Co-op Reviews | Glassdoor

Co-op Reviews

Updated 19 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 900 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Co-op CEO Steve Murrells
Steve Murrells
189 Ratings
  1. "Customer team member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member 

    I worked at Co-op part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Reputed company and best place to work

    Cons

    No. Good company to work with

    Advice to Management

    Good company to work with

    Co-op2019-09-19
  2. "Racist manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op

    Pros

    Not a thing at all avoid at all cost

    Cons

    My manager don’t like hiring anyone else apart from his own, I only got in cause I have been transferred he told my team leader that he hired him cause he’s Muslim! No chance to see culture or diversity here. He never shows up to his shifts I have evidence in which he manually clocks himself in. I hope you don’t have to go through a passing in your family as you’ll be forced to go back to work and please god help if... you get ill as I was suffering from a chest infection and had to run a shift where I could barely stand! His answer when a staff said please send her home she’s so I’ll was that he can’t business needs comes first. Bullied by staff members too, get called fat on shop floor and my manager wants to send me a message saying it’s my own fault and actions as I left the store after going through a horrible experience. Don’t expect weekends off or work life balance cause they don’t care as long as they get the weekend off it’s fine. Goodluck entering the company cause they are full of lies And for anyone to respond back to this YOUR HR AND CARELINE EMPLOYEE HOTLINE DONT CARE. They don’t care about you I’ve called them!!!!!!!! Plenty of times for them to say NOTHING!!! ‘Try speaking to your manager’ I HAVE DONE THAT PLENTY THATS WHY IM TALKING TO YOU. I have got enough evidence to take this further. I’ve never ever been through this at work. It will cause anyone to have a mental breakdown.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Employee new people and investigate all the current as they don’t have a clue and don’t show up to work anyway! Goodluck anyone who works here I promise you will never EVER be happy.

    Co-op2019-09-16
  3. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Team Member 

    I worked at Co-op part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -good pay -friendly staff -always busy so not standing around doing anything -flexible for students -plenty of chance for overtime

    Cons

    -sometimes short staffed at the busiest periods

    Co-op2019-09-16
  4. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Team Member in Blackburn, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Ethical company focusing on changing the way business is conducted. Number of holidays provided is high (34+), 10% off products in store as well as 20% during payday weekend. Paid breaks whilst on shift.

    Cons

    It is common to work two people on a shift at one time, this can result in a lot of fast-paced hard work especially when conducting stock, working on checkouts, sorting out waste and ensuring the shop is clean. Important to note that this often occurs after 18:00, so it is not too difficult if there is not a lot to do.

    Advice to Management

    Aim to have three employees working on a shift at all times. This would help alleviate some tension.

    Co-op2019-09-16
  5. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assissstant 

    I have been working at Co-op part-time

    Pros

    Staff discount on all coop products

    Cons

    A lot of 5:30am shifts

    Co-op2019-09-15
  6. "Good Company On Journey to Modernise and Streamline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time

    Pros

    Good colleagues ; fast moving environment

    Cons

    Heavy governance and slow decision making

    Co-op2019-09-12

    Co-op Response

    September 13, 2019

    Thanks very much for your review.

  7. "Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacy Dispenser in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good workings environment and flexible

    Cons

    Wages and it is short staffed at times

    Advice to Management

    To increases employer incentives

    Co-op2019-09-11

    Co-op Response

    September 13, 2019

    Thanks very much for your feedback, it's great to hear that you would recommend us.

  8. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Shift Supervisor in Woodbridge, England

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salary good career prospects for management

    Cons

    Working with agency workers who don’t care

    Advice to Management

    Work as a team

    Co-op2019-09-11

    Co-op Response

    September 13, 2019

    Thanks for your review, we are pleased to hear that you feel supported with your career progression.

  9. "Succesful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Team Member 

    I worked at Co-op part-time

    Pros

    Friendly Co-Workers, Always Helpful and on Hand

    Cons

    Short Breaks, Could have been Longer

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Co-op2019-09-10

    Co-op Response

    September 13, 2019

    Thanks very much for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your time with your colleagues.

  10. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Addlestone, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Co-op part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice manager. Get paid for breaks. 10% off nearly everything. If you’re on shop floor it’s easy to just get on with your tasks. In depth online training modules.

    Cons

    Wasn’t given proper till training, had to work it out for myself or call someone over every time I needed help. Felt like some staff members were sarcastic with me when I called them over because I didn’t know how to do something. Late night working until 11pm. Constantly cold in there as working with chillers. Didn’t get my uniform in the month I worked there even though I was told it had been delievered,... they never actually gave it to me.

    Show More
    Co-op2019-09-10

    Co-op Response

    September 13, 2019

    Thanks very much for your feedback, we are always looking for ways to improve things for our store colleagues.

Found 900 reviews