    Former Employee - Full Time Key Holder
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Club Monaco full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    You can achieve an immersive experience into a retailer that focuses on customer experience as well as customer service! This is for someone who appreciates working with clients!

    Cons

    Although you are not paid based on the amount of sales, the workplace can become competitive.

    Club Monaco Response

    Apr 27, 2018 – Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for your words about Club Monaco! The consumer is always at the center of everything we do, and we appreciate your support in this endeavor.


  7. "Key Holder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Full Time Key Holder
    Former Employee - Full Time Key Holder
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Club Monaco full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    If you are looking for an immersive work experience that focuses on customer experience as well as customer service, this company is for you! I loved the monthly collections as it kept each month fresh and exciting.

    Cons

    Achieving sales goals can be competitive, but overall, its a fun work environment!

    Club Monaco Response

    Apr 27, 2018 – Employer Brand Manager

    We appreciate your support of our products, and of course your support of our commitment to our consumers! Thank you for your review of Club Monaco.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Merchandising"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandiser in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Merchandiser in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Club Monaco full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Workload wasn't heavy or hard

    Cons

    Club Monaco is not a company I would ever recommend. Especially any roles within the Merchandising function.

    The company is a sinking ship and nearly everyone knows it. In my time with the company there were 10x as many going away parties than welcoming new team members.

    Majority of people in senior / leadership positions have little to no experience at other companies to leverage industry best practices. Not only are ways of working backwards and inefficient there is no openness to improving process.

    Titles are over-inflated.
    There are no people managers in this company, merely individuals concerned with their own well-being.
    Technology, resources and facilities are so outdated and not competitive its embarrassing.
    No company incentives / events targeted at increasing office morale which is extremely low.
    HR disorganized and overly corporate to the point of being useless.

    Advice to Management

    Time to take a hard look in the mirror and make some deep rooted changes otherwise this company won't exist in 5 years. Focus on retaining talent.

    Club Monaco Response

    Jun 1, 2018 – Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, talent is absolutely integral to the success of a company. We will be sure to share this with the appropriate teams.


  9. "Stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Washington, DC
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Club Monaco part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great team. I felt welcomed right away. The manager is flexible with your hours if need be.

    Cons

    Retail. Retail is a commitment and if you're not willing to work with the hours or service then good luck.

    Advice to Management

    Maybe become a little more organized when setting up ADP accounts.

    Club Monaco Response

    Apr 6, 2018 – Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for Club Monaco! Retail certainly comes with its challenges, but we appreciate your support of the brand.


  10. "Key holder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I worked at Club Monaco part-time

    Pros

    Great discount with company & Ralph Lauren.
    Clothes were very cute.
    Very chill, but can be good or bad thing

    Cons

    Have to make sales goal but no commission. With how much pressure they put on you to make sales, they should add commission.

    Club Monaco Response

    Mar 30, 2018 – Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review for Club Monaco! We take pride in our chill-yet-energetic atmosphere. We will share your feedback with the proper teams.


Showing 459 of 468 reviews
Reset Filters