CoStar Group Reviews

Updated Jun 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
49%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
CoStar Group Chief Executive Officer Andrew C. Florance
Andrew C. Florance
907 Ratings
Pros
  • "Decent money and great benefits(in 111 reviews)

  • "good benefits, pretty pleasant work environment(in 87 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management are willing to sacrifice the small guy for the big picture(in 102 reviews)

  • "Expect you to make 80 phone calls, often saying the exact same thing(in 39 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of CoStar Group and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years
      Featured Review

      Excellent Company All-around

      Feb 2, 2021 - Lead Software Engineer In Test in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent Products, collaborative culture, smart people, management cares about the employees.

      Cons

      Office location is downtown, so commuting might be longer.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      CoStar Group Response

      CoStar Group Communications

      Thanks for the nice review. We love hearing this kind of positive feedback from employees - both current and former. We're so happy to hear your experience working at CoStar Group has been positive and that you are able to be collaborative with and enjoy your fellow colleagues. Thanks for all you do on behalf of CoStar Group and we hope you choose to grow with us for many years to come.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Wonderful people, great products, meritocracy

      Apr 30, 2021 - Client Services Manager in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, industry knowledge for (commercial) real estate

      Cons

      Very siloed by product, challenging to advance

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      CoStar Group Response

      CoStar Group Communications

      Thanks for leaving us a review. As you mentioned, we're proud to be the leading provider of commercial real estate information, analytics and online marketplaces and to have a set of data and marketing solutions that are in high demand in the commercial real estate industry. We also often hear from employees, both past and present, that single out our benefit offerings as pros for working at CoStar Group. We take great pride in being able to provide a robust benefits package to our employees. While we can't speak to your specific experience, we do regularly communicate the importance of collaboration between departments and product groups and, when appropriate, use forums like all hands meetings and newsletters to spotlight instances when cross-departmental collaboration leads to successful outcomes. We also regularly promote from within and consistently share hot jobs internally for our employees to consider. If there are any specifics you'd like to share with us, we'd love to learn more from you. Please send us an email with details at HRdepartment@costar.com. We appreciate your contributions to the company and will do our part to ensure your experience at CoStar Group remains positive and fulfilling.

    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Meh

      Jun 10, 2021 - Service Assurance/Customer Service in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits and the people you will work with are some of the best. Depending on the department you are in, the work life balance can be easy to manage.

      Cons

      The company as a whole and upper management do not care nor do they seek to understand what is going on in multiple departments. Especially those that seem to be "lower on the totem pole" in the company. Transparency & communication are nonexistent. Changes that are made from the top down are sent with no explanation or consideration of its effects on their employees. Advancement opportunities are few and in between unless you have well over the amount of years of experience in whatever you are trying to transition into next. Opportunities to grow skillset are solely your responsibility and that still isn't enough. There is no path or support to lead in the direction of your interest. Overall poor planning for employee advancement. They only care about the betterment of the company.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee

      If you think programming is a creative endeavor, stay away

      May 16, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Decent pay * If you want to rest and vest and do what your "technical" manager that hasn't programmed in literal years tells you it is a pretty stable gig; people will be amazed if you work past 6 * If you like scrum-thats-actually-waterfall with _all_ the trimmings and want to work for a strictly microsoft shop, this is the place for you * Despite the fossilized nature of how they develop their software, their devops teams are extremely competent at running things on AWS

      Cons

      * Their healthcare plan excludes LGBTQ+ people, the "diversity" they preach is a farce * Product deadlines are determined by overworked sales people desperately trying to make insane quotas * "We've always run our infrastructure this way, it worked back when we had 1,000 customers, why would it fall over when we have several times that?" * If you need to do anything cross functional you need to stroke the egos of lead CSS developers that can barely write a for loop * Have a new product idea? Great! Let's put it at the end of the 3 year backlog because that's the agile way to develop software!

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Promoting Employees to be “In It to Win It” is not an excuse to create an unhealthy work environment

      Apr 10, 2021 - Territory Representative in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -pretty great coworkers -for the most part, everyone is helpful and friendly and has your best interest in mind.

