Co-op Reviews | Glassdoor

Co-op Reviews

Updated Oct 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Co-op CEO Steve Murrells
Steve Murrells
200 Ratings
  1. "A great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Head of Planning 

    I have been working at Co-op full-time

    Pros

    The culture is a great balance of doing the right thing for the community whilst also ensuring the right commercial decisions

    Cons

    As with any large organisation, there are layers of complexity

    Co-op2019-09-03

    Co-op Response

    September 5, 2019

    Thanks very much for your review. It's lovely to hear that you would recommend us as an employer.

  2. "Sales assisstant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Co-op part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly customers and colleagues, always know what jobs you'll be doing, options of moving ahead with management coursee

    Cons

    Working mainly evenings and weekends but it is retail work

    Co-op2019-09-01
  3. "Great job for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Experience Team Member 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible rota for students - can pick up hours during holidays

    Cons

    Dealing with conflict in stores

    Co-op2019-08-27

    Co-op Response

    August 30, 2019

    Thanks very much for your review. It's lovely to hear that you would recommend us, and that our flexible hours mean you can focus on your studies alongside working in-store.

  4. "Nice job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They Good treat. Good behavior

    Cons

    Good and hard working honestly work

    Advice to Management

    Good management 👍

    Co-op2019-08-27

    Co-op Response

    August 30, 2019

    Thanks very much for your review it's great to hear that you would recommend us as an employer.

  5. "Great team with great people. nice customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great management and great team

    Cons

    Nothing but pay is lower than other supermarkets

    Co-op2019-08-23

    Co-op Response

    August 30, 2019

    Thanks very much for your review, it's great to hear that you enjoy working with the team and management.

  6. "Information"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Stockport, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Co-op part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Well trained. Six weeks holiday

    Cons

    Full support of managers and colleagues work as a yeam

    Advice to Management

    None

    Co-op2019-08-12

    Co-op Response

    August 16, 2019

    Thanks for your review, we're really glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

  7. "Work life balance good benefits and culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A great place to work, making a difference to local communities. Flex time and good varied benefits. Understanding and approachable managers

    Cons

    None really it is a great place to work

    Co-op2019-08-06

    Co-op Response

    August 16, 2019

    Thanks for your lovely feedback!

  8. "Current shop sold looking for transfer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    13 years as a team leader, and enthusiastic about the co-op and have the references to back it up

    Cons

    Have a 2 year old so can only do nights, apart from available weekend mornings

    Co-op2019-08-03

    Co-op Response

    August 9, 2019

    Thanks for your review. You can search for a new role with us here: https://jobs.coop.co.uk/food

  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Team Member in Camden Town, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Co-op part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - great place to work -flexible with university

    Cons

    Only 12 hour contract Sunday's the store does not open late

    Advice to Management

    Open store later on Sunday morning

    Co-op2019-08-01

    Co-op Response

    August 2, 2019

    Thanks very much for your review, we're happy to hear that you would recommend us.

  10. "Co-op Food Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Team Member in Canterbury, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Co-op part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very inclusive and positive working environment where management valued all employees very highly.

    Cons

    More attention to be paid to better shift scheduling.

    Advice to Management

    N/A.

    Co-op2019-07-25

    Co-op Response

    August 2, 2019

    We're really happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Thanks for your review.

Found 930 reviews