CoStar Group Research Associate II Reviews | Glassdoor

CoStar Group Research Associate II Reviews

Updated Oct 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
46%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
CoStar Group Chief Executive Officer Andrew C. Florance
Andrew C. Florance
34 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Rewarding and great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate II in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CoStar Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been with CoStar for almost 2 years now. I’m currently a researcher in the Columbus/Cincinnati market in the Richmond, VA office and I love my job. Each day I learn new things, I’m around co-workers and managers who are supportive. My manager has been an amazing mentor and is always encouraging. It’s fun being able to work as a team and also very rewarding. When you work hard, there is lots of opportunity within the company to grow. The benefits are incredible. The directors, Senior VP of Research, and CEO come by to check in, which shows they truly care. They are genuine and ask for feedback from their employees, which is rare to find in other companies. The office is top notch and everyone enjoys the free snacks, meals, and location of the office. I’m lucky to be a part of such a great team and I believe what I do daily in my position makes a positive impact for so many in the Commercial real estate industry.

    Show More

    Cons

    Can’t think of anything negative

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to feedback from employees

    CoStar Group2019-03-30
  2. Helpful (11)

    "Research Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Associate II in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CoStar Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The building is nice. 40 hour even work week. Decent training and starting pay- but don't fall for it.

    Cons

    Metrics, metrics, metrics! Oh, and layoffs and micromanagement. Your value as a human being is derived monthly from an arbitrary metrics system. How many 90 second calls can you make to someone who doesn't want to hear from you? How many true building owners can you find on Google? How good are you at falsifying monthly numbers, because the vast majority of "researchers" do so to stay employed? I use quotes because actual research isn't really part of the job- we gather existing data from obvious, predetermined sources and put it in a database. "Research" often feels more like customer service. Just don't forget, these numbers determine your worth and not silly things like tenure, intellect or subject matter expertise. Did I mention layoffs in portfolio research? Summer 2018- Columbia, MD office closes, 150+ terminated. Some researchers accepted a transfer to DC. Summer 2019- DC eliminates portfolio research, 100 laid off along with many more in Atlanta. CoStar doesn't care about you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Revamp upper management- morale is low and the culture needs an overhaul. Insane employee turnover should make this obvious. Promote for reasons aside from metrics and favoritism- most team managers are poor leaders with little industry knowledge. But above all else, trust and appreciate your people.

    CoStar Group2019-10-29
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Develop and Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Market Research Associate II in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CoStar Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My experience with management was very positive. The managers I had were interested in what I wanted to do and where I wanted to take my career in the company. They also were very good about providing any support necessary to make sure that we were on the same page about metrics/performance. The work/life balance for this role is excellent. You are not able to take anything home so you can log out at the end of the day and not worry about work until the next morning.

    Show More

    Cons

    Expect 180 degree changes. While change is not always a bad thing it got to be rather exhausting after working there for over two years. The changes were not always communicated very effectively or we would only be told certain things and other pieces of information would be "pending" or coming down the pipeline. This was a little unsettling when the information we were waiting on had to do with something like product questions which left us uninformed or performance metrics when we weren't sure how to meet new expectations.

    Show More
    CoStar Group2019-08-21
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Good pay, depressing job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate II in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CoStar Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay compared to similar jobs in the industry Steady work Great benefits Great co-workers Independent type of work Great for single parents of young kids as it allows to take time off on the "spur of the moment" Great benefits Good amount of days off - vacation, sick, personal days

    Cons

    Crazy metrics that can only be attained by lowering quality. Boring job because of the way it is designed - metrics is all that matter, not quality. Skills cannot be transferred easily to other jobs. Getting stuck and brain washing sensation. Bad upper management.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on information quality, rather than illogically unattainable metrics (unless poor quality).

    CoStar Group2019-05-30
  5. Helpful (12)

    "From researcher to call center associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Associate II in Columbia, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CoStar Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits and compensation are excellent Work life balance is great because you don't have to bring the work home with you (although you'll be miserable and want to drive off the road on your way in to avoid another day of calling the same people and asking the same questions )

    Cons

    very little opportunities to advance Management does not pass along position concerns of RAs to upper management Absolutely no transparency or explanation for company changes Position went from one of an actual research position to just a call center with little to no concern of data integrity and placed more emphasis on number of calls you could make in a day/branding statements you could fit into one conversation EXTREMELY monotonous work

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the concerns of Research. The data lacks integrity with the unrealistic metrics that have been put in place.

    CoStar Group2019-01-10
  6. "OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate II in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CoStar Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and growing company,

    Cons

    Career Development, job opportunities, lack of internal management hires

    CoStar Group2019-01-25
  7. Helpful (22)

    "Horrid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Associate II 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CoStar Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits package, regular hours

    Cons

    The. Most. Toxic. Company. With which I have EVER had the misfortune to be associated. As some other reviewers have noted, it sucks all your energy out and leaves you with nothing at the end of the day.

    Advice to Management

    People are any company’s greatest assets. They should not be treated as disposable commodities. Create an SOP. Stick to it. Implement realistic metrics. And for the love of truth, please stop calling it research.