      Cons

      -Some people get paranoid about losing deals and people trying to sell over them but its part of the environment that has been created in the sales department based on things like ecoms (where a client just signs up online instead of through you-you will never really get credit for those deals) and to get as many transactional deals as possible. -Upper Management seems to care more about keeping the shareholders happy than their employees -CEO and upper management have created an unhealthy work environment -(Upper management) had created a poor work environment by micromanaging daily at the start of Q1 2021, Upper management (C level executives) created this environment. Middle/Lower Management (Inside sales managers, Regional directors) are just following orders and whats asked of them. -CEO and other C level executives regularly ridicule reps on all hands sales meetings by playing their calls on them and ripping them apart. Rarely is the feedback positive. Typically focus on the negatives -A lot of employees were anxious and constantly on edge because they didn't know if they would get let go at any moment.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Decent entry into commercial real estate but that’s all.

      Jun 11, 2021 - Research Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was lucky enough to have a decent boss. Not common. Work/life balance. Benefits are good but not great. You’ll learn once you start job hunting after training. If you are looking to get your feet wet in CRE then it’s not bad. No trouble finding a better job with CoStar on your resume. It’s actually a positive. Pay is okay as long as you are promoted quickly but caps out fast. Depends on how you look at it but the job is insanely easy. Use the education reimbursement benefit and earn your graduate degree. Maybe takes 2-4 hours each day to do your job well so you have plenty of time to complete homework. Nice colleagues.

      Cons

      Extreme Micromanagement and heavily metric oriented. All about calls. Became much worse when working remotely. They track every click and scroll even if you are hitting metrics. Causing unnecessary stress for such a mindless job. If you like being treated like a child you’ll love working here. Forced return to office with no remote option. So ridiculous as it was proven productivity isn’t negatively impacted. I get they are a Pseudo CRE company but no one is forcing you to give up your offices. No need force people back. They’ll just have to learn the hard way once more people start leaving. Too much opportunity out there with remote infrastructure build out. Great time to look elsewhere. Feel bad for those still there spending money to commute to work everyday and losing valuable time they could be spending with family or enjoying life. CoStar is basically like going to a JC before university. Nobody wants to be there but once you’re in you have to put work in to move somewhere worthwhile. Wouldn’t recommend sticking around more than a 1-2 max unless you’re promoted quickly or move into another department or role like analytics. In San Diego they don’t care about you because bright people don’t work as an RA very long. Those that have tenure are basically stuck or comfortable. Not very motivating. Work with a lot of “duds”. Even Management. (Not Craig, he’s great) It’s discouraging. Didn’t know how much I would appreciate working with bright, motivated, and well compensated colleagues until I moved on to another company. I also learned how awesome it is to work for a company that listens to feedback and trusts their employees. It’s almost too good to be true and they are out there. Most at CoStar in San Diego are the kind of people who enjoy their safe little job where they can punch-in/punch-out the go home to their suburb or small apartment/studio. Can’t afford much here in San Diego on their hourly if you’re single and want to live alone. Even at the highest level of RA you might be able to afford a one or two bedroom in a desirable neighborhood without roommates. That’s of course subject to your standards. Dead end career path for most. Some interesting opportunities do arise but you will need to move departments or leverage experience into landing a better gig elsewhere. If you need money and basic experience I can’t fault you for taking the job but have a plan to get out.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Unwilling to compromise for employees; only desires positive press

      Jun 6, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Pay Great Benefits Coworkers in office

      Cons

      Higher management unwilling to listen to employees No work from home options in sight even when we saw growth while working from home 12 hour work days sometimes

