Coast Dental Services Reviews

Updated May 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
64%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Coast Dental Services CEO Derek Diasti (no image)
Derek Diasti
81 Ratings
Pros
  • "My pay is good and we're a part of the union(in 6 reviews)

  • "At Coast Dental we are committed to delivering excellent patient care, dedicated to ensuring growth and opportunity for our employees(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "More of a factory atmosphere than patient care(in 12 reviews)

  • "Also there are not a lot of the private practice "perks", like the dentist paying for trips, or taking the staff to dental conventions(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Best Family Run Dental Corporation"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Dental Hygienist in Port Charlotte, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coast Dental Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    In my 20+ years with Coast I have witnessed numerous changes but the primary directive has always been to provide the BEST possible patient care with the most current materials and instrumentation available. As a hygienist, I have also enjoyed being viewed as a health care provider and not just an employee of the dentist in the practice, which is what winds up happening in private practice settings. There are also many benefits available that are not available in private practice, i.e. 401K, health insurance, paid vacation, etc.

    Cons

    Many equate working for a dental corporation like working in a clinic because of the numerous dental plans accepted, so some may see this as a con of working for Coast. Also there are not a lot of the private practice "perks", like the dentist paying for trips, or taking the staff to dental conventions.

    Continue reading
    Coast Dental Services2019-09-24

    Coast Dental Services Response

    March 6, 2020Recruiter

    Thanks for taking the time to submit your thoughts on working at Coast Dental! While we still have things to work on, we’re glad you share the same feeling, to provide the BEST possible patient care. We have worked hard to make this directive a part of the culture here at Coast. We appreciate everything you do for us and look forward to working hard to make Coast Dental the best place possible to work and build a career!

  2. "Company Steps Up Amid COVID-19 Outbreak – Bless You!!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coast Dental Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    We were informed last week that our offices would be closing as a precaution due to Corona Virus, and that we would have some offices that would remain open to treat emergency patients. I was worried about what that would mean for me in terms of unemployment and benefits. Having spoken to a lovely lady in HR at our corporate office, I was reassured to find out that they would be filing for unemployment on our behalf and that the company would keep paying for our benefits. That's been a huge weight lifted off my shoulders in these uncertain times, allowing me to worry less about how I'm going to feed my family and keep my children insured.

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of!

    Continue reading
    Coast Dental Services2020-03-24
  3. "Disorganized company with poor upper management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Manager in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Coast Dental Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Coast Dental pays slightly above average than all the other DSO's.

    Cons

    There are no rewards for loyalty in this company, if someone above you simply doesn't like you that is all it takes in getting rid of you regardless of proven or documented performance. The turnover in this company is absolutely astonishing. The majority of offices are running understaffed and overworked. The company is constantly struggling to pay its vendors and the vendors make it known to the employees at the office level. There is a huge emphasis on "sales" and disciplinary action if production goals are not met. There is no focus on actual patient care.

    Continue reading
    Coast Dental Services2020-05-16
  4. "This Company is horrible to work for"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Manager in Sarasota, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Coast Dental Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are no weekends to work

    Cons

    No training. No communication. No loyalty. Bottom line only. Do not care about patients

    Continue reading
    Coast Dental Services2020-05-13
  5. "Push to sell, no matter the cost"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Dental Hygienist in Temecula, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Coast Dental Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The manager I worked under was very kind to me but always stressed by upper management and pressured to sell no matter the lie she needed to tell

    Cons

    the doctor I worked under was only out for the money.

    Coast Dental Services2020-05-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "RUUUUUNNNN!!!!!!!!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Dental Hygienist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Coast Dental Services part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Can make decent money if you SELL ALOT. No work on weekends.

    Cons

    Regardless of how good they make it seem at the interview the reality is this: Unrealistic expectations, old or cheap instruments, very high pressure, less time to work with patients and while you are working on patient you will get asked to help in another room . You will not have enough time to do a thorough job. They are here to make money. Coast does NOT care about the employee or the patients.

    Continue reading
    Coast Dental Services2020-03-11

    Coast Dental Services Response

    March 16, 2020Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your time at Coast Dental. We are truly sorry you didn’t have a great experience during your time here. Change is constant in our business, and we ask our teams to be flexible serving our patients in an industry that changes daily. We are always working hard in this area and looking to increase training and a change in leadership to improve in these areas. Thanks again for taking the time to leave this review and we wish you the best in your career.

