Co-op Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Co-op Manager Reviews

Updated Oct 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Co-op CEO Steve Murrells
Steve Murrells
41 Ratings
  1. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    flexible and good work life balance

    Cons

    Pay could be better to help retain staff

    Co-op2019-10-14
  2. "-"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Horsham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good internal development path way

    Cons

    Expectation to work well above contracted hours

    Co-op2019-10-09
  3. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Sense of family at store level

    Cons

    The sense of family is caused by having to band together to produce results because the company does all it can to every single penny that can be scrounged from saving on personnel.

    Co-op2019-10-22
  4. "Win 10 Roll Out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Project Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Building, good team, nice cafe

    Cons

    Short sighted in relation to governance

    Advice to Management

    Rushing projects costs more money to correct than taking time to do things properly

    Co-op2019-10-01
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Manager in York, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    As a company they really care about their employees and there are great opportunities for those who want to progress and also for those who just want to expand their skillset.

    Cons

    You can't choose your manager and unfortunately its the higher ups that decide your progression. the path isn't always clear on what your options are if there is someone standing in the way of your career.

    Advice to Management

    Be kind, Be fair. If you never have intentions of letting your team progress tell them, don't give false hope.

    Co-op2019-09-21
  6. "Average Employement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Co-op full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Easy to manage work life balance. Set systems that helped things run effeciently most of the time.

    Cons

    Lack of control due to those systems, sometimes you need some human involvement. The pay is pretty poor for a store manager, I took a step down when I changed job to assistant manager and took a pay rise! Severally understaffed, your budgets don't allow you the people to get the jobs done to the standard I'd like. Old premises in most places always in need of repair, repair companies do bodge jobs and you've no... control over contractors used or price paid. You very much just tick a few boxes, you're more of a rule enforcer as opposed to the manager and leader of the business.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Allow some freedom to managers to run the business rather then using them as messengers of rules and procedure. Pay your team a fair wage. Invest in labour, you may be surprised by the results of having that extra person at work each day.

    Co-op2019-10-05
  7. "Good Company On Journey to Modernise and Streamline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time

    Pros

    Good colleagues ; fast moving environment

    Cons

    Heavy governance and slow decision making

    Co-op2019-09-12
  8. "Worst job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Co-op full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good for progression Good for work in the community

    Cons

    Lot of unsociable shifts, kiss goodbye to a life. Upper management abysmal. Very monotonous. Company is all about giving the customers what they want with very little to no interest in their staff. During my time in the company, every benefit or incentive to work for the company was stripped, ie dividends, bonuses, discounts of 20% etc.

    Co-op2019-10-15
  9. "Employee focused atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager 

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Low turnover rate. Focuses on community investment.

    Cons

    Co-operative is ran by the board.

    Co-op2019-09-02
  10. "Used to care about us, but now more bothered about the community!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Reasonable salary Flexible hours of working Good line manager We do loads of great things for the communities!

    Cons

    We used to have health care (scrapped!) We used to have regular double discount on all products (Scrapped - maybe twice a year now) We used to get great bonuses based on KPis (now a fraction of what they used to be) Colleagues used to get a yearly bonus (Scrapped!) Hours slowly being drained out of stores, each little technological advancement results in less and less hours in store. Christmas party fund out of... date & needs reviewing ..It has been £10 forever. We used to have a reward website for colleagues exceeding their role (Scrapped & replaced with a Thank you email!) Slowly killing morale in stores & killing the staff, especially managers who have to pull the slack & work for free - diluting our salaries Team leader pay is pathetic for what they have to do!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start thinking about the colleagues in stores a little more, Re-introduce health care Do for the colleagues what we have done for our communities Pay team leaders more Stop stripping any more hours out of the stores, the job used to be enjoyable, but its getting less & less a place I want to go to every day!

    Co-op2019-09-05
Found 113 reviews