CoStar Group Community Researcher Reviews | Glassdoor

CoStar Group Community Researcher Reviews

Updated Nov 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
43%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
CoStar Group Chief Executive Officer Andrew C. Florance
Andrew C. Florance
7 Ratings
  1. "A Director with Great Leadership ( Troy V)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Researcher in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CoStar Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    For the first time since working at CoStar for almost four years , we have a director that bring hope to his Community Researchers. In the last year his hard work in learning the role and pushing the center for what his expectations are and pushing the center to making it a great working environment. Before there was always a sense of false hope , promises to move people in roles and never happened until he came .My first conversation I had with him , I remembered him saying failure not an option for me , if my people produces , there would be great rewards. I shut that off as yep they bought someone else to sell us on that false hope. But he is a man to his words and great integrity. Awesome leader and give great pleasure working for him !

    Show More

    Cons

    The number are attainable and hard work pays off.

    Advice to Management

    Having someone who understands the vision of the company help , he treat people with respect, the community researcher appreciate what he’s done and continue to do as our fearless leader.

    CoStar Group2018-12-01
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Unrealistic expectations, Unhealthy in the long run"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Researcher in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CoStar Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Insurance was good, facilities were very nice.

    Cons

    Eliminated bonuses, long hours with no real breaks, short lunches, unrealistic metrics, lying to people on the phone endlessly, repetitive, everyone was declining both physically and mentally since working there. Then they laid the entire department off out of nowhere after just hiring a bunch of people.

    CoStar Group2019-11-25
  3. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Researcher in Buckhead, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CoStar Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy basic job role that was understandable

    Cons

    Repetitive work. pay not good enough

    CoStar Group2019-10-23
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Good but don't make this long term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Researcher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CoStar Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits, pay, and training

    Cons

    Repetitive mundane work, not enough time to learn new skills or to advance

    CoStar Group2019-09-26
  5. Helpful (14)

    "Horrible Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Community Researcher 

    I worked at CoStar Group full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, free snacks, and nice office building.

    Cons

    Where do I start? CoStar is a very racist company. The department I worked in (apartments.com) was 97% African American which included managers and the director. The job itself was very repetitive and almost robotic-like. Breaks were minimal considering you're expected to make 250+ calls a day. Coming into the job everyone seems friendly until you've worked there long enough. A lot of nepotsim goes on in this place. If you are favored here, they will cover up a lot of tardiness and adjust your metrics. There is no work life balance especially if you have children. HR completely ignores any concerns you may have. If you are considering a job here and you absolutely need a paycheck then this job may work for you, but career wise look elsewhere.

    Show More
    CoStar Group2019-03-26
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Community Researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Researcher in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CoStar Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free healthy food every morning Beautiful office to work in Great pay Easy to bonus each month Great intro job into commercial real estate Multiple opportunities to advance in the company and build your resume Option to come in early to take a longer lunch break

    Cons

    Very repetitive position Requires a lot of self motivation Looking at a screen all day

    Advice to Management

    I've had two managers thus far and both were fantastic. If you put forth the effort, they will put you in places to succeed! iT's all about who bad you want it and prove yourself!

    CoStar Group2018-02-28
  7. Helpful (10)

    "don't stay longer than a year if you have a degree"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Researcher in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CoStar Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    free snacks, decent healthcare plan

    Cons

    Overworked, underpaid and upper management could care less. Metrics seem to change on a monthly basis and aim to take more money away from researchers. The job will burn you out. You're making hundreds of calls a day to apartments communities that don't want to talk to you and even though you are working your tail off, management only wants more out of you. A girl quit last week because her manager was harassing her about her coming in late due to her morning sickness and she was a top performer. The good managers leave because they get tired of the craziness there. There have been 11 managers that have come and go in the last 3 years, 2 center managers and 1 director that got fired. Some of us are stuck here because we don't have college degrees but if you have one, don't stay.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    stop acting as if the job is easy because it isn't. yes it's simple but it is not easy to do. pay people what they are worth and treat them better and they will stay.

    CoStar Group2018-02-20
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Poor Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Community Researcher in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CoStar Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Snack provided, good benefits

    Cons

    Where to start , they sell you on this is a good place but because they threat the community researchers like crap trying to maintain their metric and collecting their data on a call grading system that managers tents to give you what they think you should of said , after six month of working here I had serious anxiety. They remove one Director that was bad and bring one in that HORRIBLE, he had no compassion, and is arrogant as heck! They care about making money but won’t pay the researchers what they worth or show them how they are valued

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Does the CEO cares about his small line employees, management push profession and they lacked that themselves, always keeping up mess

    CoStar Group2018-01-26
  9. "CoStar provides a great work environment for anyone of all ages to work in."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Researcher in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CoStar Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The opportunity to grow within the company. CoStar Group provides you with the training you need to be successful at your job.

    Cons

    Knowing how to deal with change is one of the biggest points I see individuals struggling with. If your a quick learner then it shouldn't be a problem to adjust.

    Advice to Management

    I would suggest New managers have more training before leading a team with employees who know more than them and for new employees who don't know anything.

    CoStar Group2017-04-07
  10. "A Large Company w/ a Small Feel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Community Researcher in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CoStar Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone I interacted with was positive, constructive, and professional. Upper management was very interactive and made a point to get to know people in their team. For only being on a 3 month contract I felt close, accepted, and appreciated by not only my team manager/team, but supportive staff and upper management. If anyone is looking for a company to grow with in that has a good moral compass they should give Costar a try! They aim to help any/everyone that's willing to accept criticism and stays positive.

    Show More

    Cons

    With that being said. It's very repetitive work - some excel, some do not... if you can buckle down and deal with the repetitive day in day out stuff the rewards in advancement are worth it. Also the company is still trying to tweak a few small things in a structural aspect, but as many should know change takes time and trial/error. But I'd say it had improved a lot in the short time I was there.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up! It's headed in the right direction. Also keep with pushing training/retraining. And update managers and ensure managers update callers on changes to expectations when grading calls.

    CoStar Group2016-10-21
Found 15 reviews