  7. Helpful (4)

    "Easily the worst job I've ever had"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dental Assistant in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Coast Dental Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    No weekends. Usually got a lunch.

    Cons

    Upper and middle management are incompetent. Equipement is broken. Supply budget is unrealistically low. Patient base is overwhelmingly Medicaid and Medicare. Patients are seen as cash cows. Dentists will do ANYTHING to make money and keep corporate off their backs.

    Continue reading
    Coast Dental Services2020-03-08

    Coast Dental Services Response

    March 11, 2020Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your time at Coast Dental. I’m sorry you didn’t have a great experience during your time here. Change is constant in our business, and we ask our teams to be flexible serving our patients in an industry that changes daily. Communication and professionalism, we are working hard in this area and looking to increase training and a change in leadership to improve in these areas. Thanks again for taking the time to leave this review and we wish you All the best in your career.

  8. "Pros/Cons"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Coast Dental Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Potential Bonus (Monthly) Excellent Training Friendly Staff

    Cons

    Amount of paperwork can become overwhelming.

    Coast Dental Services2020-01-27

    Coast Dental Services Response

    February 21, 2020Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your time at Coast Dental. We are always moving forward to increase training and a changes in leadership to improve in these areas. Thanks again for taking the time to leave this review and we wish you all the best.

  9. Helpful (3)

    "WORST!!!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Office Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Coast Dental Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    4 week PTO- When I was hired a long time ago pay was better.

    Cons

    This place is awful. They treat you horrible. If you are unlucky to work with a bad dr, Coast lets dr abuse you. If dr makes money he can pretty much do anything and coast allows it. The Dr I worked for made fun of ethnic women, I told coast and nothing was done. These people are horrible. Everyone complained about this Dr, corp came and spoke to him and nothing was done. Dr kept on working. There is a meeting everyday at 5Pm. You have to convince pts to use Care Credit. Coast has to be getting a cutback the way they push it. You have to start same day treatment, You have to get reviews, all this on a daily. Dont do it and you are asked in front of everyone why did you not accomplish these metrics. Coast is the worst! The 5 star reviews are fake. They make employees do them. I worked in coast for a lot of years so i know most of the employees and there is not one person that is happy there. Its a shinking ship.

    Continue reading
    Coast Dental Services2020-02-13

    Coast Dental Services Response

    February 21, 2020Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We take these types of situations very seriously. We are working hard to increase training and leadership to improve in these areas. Thanks again for taking the time to leave this review and we wish you all the best.

  10. Helpful (3)

    "STAY AWAY!!!BEWARE!!!!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Coast Dental Services full-time

    Pros

    Back when there was real leadership in place the company was a fun place to work, that changed about 5 years ago. Then the "owners" thought they could pick up where they left off.... dumb!

    Cons

    Dont believe the 4 star rating, the company MAKES their current employees give 5star reviews usually when a bad reviewis placed, im sure there will be numerousafter this is posted.They also treat their employees POORLY conference calls EVERY NIGHT that last for at least an hour, they berate their employees to perform and dont care about their patients, they care ONLY for the bottom line and making money. They have mass firings or as they call it "elimination of your position" and this is YEARLY in the past its been upwards of three in one year, they wont let employees take time off over Christmas and new years those dates are "blacked out" so if you want the time off its without pay, even if you have PTO available. The company was ONE payment away from the employees not having healthcare coverage they take the premiums and keep it until the last possible second before paying the insurance company, to get interest because they are cash poor and cant afford their rent or their vendors, they are constantly racking up bills with one vendor then switch to another then do the same thing to that vendor, in one instance an employee tried to use one of their benefits that they pay into called legal sheild and was told until coast pays the bill they wont receive help! This is AGAINST THE LAW!!!! They are in a class action lawsuit for a reason they dont treat their employees well! Nor can they pay their own legal fees to fight the class action lawsuit.... its only a matter of time before they go under! STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!

    Continue reading
    Coast Dental Services2020-02-08

    Coast Dental Services Response

    February 21, 2020Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your time at Coast Dental. I’m sorry you didn’t have a great experience during your time here. Change is constant in our business, and we ask our teams to be flexible serving our patients in an industry that changes daily. Related comments on communication and professionalism, we are working hard in this area and looking to increase training and a change in leadership to improve in these areas. Thanks again for taking the time to leave this review and we wish you the best in your career

Found 165 reviews