Coal India Reviews | Glassdoor

Coal India Reviews

Updated 18 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Coal India CEO S. Narsing Rao
S. Narsing Rao
137 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good company to work ; work life balance; job security(in 56 reviews)

  • "Good Salary, Good working Environment(in 55 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Sky is the Limit!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Coal India full-time

    Pros

    The experience of looking after day to day operations in a big labor intensive indutry is truly amazing!

    Cons

    The company has to be at the forefront of Innovation because it has the resources to back it up.

    Advice to Management

    The red tape, whenever required, should be avoided for faster and efficient decsion making.

    Coal India2018-10-28
  2. "Coal India limited Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Team Manager 

    I have been working at Coal India for more than 3 years

    Pros

    PSU.. job safety, medical benefits.

    Cons

    Working environment is not good and peer group is not decent.

    Coal India2019-01-19
  3. "Management Trainee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Coal India full-time

    Pros

    No Pros in this company

    Cons

    Pollution, remote location, less salary

    Coal India2018-11-02
  4. "Decide ur future before getting in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Coal India full-time

    Pros

    money,government job,settled life if u have no other goals

    Cons

    everything except money.location and management are abmyssal

    Advice to Management

    dont hire from IIT's

    Coal India2017-09-15
  5. "Coal India Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Coal India full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility in getting leave. Understanding seniors

    Cons

    Facilities should be improved, especially quarters.

    Coal India2017-09-15
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Company characteristics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Coal India

    Pros

    Job security, Good salary, less expenditure

    Cons

    No personality development, monotonous job, tons of procedures, housing is not well-maintained

    Advice to Management

    Try to retain executives by providing better incentives apart from salaries.

    Coal India2016-10-17
  7. "Coal India Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Data Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Coal India for more than a year

    Pros

    good salary compensation mining work for mining engineers

    Cons

    Not a healthy and nice place to live for underground mining areas

    Coal India2016-06-02
  8. "Good place to learn and perform under constraints,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Coal India

    Pros

    Full health coverage for the employee and immediate dependents.

    Cons

    Extreme external and trade union's influence in day to day management functions.

    Coal India2016-03-05
  9. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager (Excavation) in College Station, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Coal India full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coal India is a Semi Government company. So it gives you a full job security. Promotion doesn't depend on your performance.

    Cons

    Most probably you will be posted in a remote location away from well established cities. It is a major con because of which I resigned from the company.

    Advice to Management

    Actually I can not advice because everything is governed by government of India Policies. It you know how a govt job works and you like it then its perfect.

    Coal India2015-10-06
  10. "Worst working conditions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Coal India

    Pros

    If you like a laid back life without having to work this is the place for you

    Cons

    No challenge, bureaucratic outdated working conditions. One of the worst working places

    Advice to Management

    Stop being you outdated.

    Coal India2014-11-05
Found 330 reviews