CoStar Group "great benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

CoStar Group Reviews

Updated Jan 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
48%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
CoStar Group Chief Executive Officer Andrew C. Florance
Andrew C. Florance
774 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "If you like being micro-managed you'll love it here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Photo and Video in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CoStar Group full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and 401K package

    Cons

    Heavily micro-managed, poor management from starting at the top. Everything you do is monitored, down to how many times you leave your desk. Directors have live monitors recording you while you work. If you are provided a car, all car movements are reported back to the office as well as cameras that are watching you while you drive.

    CoStar Group2019-05-24
  2. "OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate II in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CoStar Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and growing company,

    Cons

    Career Development, job opportunities, lack of internal management hires

    CoStar Group2019-01-25
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company with Strong Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CoStar Group

    Pros

    Great benefits, management, resources, and work-life balance.

    Cons

    The company discourages remote work.

    CoStar Group2019-01-11
  4. Helpful (22)

    "Horrid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Associate II 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CoStar Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits package, regular hours

    Cons

    The. Most. Toxic. Company. With which I have EVER had the misfortune to be associated. As some other reviewers have noted, it sucks all your energy out and leaves you with nothing at the end of the day.

    Advice to Management

    People are any company’s greatest assets. They should not be treated as disposable commodities. Create an SOP. Stick to it. Implement realistic metrics. And for the love of truth, please stop calling it research.

    CoStar Group2019-01-16
  5. Helpful (30)

    "Questionable Ethics, You are just a number here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CoStar Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits Pay is competitive Always doing fun sales contests Beautiful Office, Perks

    Cons

    Sales goals are constantly changing. Management is extremely unethical and questionable, but that's a given considering the CEO is ridiculously arrogant- type in "Most Hated CEO in Washington" in Google and there's Andy Florence! I was severely injured on the job and was ultimately fired while on workers comp/disability leave even though I was the top producing rep in my region and came back to work 5 days after injury. Come to find out that's what they are known for and it happens quite frequently. You are literally no more than a number here, they don't care about you whatsoever. I don't think anybody that works in corporate actually has a soul or a moral compass- especially those in HR. This was probably the worst experience in my professional career.

    Show More
    CoStar Group2018-12-24
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Customer Service Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CoStar Group full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, good paying job

    Cons

    Expectations are unreal, making it difficult to go to work because your stressed out just trying to reach your daily goals which are impossible

    Advice to Management

    You want happy people to work for you, then lower your EXPECTATIONS!!

    CoStar Group2018-12-03
  7. "Portfolio Researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CoStar Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I’ve been here for over a year and this is honestly a great place to work. Competitive, so you have to have drive to thrive. Pays well, benefits are great, monthly company happy hours, provided card for lunch which basically pays for your lunch for the month, beautiful view of the city and James river. The company is growing so quickly that managers often change, so you have to be adaptable and embrace the change. Sale leads bonuses, monthly bonus competitions, annual pay raise and yearly promotions make the pay top notch. 2 weeks vacation that accrue and can rollover, 1 week of sick, 2 personal days, additional days for wedding, maternity, etc. I would take what someone from each position takes with a grain of salt— different positions may have different benefits. It’s an amazing job right out of college or for anyone who has been working for a while. 40 hours a week as a portfolio researcher, paid hourly. Also have opportunities to travel to the market you call in. There are Christmas parties and we had a sales convention in February and had Zac Brown Band play privately for the company. It was great! The job focuses on calling people everyday. However metrics have changed a LOT in the past year. You are no longer just calling to update— we work on a lot of various projects daily so it stays busy and no longer feels like just a call center. The company is great and the job is good but not for everybody.

    Show More

    Cons

    As with any job there are cons. Micro managing can seem a bit harsh due to the need to meet metrics. Hence, if you are successful at what you do then you won’t be micro managed that bad. So not a big con. It can get a bit redundant after a while. Even with the company constantly growing and changing, since we measure our metrics monthly, it feels like I live by the month and then next month it just starts over. There are frequent glitches with the systems we work on and that makes everything less efficient and more stressful. Minor con and happens everywhere.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Upper management stays very inviting and friendly. They are always aiming to improve our work and I appreciate that. One of the biggest issues that I have noticed is the variance between research managers— I think that the grading is not fully standardized when call audits are conducted. Minor piece of advice, but research managers have a lot of influence on how much you like your job. It is very stressful when you believe your call content hit criteria that one manager would agree with and another would not. And it has an impact on your success.

    Show More
    CoStar Group2018-11-30
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Not For Everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Sales Representative in Washington, DC
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at CoStar Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits!! Gym at HQ!! Free snacks and salads.

    Cons

    Company does not care about customers which puts extra pressure on employees. Only cares about money.

    CoStar Group2018-12-07
  9. Helpful (23)

    "Stock drop is reflection of employee morale in this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CoStar Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are great, healthy snacks, beautiful office

    Cons

    Because of high turn over of employees, customer relationship is non-existent. Customers always have to deal with new sales rep, account manager, customer service rep. This business model of constant lay offs will be short lived. Customers are leaving along with the employees. Stark drop in the company's stock already reflecting investor's sentiment on CoStar's constant revolving door of employees. Look up "least liked CEO in Washington DC" in any search site.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your employees, they are your greatest asset. A product is useless without the right business relationships, and you cannot build a loyal customer base if you have a high turnover of employees. Invest in Training and Development and incentives for employee retention and you will be able to retain your customers

    CoStar Group2018-12-10
  10. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC

    I worked at CoStar Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great working environment and great benefits .

    Cons

    none at the current moment.

    CoStar Group2018-11-19
Found 99 reviews