CoStar Group Sales Executive Reviews | Glassdoor

CoStar Group Sales Executive Reviews

Updated Nov 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
96%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
CoStar Group Chief Executive Officer Andrew C. Florance
Andrew C. Florance
11 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Dream Sales Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Executive in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CoStar Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    CoStar makes sure that their employees are well taken care of. From compensations, to health care, bonuses , stock options, give away's, awards, trip and more, the package is quite impressive. On top of that, a CoStar Sales position will put you in front of the leaders in commercial real estate, and will create an amazing network of professionals for your current and future careers. Being a top sales leader, in a top organization is key to get you anywhere, but its so good usually you dont want to leave.

    Show More

    Cons

    Costar grew very fast, and in the process may have missed some of the key interdepartmental communication strategies and focus. A lot of selling time can be spent navigating these muddy waters, with admin work etc. The senior management has identified and recognized this, however that was recently but are taking measure to fix this.

    Advice to Management

    Not all sales reps are created equal. Structured programs for individual reps might help with retention, ramp up and success.

    CoStar Group2019-02-13
  2. "Great company with some micromanagement tendencies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CoStar Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great technology, support & solutions

    Cons

    The way commission is ran can be tricky and you really need to keep your eye on it. Leadership can be a bit absent until something is a disaster.

    CoStar Group2019-11-19
  3. "A Career Full of Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CoStar Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Tons of networking, great training, company with very deep pockets

    Cons

    Lack of direction at times but overall there is always a bigger plan in place.

    CoStar Group2019-10-23
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Micromanage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CoStar Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you are in a good territory you can make a lot of money!

    Cons

    Management micromanaged everything and even has “survey” calls to apartments after you visit to get rated which affects your commission.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on sales team

    CoStar Group2019-09-04
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great company to work for - hard work, pays off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CoStar Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    CoStar is a great company, that continues to grow, and offers the best product in the industry. I feel proud to sell CoStar and truly believe in our products. Commission plans are great when you hit and exceed your numbers (made $300K plus this year). I have continued to increase my commissions year over year here. Presidents Club benefits are amazing....very excited for the trip in 2 months.

    Cons

    If you want to succeed here, you work hard. So if you want to work from home most days and do online demos, this job is NOT for you. We have a lot of metrics to hit, but once you get in the flow, it works and your commission check makes it worth it.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to reward your top performers. It can be a tough job, and showing appreciation to your hard working sales team keeps everyone happy (employees and clients). Thanks CoStar!

    CoStar Group2019-02-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CoStar Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    As a member of the sales team here for the past five years I have been lucky to accomplish many goals. Costar has provided me with amazing benefits but also given me so many awards to be thankful for. I have a wonderful team I work with. Benefits are amazing. Great office.

    Cons

    Some internal systems but they are working on correcting this.

    CoStar Group2019-02-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "A Very Rewarding Career!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CoStar Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Aggressive comp plan, best platform and products in the industry, fun trips and fun sales conferences, rewarding sales contests

    Cons

    None I can think of. There were several cons in years past but management has done a great job in the last 6 months to eliminate those.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the fun sales contests, sales conferences, trips, car giveaways, stock awards etc.

    CoStar Group2019-02-05
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CoStar Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Money. Flexibility. Sales Culture. Company is taking over the world.

    Cons

    Unorganized. VP management is brought in from outside and don't care. They are paid a ton.

    Advice to Management

    They don't care.

    CoStar Group2018-01-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great career growth opportunity for CRE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CoStar Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Exposure to industry leading research and marketing products. Opportunity to network with most important local CRE players and build your professional network.

    Cons

    CoStar is a High-performance, high-reward compensation environment. It’s a fast growing company so the bar is constantly being raised along with your expectations. Might not be the best fit for some people that can’t adapt to change quickly.

    CoStar Group2017-12-17
  10. "Easy Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CoStar Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very easy job. manage a book of business and sell to new clients. Brokerages always popping up everywhere so need to get in there. work remotely

    Cons

    management is all over the place. The C in CoStar stands for constant change. management does a ton of favoritism

    Advice to Management

    keep things consistent and give higher base pay.

    CoStar Group2017-12-07
Found 16 reviews