    CoStar Group2019-01-16
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Richmond Office Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate II in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CoStar Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    CoStar is a great place to work, especially right out of college. It is an overall young company and offers so much room for growth. The pay and benefits are awesome and the overall work load is not piled on you. You can manage your days accordingly and take ownership of what you need to get done without managers breathing down your back. You pretty much leave everything at work when you are done as well which is amazing and creates a really nice work-life balance.

    Show More

    Cons

    With the amount of callas you are making on a daily basis and the amount of talking I think we should receive a few additional personal days. At times it can feel like you are in high school again , ie.) punching the clock, taking tests when the system is down, etc. Small things, but we are all adults and I'd like to think the majority of us can manage our time on our own... and if not, maybe those individuals need to be somewhere else.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work! I have had great managers throughout my time with CoStar and they all made me feel like they truly believed in me and my growth with the company.

    CoStar Group2018-12-14
  9. Helpful (17)

    "CoStar Group: Where everything is made up and the points don't matter!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Associate II in Columbia, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CoStar Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People, Pay and Benefits and POTLUCKS If you need the money take the job but only keep it for as long as you can stand it! The office I worked at people were the nicest and most hard working people. We used to make a lot of jokes about how misery loves company. I genuinely think people are overly friendly in the office I worked in because we all know this job is ridiculous. I always felt like everyone genuinely cared about me but outside of that office which is now closed there are few good people left.

    Show More

    Cons

    Everything else about this company! If I could give this company a 0 I WOULD! This is not a research job this is a glorified call center. They do not listen to their clients and they definitely do not care about their employees! They also force employees new and old to post fake reviews so their company will have a high rating! When the office was going to close there was a spike in positive reviews over the course of 4-6 days. In addition to posting fake positive reviews they actually have to go out of their way to deter people from writing other negative reviews by threatening legal action against them because this company SUCKS! The metrics change whenever upper level management feels like changing them and then by the way no matter what point of the month you are in it affects your whole month. If you do not meet the metrics you better have a good excuse as to why otherwise you get put on a list. The brokers/clients hate the monthly phone calls from us but CoStar won't hear or understand them and makes us continue calling. There has been more than one occasion of "Yes sir, I know we spoke last month, yes sir I know the info has not changed but I need to read the info, yes I know, yes I know." then usually a give up by the researcher to just take the hit on their metrics or a hang up by a client. To avoid this most people leave long voicemails, dial through the directory, or dial the office to be transferred to the cell to increase their interviews every day! When researchers should be actually looking for commercial real estate information to IMPROVE THE DATA the really can't because people are too caught up in reaching their metrics to do any other kind of research. Also CoStar is the place where they reward you for cheating and for being lazy. When we are assigned a team project if you do really well and do your work you get rewarded with the remainder of the work that your lazy coworkers didn't do. You also know they didn't do anything because they stood around chatting or purposefully muttered to themselves that they weren't going to do it because they didn't agree with it. Even though we were all assigned the same amount and we'll all be spoken to when it is not completed they don't care, no one seemed to care even when the office was thriving. This was a re-occurring theme with projects within the team or even within the office, you didn't have to do your work because if you didn't you would get a "talking to" and then the rest of the office would do your work for you. Some of us care too much about our work and credibility to make someone do our work for us. I understand being a team player but this is ridiculous. The managers know it's the same people too because they consistently boycott the work but their call numbers are good so it doesn't matter or the manager doesn't care enough. Speaking of managers I have worked under some of the most lazy, irresponsible, ignorant managers I have ever worked for. Senior and Certified researchers with 5-9 years of experience could run circles around most of the managers there but because they don't have a degree they couldn't be promoted. I could count on one hand the amount of research managers that were actually good at their job. The company plays favorites! They didn't even offer our upper level manageable jobs to continue with the company because they didn't get along with management above them even though they had been with the company a long time. Again I reiterate they don't care about their employees. I have offered several suggestions on how to re-format our job to help the environment not be so toxic, but my suggestions were never passed above my manager because it wasn't worth it to them to pass it along. It has never been in CoStar's best interest to listen to their employees at all, you would think the person who does this job every day might be able to offer some insight to the tools I need to succeed but that is not their view. They even created a spreadsheet that showed us who was remaining on our list that we could call in order to fulfill our requirements which seemed like a step FINALLY in the right direction. But one month it was given to us, the next it was taken away because we were "cherry picking" our clients. We were only given enough clients to have approximately 5-8 calls a day, but we were expected to get closer to 15. How do you pull clients out of thin air? When they came to announce our office was closing the person actually made jokes while they announced it. If that doesn't deter you from working for this awful company I don't know what will. Finally the company's turnover rate is very high, most people only stay for 6 months to a year because it's not worth it! Crying in my office was common due to the high level of stress by certain individuals, one person even threatened violence on the company on several occasions.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees!!! and I am not talking about the pathetic yearly survey about how miserable your employees are that you never do anything with! Actual results would be nice, don't just act like you care! Re-configure re-organize and re-evaluate upper level management. Keep your tenure and value it! You will not be able to replace everyone, and when you finally do, upper management will not be able to run a simple report in the product because you were so focused on calls they have no idea what absorption is!

    Show More
    CoStar Group2018-09-19
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Research Associate II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate II in Columbia, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CoStar Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good intro in commercial real estate

    Cons

    Metrics are difficult to hit

    CoStar Group2017-06-27
Found 41 reviews