Co-op Store Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Co-op Assistant Store Reviews

Updated Sep 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
14%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Co-op CEO Steve Murrells
Steve Murrells
1 Ratings
  1. "People are amazing, Job is unforfilling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great People Job progression Multiple Roles and Opportunities

    Cons

    Work Life Balance Long hours Working with the general public can be demanding

    Advice to Management

    Don't.

    Co-op2019-09-04

    Co-op Response

    September 5, 2019

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed working with the team and felt you had lots of opportunities to progress. We are always striving to make improvements to support our store colleagues. This includes the introduction of MyWork and our Shifts app which help manage hours and streamline in-store processes.

    Show Less
  2. "One of the worst places I’ve worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Assistant in Blackburn, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only pros to this job are that there is always over time IF you want it.

    Cons

    You never get a full break (if you even get one at all) due to not having enough staff on when the shop is it’s busiest times. Yet the manager and supervisors take as many breaks as they want when they want. The last shifts (11pm finish’s) do not get shared out like you are told they would. Eg. Always the young people with young children at home that have to do all the late shifts! The manager never works past 3pm... and has NEVER done a late shift even though she doesn’t have children to get home to and there are a few other stafff member that NEVER do 11pm finishes! Management and supervisors are always being tofaced and calling other members of staff! Eg the manager has been caught off a member of staff calling another Staff member a cu*t to one of the supervisors. You more or less get treated like rubbish unless you are a supervisor or close with the manager! Not a nice place to work but when you need to provide for your family you can’t leave 💁🏽‍♀️ Also weekends don’t really get shared out like they are supposed to same at the late shifts

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    All the late shifts (11pm finish’s) need to be shared out including the manager! And more staff should be put on at the busiest times of the day.

    Co-op2018-11-26

    Co-op Response

    November 30, 2018.

    Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you are not enjoying your time with us. Please note that you are able to speak with your Area Manager about any issues you may be encountering. Alternatively, you can also speak with your HR department via hrservices@coop.co.uk or by calling 0330 606 1001. ^Sam

    Show Less
  3. "Nice little job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Assistant in Crewe, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Co-op for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work and life balance a small team that worked well together. Decent rate of pay. Very good holiday 6 weeks.

    Cons

    Can be boring when the shop is quiet but that's in any shop. Only part time hours available. Customers can be very difficult and rude.

    Advice to Management

    If you have friendly managers you will get the best out of staff which will reflect on customers. Not much chance for full time hours

    Co-op2018-08-10

    Co-op Response

    August 13, 2018Social Media Content Planning Manager

    Thankyou for your review. It's good to hear you enjoy your role and would recommend to others. Be sure to speak to your manager about wanting more hours so they know to offer you any opportunities for new contracts. ^Catherine

  4. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Assistant in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff, 12 week training, incentive to become team leader and not long hours

    Cons

    Awful pay, clock in 1 minute late they deduct an hours pay, shifts app.

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay

    Co-op2018-05-23

    Co-op Response

    June 2, 2018Social Media Content Planning Manager

    Thankyou for your review. It's lovely to hear you would recommend our Co-op to others and have a positive outlook for the future. If you're having issues with your pay please do raise these with HR, you should be paid for all the hours that you work. ^Catherine

  5. "Avoid this place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Assistant in Bradford, Yorkshire and the Humber, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Co-op part-time

    Pros

    Pros would be an overstatement.

    Cons

    - Inadequate management who offer little help or assistance but expect you to work multiple jobs without sufficient training - Unsociable hours with no regard for anybody's out of work life - Slow till systems in comparison with other retailers - Expensive, overpriced food that pretends to justify itself through giving back to the local community - No store security, petrol and food was stolen pretty... much every shift

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay peanuts, expect monkeys. Upgrade your IT software and perhaps staff benefits for management team as most senior members look like they are counting down the days until retirement.

    Co-op2018-04-23

    Co-op Response

    June 30, 2018Social Media Content Planning Manager

    Thankyou for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your role at our Co-op. Regarding your concerns - - If you had any concerns with your manager I hope you raised this with your Area Manager at the time as assistance and training should be given to all colleagues. - I'm sorry if your hours were not explained to you during the recruitment process or when you accepted the role. Working at a convenience retailer does mean that colleagues work evenings, weekends and holidays. - We're investing in our till systems and are rolling out new tills across our stores. - We've invested over £50 million into our prices to reduce them so we offer every day value to our communities. - We have a central team who regularly assess the safety at each of our stores to make changes where needed. Colleagues are encouraged to report incidents so that store safety is the best it can be. I wish you the best with your future role. ^Catherine

    Show Less
  6. "Store Assistants Poorly Trained"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Assistant in Swansea, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Co-op part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Generous employee discount - Friendly colleagues - Variety of working hours - Customers were often very fond of the store - Seeing the same customers every day

    Cons

    - Very little training for store assistants - Management inflexible with shift patterns - Very poor records of overtime are kept, management very quick to notice if you clock in 5 minutes late but not if you stick around for an extra 30 minutes at their request, keep an eye on the clock

    Advice to Management

    - Give your staff better training opportunities - Increase flexibility surrounding shift patterns - Keep better records of time spent in store

    Co-op2016-08-25

    Co-op Response

    September 28, 2016Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks for getting in touch and raising these concerns with us. ^Sophie

  7. "Excellent employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Assistant in Llantrisant, Rhondda Cynon Taff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Co-op part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The membership benefits are outstanding, paid holiday leave and best of all I'm always thanked by management at the end of every shift which always makes me feel appreciated.

    Cons

    Only day store is shut is Christmas day

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Co-op2015-10-09
Found 7 reviews