Co-op CTM Reviews | Glassdoor

Co-op CTM Reviews

Updated Jun 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 47 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Co-op CEO Steve Murrells
Steve Murrells
10 Ratings
  1. "Bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CTM 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Co-op part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Availability of overtime was high

    Cons

    Management ridiculously strict with holidays, left alone on tills even when busy

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees

    Co-op2019-06-25

    Co-op Response

    June 26, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback. We always advise our employees to discuss any issues with their managers and if this is not possible then we have a supportive HR team ready to help.

  2. "CTM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CTM in Portsmouth, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours Good pay for what you do

    Cons

    Won’t give you set regular hours everyday e.g 10-6 Monday- thursday

    Advice to Management

    Expect the same standard of work from everyone, don’t let people that are lazy get away with being on the tills all the time

    Co-op2019-05-12

    Co-op Response

    May 31, 2019

    Thanks for your review and recommending the Co-op. We are happy that you are pleased with your flexible working hours and pay.

  3. "Ok for a short time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - CTM 

      I have been working at Co-op part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      First official job so enjoyed it for a year or so

      Cons

      Classic retail situation, team members aren't valued

      Co-op2019-05-23

      Co-op Response

      May 31, 2019

      Thank you very much for your review. Our employees are our number one priority and we are sorry that you are currently feeling undervalued. We would always advise having a chat with your manager.

    • "Good Part Time Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - CTM in Glasgow, Scotland
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Co-op part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Support local causes and charities Flexible working hours Friendly colleagues and management

      Cons

      Dealing with drug users Too much overtime

      Advice to Management

      Stricter policies on dealing with the drug users and thieves that come into stores

      Co-op2019-02-02

      Co-op Response

      February 4, 2019.

      Thank you for your review. It's great to hear you are aware of all the work Co-op does with local causes and charities, and that you are benefitting from flexible working hours. ^Sam

    • "Good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - CTM in Upholland, England

        I have been working at Co-op part-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Opportunity to work at events like Leeds festival and Download

        Cons

        Due to the shop being open late it means working some unsociable hours

        Co-op2019-01-29

        Co-op Response

        February 4, 2019.

        Thank you for your review. It's pleasing to hear you enjoy working alongside your Co-op colleagues, and that you got to work at some great events. ^Sam

      • "Management is terrible"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - CTM in London, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Discount Banter with staff Depending which managers is on it can be a fun shift

        Cons

        Managers only care about themselves. On a 8 hour shift in entitled to 2x15 minutes and 30 minutes, which you never gets. Managers seem to be except from certain rules, like serving family members, keeping stock to reduce later, you name it. Whatever you do its your fault, whether it was or not.

        Advice to Management

        Make sure store, team managers are following company policy. You keep replying about the employee assistance program, but the complains have been going on for years and nothing has been done.

        Co-op2019-02-18
      • "Poor Management People Skills"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - CTM in New Mills, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Co-op part-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Pay, Holidays, Very Friendly Helpful Staff Who Were Also Supportive

        Cons

        Management It is poor they can get away with bullying and harassment of staff. A few instances pay was altered leaving you with less than what you worked for if you challenged it you were met with intimidation and anger, holidays where difficult to get authorised as management made sure they got theirs in first, holiday diary was always hidden. You could be one of the best with customer service skills and management...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Start Fresh With New Management

        Co-op2018-12-08

        Co-op Response

        February 4, 2019.

        Thank you for your review. We have a zero-tolerance approach to harassment and bullying. You are able to call our Bullying and Harassment Hotline on 0844 728 0165 should you wish to discuss your experience. I wish you the best with your future career. ^Sam

      • "A lovely place to work, but has downfalls"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - CTM in Eastleigh, England
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Lovely team of colleagues. Management all get involved in work. Really can make good friends at work here. Lots of customer interaction.

        Cons

        Short staffed a lot of the time. Terrible self scans. Very little support from head office. Long hours. They rely too much on only a few members of the team. Everyone else can get away with what they want. Unreliable delivery times. Never get any visits from anyone from head office.

        Advice to Management

        Employ more staff. Put more hours back into the stores. Stop having 'favourote stores' while letting other stores suffer. Get rid of upgrade the selfscans.

        Co-op2018-11-07

        Co-op Response

        November 30, 2018.

        Thank you for your review. It's great to hear you recommend Coop as a place to work, and that you enjoy working alongside your colleagues. ^Sam

      • Helpful (1)

        "CTM 2 years"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - CTM 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Co-op for more than a year

        Pros

        Flexible and friendly management (mostly) able to get a good work life balance. Never any issues with store manager he was always very helpful and approachable

        Cons

        Particular staff in my store were obvious favourites and full time staff were condescending and got away with murder

        Advice to Management

        Crack down on full time staffs mistakes instead of blaming part time staff for everything. Call out inappropriate behaviour

        Co-op2018-08-03

        Co-op Response

        October 22, 2018.

        Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you are happy with the work/life balance available to you. All the best with your future career. ^Sam.

      • "Meh"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - CTM 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Co-op part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great chance to talk to customers and become a part of the community

        Cons

        -Management just doesnt care -You are always wrong -When you are asked to work overtime, and find later on your schedule has been changed to set you in on that time, so you dont get overtime pay -6-8 hours on a till only is a joke Especially when there is no seat to sit down. -Getting a review and getting "Bellow Standard" because you are slow at stocking shelves, when all you ever do is be on till. And also getting...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        get your act together

        Co-op2018-06-01

        Co-op Response

        October 18, 2018.

        Hi, thank you for your review. Sorry to hear you're not enjoying your experience. I would encourage you to speak with your Manager or Area Manager about your concerns so that improvements can be made. If you need any additional support do contact our Employee Assistance Programme ...

        Show More
      Found 47 reviews