Co-op Sales Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Co-op Sales Assistant Reviews

Updated 8 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Co-op CEO Steve Murrells
Steve Murrells
6 Ratings
  1. "In my opinion it was an average job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Wickford, England
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Co-op part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Reasonable pay Almost always overtime available

    Cons

    Management care only about filling shifts Poor pay rise for supervisor and shift manager

    Co-op2019-07-08

    Co-op Response

    July 12, 2019

    Thank you for leaving us a review, we appreciate your feedback.

  2. "Good first time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Sales Assistant 

      I worked at Co-op part-time

      Pros

      Good pay Not too stressful

      Cons

      Not very flexible Little options for holidays as only part time

      Co-op2019-06-11

      Co-op Response

      June 12, 2019

      Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your first ever role at the Co-op and wish you the best of luck in your future roles.

    • "Good place to start"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Boreham, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Co-op part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Easy hours, great benefits

      Cons

      Bad staff facilities and communication

      Co-op2019-04-02
    • "Good company, not always great colleagues"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Kinross, Scotland
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Co-op part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good pay compared to other retail positions. Free tea and coffee in the staff room. Double discount days, free 24hr telephone counselling.

      Cons

      Often under staffed, managers not always easy to talk to, many working there hate their jobs and so are always negative, some cliqueness. Coop have a new policy for supporting people with mental health issues but the ignorance of staff means the policy and guidelines aren't put in place by various managers and supervisors and so work stresses are common.

      Advice to Management

      Be more kind and human towards your staff. Get to know them as individuals, constant mickey taking can be crushing.

      Co-op2019-01-11

      Co-op Response

      February 4, 2019.

      Thank you for your review. It's great to hear that you would recommend Co-op as a place to work and that the levels of pay met your expectation. If you need any additional support do contact our Employee Assistance Programme on 0800 069 8854. ^Sam

    • "Okay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Wokingham, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Co-op part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Depending on the managers they can be flexible about your working hours

      Cons

      I don’t feel like an individual

      Co-op2018-11-16

      Co-op Response

      November 30, 2018.

      Thank you for your review. It's great to hear that you are able to make the most of the flexibility available to your role. ^Sam

    • "Sales"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Ealing, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Co-op part-time

      Pros

      Really good company and very fresh food

      Cons

      I don't have any cons

      Advice to Management

      Everyone be as cheerfully as me

      Co-op2018-07-13

      Co-op Response

      July 29, 2018

      Thankyou for your review. It's great to hear that you'e enjoying your role and would recommend to others ^Catherine

    • "Very friendly atmosphere and enjoyable"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Birmingham, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Co-op part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Friendly community spirit amongst employees Never overloaded with work Customers feel appreciated Food and environment kept to an appropriate standard

      Cons

      Quite difficult to request time off for holiday Customers expect a lot of the employees on the busier days so work becomes stressful

      Co-op2018-05-11

      Co-op Response

      May 12, 2018

      Thanks so much for the feedback, we'll make sure this is passed on. ^Scott

    • "Worse management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Rothwell, Northamptonshire, East Midlands, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Co-op part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good hourly rate. Overtime avaliable

      Cons

      Worst management I’ve ever seen. Underpays staff by 100s and they don’t even have a clocking in machine.

      Advice to Management

      Sort your managers out.

      Co-op2018-05-06

      Co-op Response

      June 2, 2018Social Media Content Planning Manager

      Thankyou for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you're having issues with your pay. Please do raise these immediately with your manager and the HR team as you should be getting paid for the hours that you work. If you're having issues with your immediate line manager please do escalate ...

      Show More
    • "Co-op Food"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Wembley, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Co-op part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good work life balance Good holidays

      Cons

      Poor senior management team Poor location

      Co-op2017-09-18

      Co-op Response

      November 6, 2017Social Media Content Planning Manager

      Thankyou for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear you wouldn't recommend the Co-op to others despite enjoying the work life balance and holidays you receive. I hope you flagged the issues you had with your management at the time so that these could be looked into and resolved. ^Catherine

    • "mid-range , ethical"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Sales Assistant in Bristol, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Co-op for less than a year

      Pros

      good staff and work-place culture

      Cons

      prices are too steep

      Advice to Management

      price competitiveness

      Co-op2017-03-17

      Co-op Response

      March 17, 2017

      Thanks for your feedback. ^Sophie

    Found 16 reviews