CoStar Group Software Developer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Software Developer

CoStar Group Software Developer Reviews

Updated Jun 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
89%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
CoStar Group Chief Executive Officer Andrew C. Florance
Andrew C. Florance
8 Ratings
  1. "Excellent company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CoStar Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment, anytime reachable management, high pay, good benefits and opportunities to grow.

    Cons

    Nothing to add in this section!

    CoStar Group2019-06-20
  2. Helpful (6)

    "They treat developers well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CoStar Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Developers are treated very well. Good pay and benefits, smallish team with smart directors. Good career growth opportunities.

    Cons

    No work from home policy.

    Advice to Management

    It will be very difficult to compete in the tech industry without more flexible hours.

    CoStar Group2019-04-15
  3. Helpful (9)

    "Best software developer job I've ever had!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CoStar Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was referred by a recruiter for a position at CoStar Group, and I'm glad I pursued this opportunity! After a thorough interview process with managers and developers I was hired. CoStar provided training in both commercial real estate and in the front-end technologies they use (React, Redux, NodeJS, etc.) and within a few weeks I was already making an impact on some high-profile applications. There are many opportunities to learn new technologies or to keep up with changes in your current toolset. Managers actually encourage your personal growth here and don't micro-manage. Developers are top-notch and readily mentor more junior developers. CoStar provides a great culture and work-life balance, providing good coffee & healthy snacks (and a chef on staff!) as well as giving employees passes to Friday Cheers & the Richmond Folk Festival. The compensation and benefits are also outstanding. Over the course of my career I have worked for over a dozen Richmond-area employers, and I can honestly say that being a developer at CoStar Group is the best job I've ever had!

    Show More

    Cons

    Commuting downtown from the West End is not fun, but at least there is a parking garage here.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more developers so we can do everything we are asked to do!

    CoStar Group2018-07-11
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Great atmosphere, amazing propulsion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CoStar Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing environment. I work with pushers, and the makes me a pusher to my colleagues. We push and support.

    Cons

    I have none to speculate upon.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    CoStar Group2018-07-21
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Not a place for richmond software developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Developer in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CoStar Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    $150 corporate card for cafeteria (should be only used in the office building, this would be taxed in pay check).

    Cons

    1) Management doesn’t have a direction they just pass on the pressure to their team and ask the team to stay late night. 2) Multiple people resigned recently and few got fired. (So your job is under constant threat.) 3) Unfriendly environment. 4) Expensive parking cost ($165) 5) No compensation for extra time (you might get some times) 6) No work flexibility. Come to office or take off. 7) No appreciation

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I dont think they care for advice.

    CoStar Group2018-03-12
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Just ok with this job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CoStar Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * Fast Growing company * Amazing benefits * Well compensated

    Cons

    * Tends to be hard to develop things quickly * Project management might be a little too stressful on developers * Corporate 9-5 pants and shirt environment

    CoStar Group2017-08-08
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Decent place to work but not empowering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CoStar Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Managers here are technical and hands on. Good about staying updated with the latest .Net platform and related technology. New acquisitions can keep brand new development work flowing depending on what team you're on. Good work-life balance

    Cons

    C-level involvement in minute product design can be a little over the top at times. Feeling of empowerment can fall very low during some projects as ideas tend for flow in one direction from DC.

    Advice to Management

    Delegate more and empower product owners to take more risks and innovate more with designers and developers.

    CoStar Group2017-06-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Up and Coming"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CoStar Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Overall great company. Great salary and benefits. Everyone in IT is very technical.

    Cons

    No WFH. Company has grown a lot in a short period and company culture is still adapting to its new size. Good managers are hit a miss.

    CoStar Group2017-05-24
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Great Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CoStar Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome Benefits High Pay Stability Free Food Free Life Insurance

    Cons

    I can't think of any negative thing about this company.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you do.

    CoStar Group2017-02-11
  10. "Nice Team and very Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CoStar Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very professional, lots of greenfield projects

    Cons

    Can be slow, many meetings

    CoStar Group2019-03-24
Found 11 reviews