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful

      CoStar Group Response

      CoStar Group Communications

      We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We value feedback in all forms from our employees, both past and present. We're happy to read your comments about our competitive salaries, top tier benefits and the extraordinary people who make CoStar Group such an exciting place to work. Our people are truly our greatest asset and we constantly challenge ourselves to find innovative ways to reward their dedication and engagement. That ranges from new free food options in our offices and pop-up events to celebrate our employees, to cash awards, once-in-a-lifetime trips and much more. We also passionately believe in the power of in-person collaboration and how that leads to innovation. As our CEO recently said, "We believe that companies with teams that are able to work together face to face will always outcompete remote, disbursed teams." We encourage you to have a conversation with your manager if you feel you are struggling to maintain an appropriate work/life balance. If there is anything else you would like to share with us so we can make your experience at CoStar Group a positive one, please let us know at HRdepartment@costar.com. Thanks again for your review.

    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      You may want to stay away.

      Mar 8, 2021 - Sales Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They make a good product.

      Cons

      The cons are many. The treatment of that sales staff is agregus and archaic. This is a company that still figures out the monthly commissions on an excel spreadsheet. The commision plan changes every year and very few understand it, management included. The company has numerous ways to reduce your commission, here are a few examples which reduced my commission: a 15 year client retired, a company in my book of business merged with a company that was not in my book of business,(negative net effect over $10K), a single use client died - I was penalized and I even sent to company the obituary. In the 48 plus months of working there, only 3 months had correct commision statements. The onus is completely on you to catch the mistakes and correct them. Then you must follow up to make sure it is correct - then there is no guarantee that the correction will be properly reflected in your next payment. It once took me 4 months to get the proper commission payout. The bottom line is - if you don't find a mistake in your numbers it is because you didn't look. There are many other reasons this company is a revolving door. The commision structure is just one - a big one. I stayed way too long. It never got better. So do yourself a favor, skip this sales job and keep looking.

      Continue reading
      21 people found this review helpful

      CoStar Group Response

      CoStar Group Communications

      Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on working at CoStar Group. While we’re happy to see you note the power of our products that bring tremendous value to our clients and have enabled us to be the leading provider of commercial real estate information, analytics and online marketplaces, we’re disappointed to read the rest of your review. It's unfortunate that you had that experience with the commission plan. The plan is regularly communicated to sales reps when any change occurs in order to review the details and answer any outstanding questions reps may have. Subsequent to that, each rep receives a commission plan document outlining all of the components of the plan. Reps must sign the document so they are eligible to receive commissions and should always be working with their managers, sales leadership or the commission team if they have any questions on aspects of the plan that don't align with their understanding. If there is more you would like to share, please email HRdepartment@costar.com with as much detail as you are willing to provide. We wish you the best in achieving your career goals.

    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Toxic Company Culture in my opinion

      Jun 12, 2021 - Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Program Manager in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great product Great colleagues 401K matching

      Cons

      Toxic company culture in my opinion Lack of development and advanced opportunities for women and people of color in my opinion No remote work No work life balance in my opinion

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Growing Company

      Jun 6, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Orange, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Interesting product - Working with a lot of smart folks - Good work/life balance with low turnover - Good Benefits

      Cons

      - Could have better internal processes - Better career growth paths

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      CoStar Group Response

      CoStar Group Communications

      Thank you providing this thoughtful feedback. You mentioned a lot of great positives, like our world-class products, generous benefits package, ability to maintain a healthy work/life balance and the fact that you work with smart and talented people day in and day out at CoStar Group. Our goal is to build a company of high-achieving, smart and innovative people that our colleagues enjoy working with every day, and who enjoy making a difference in the world of commercial real estate. Judging by this review, we're delighted to hear these goals are being achieved. We will pass on your feedback about better internal processes and clearer career growth paths to the appropriate groups for additional consideration. Be sure to check out the internal hot job announcements in our corporate newsletter for regular communication about open positions within the company if you haven't already seen those. If there is any other feedback you would like to share or elaborate upon, you can reach out to HRdepartment@costar.com and reference this Glassdoor review. Thank you for all you do to make this company great. We appreciate your efforts.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,430 Reviews

    Popular Careers with CoStar Group Job Seekers

    Field Research Photographer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at CoStar Group? Share Your Experiences

    or