Co-op CSA Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for CSA

Co-op CSA Reviews

Updated Sep 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Co-op CEO Steve Murrells
Steve Murrells
4 Ratings
  1. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSA in Sunderland, North East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Co-op full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The discount card was decent mind!

    Cons

    Belittling management and absolute jobsworth area managers

    Advice to Management

    Just let your staff crack on, and do the work instead of mithering them every 10 seconds. Also, it'd be nice to see actual career progression offered to people, instead of handed to people that hang out of managements hoop.

    Co-op2019-09-04

    Co-op Response

    September 5, 2019

    Thanks very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our benefits. All of our colleagues are supported in their personal development and we offer multiple different routes to support career progression. We're sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with management, we would always advise our colleagues to speak to our HR department if they don't feel like they can speak directly to their line manager.

    Show Less
  2. "Co-Op Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSA - Customer Service Associate in Tipton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy, friendly, decent pay, understanding company

    Cons

    not very challenging. Same repetitive shifts

    Co-op2019-06-03

    Co-op Response

    June 12, 2019

    Thanks very much for your feedback. It's great to hear that you would recommend the Co-op.

  3. "Use to be good now.its poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSA in Wirral, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Co-op full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Forma staff n management.fun good breaks

    Cons

    New.management are horrible and unfair.

    Advice to Management

    To be more fair

    Co-op2019-06-08

    Co-op Response

    June 20, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback. We are really sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time with us. If our employees are unhappy there are many options available to them, including discussions with our HR team and help from our employee assistant programme.

  4. "Fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSA in Derby, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Made friends and fit around my schedule

    Cons

    Customers can be very rude.

    Co-op2019-02-22
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSA 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice customers and staff discount

    Cons

    lack of use of local knowledge

    Co-op2018-01-30

    Co-op Response

    February 19, 2018Social Media Content Planning Manager

    Thankyou for your review. It's great to hear you'e enjoying your job at our Co-op and enjoy the benefits offered to you. ^Catherine

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Frustrating, with unnecessary challenges towards better customer service every step of the way."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSA in Worthing, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Co-op full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Reliable income - they don't expect much of you and its technically a very easy job. There are often training schemes open, even to non supervisors - I found its all very much dependent on which store you're based in.

    Cons

    Everything is plain, predictable and easy enough to deal with unless you get a bad manager/supervisor (or a pretend supervisor that acts like one but isn't paid to do the job...) that treats the workplace like their final years of high school. Attitudes of staff (at all levels) can range from delusional and down right arrogant to power hungry, stuck in the past and incredibly stubborn - and its usually these... people who have a position of power. The biggest problem is that they always put the wrong person in the wrong position - the culture is terrible and they have literally no idea how to spot and retain talent. You get a lot of people that simply don't care about the job (its the worst when its a manager or supervisor) and those that do often seem to lack the understanding of how to inspire people or to get the best out of their team - and even if they try, they are very rarely trusted enough by their superiors to allow them to do achieve anything worth while. Lack of trust is one of the worst things about working in a place like this. Nice people don't seem to get too far, so be prepared to play office politics if you want to get anywhere in this organisation - I am really not surprised they are facing the troubles they are right now.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop blindly accepting that retail doesn't attract the right type of employees/retail will never pay enough to attract passionate people/one of many other excuses - and take your time to nurture both your staff and the culture of your store. Careers are not things of the past, plenty of people are still looking to invest considerable years of their lives into such jobs and if you are ever going to attract the... right people, you need to start acting in the same way you want your staff to - and trust them enough to do their jobs properly.

    Show More
    Co-op2014-12-08
  7. "Positive, good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSA 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Co-op part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, Hours, Pay holidays good

    Cons

    No Development, Tedious training not great

    Advice to Management

    More company wide events

    Co-op2014-08-06
  8. "Inferior to Somerfield, my previous employers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSA in Dundee, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Holidays, overtime if wanted and reasonably flexible

    Cons

    Under staffed, poorly paid in comparison to other supermarkets while the prices are a fair degree higher. Seem to value fair trade and animal rights, but not really considerate of worker's rights and fair treatment. For example, low hour contracts to suit business purposes, which leave some staff members struggling one month to the next.

    Advice to Management

    Value staff and staffing levels more. A happy workforce work harder and are less likely to be off work sick.

    Co-op2014-05-10
  9. Helpful (2)

    "A company who's fair trade and ethical morals don't stretch to the treatment of their staff."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSA in Lezayre
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The only positive I have of working for this company is a certain pride in the fair trade and ethical products that it sells.

    Cons

    > Senior management are simply filling a position and contribute little. > CSAs doing the work of team leaders/managers and receiving no extra pay or recognition. > Stores are FILTHY and equipment is a joke and always breaking. > No trust given to staff, checking how often we use our discount cards etc. > Poor wage in comparison to other supermarkets. > Deliveries are always late or wrong... and we then have to deal with unhappy customers > Managers who let their staff be verbally abused by customers or contradict policies on refunds just to keep the customer happy.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The way things are designed to work have clearly been written by someone who does not work in that scenario, you need to spend time asking the opinions of CSAs to improve the system. You can't expect staff who are unhappy to deliver good service, it won't happen. The Co-operative needs a reboot. New stores and uniforms that staff can be proud of as well as rethinking the system and policies. It does have the... potential to be a lot better than it is, so its a shame it's not but whoever is at the top needs to hit that re start button.

    Show More
    Co-op2014-05-03
  10. "The employees I.e their members own the company and so get a share of the profits.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSA in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Co-op part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You will get 10% off most things once you have been their for 3 months. You most learn as you go along as they tell you nothing

    Cons

    They expect you to know the principles and ethics of the Co-Operative movement, but the store usually forgets that bit.

    Advice to Management

    Younger employees are worked like a horse.

    Co-op2013-06-04
Found 12 reviews