Coastal Federal Credit Union Reviews | Glassdoor

Coastal Federal Credit Union Reviews

Updated May 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 41 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Coastal Federal Credit Union CEO Chuck Purvis (no image)
Chuck Purvis
5 Ratings
  1. "Feels like a family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coastal Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great team members, Pension plan and other benefits, technologically forward. They take the time to make sure people are in the right job for their talents, not set up to fail.

    Cons

    None that I can think of...

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2019-02-14
  2. "Good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bank Teller in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coastal Federal Credit Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome place to work, good benefits, and colleges.

    Cons

    Have to stay in the same position for at least a year before moving up.

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2019-04-08

    Coastal Federal Credit Union Response

    April 10, 2019Recruiter

    Thank you for sharing! Come see me (the recruiter) and we can make sure you are prepared for your next goals when your one year mark arrives!

  3. "Look elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Coastal Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Location - Relaxed Dress Code

    Cons

    - Salary is average. Nothing special about benefits offered. - PTO is horrible - HR is a waste and does not care - No flexibility or ability to work from home - Strict hours - Lack of growth

    Advice to Management

    Offer more flexibility to employees and a growth plan for those who want to grow.

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2019-05-10
  4. "Coastal live CU philosophy."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coastal Federal Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coastal lives their values and credit union philosophy.

    Cons

    Only one medical care option.

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2019-02-22
  5. Helpful (1)

    "One of the best places to work in the Triangle!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coastal Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I now know why Coastal has won so many awards for one of the best places to work! It's emphasis on matching and employee to his/her talents to set them up for success; career path opportunities; courses available for development; employee career fair; Coastal Cares initiatives that have a positive impact on the lives of employees, their families, and the community; fun events; and positive culture make it a place... where you can contribute, have an impact, grow, and make a difference! I'm proud to be a part of such a great company!

    Show More

    Cons

    I've worked for many companies in my past so, in comparison, I can't think of any. Wish I had found Coastal first!

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2019-02-13
  6. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainer in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coastal Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excels in living the organization's values. Gives consistent recognition to employees. Coastal continuously seeks new ideas and approaches to improve our products and services.

    Cons

    I have no complaints. It's a great place to work!

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2019-02-14
  7. "Great Company Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Coastal Federal Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    - Employees are valued and their ideas are heard - Collaborative environment - Co-Workers - Engaging company activities - Communicative - Strong company values - Equally strong leadership values

    Cons

    nothing bad to say about this company

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2019-02-08
  8. "Teller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coastal Federal Credit Union part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A very progressive company that makes you feel like family.

    Cons

    No clear path to advancement. Managers seem like they almost rather just keep you where you are.

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2019-01-04

    Coastal Federal Credit Union Response

    February 8, 2019Recruiter

    Thank you for submitting a review! I am glad to see that you recommend Coastal as a place to work and very sorry to hear that you feel there is no path to advancement. Promoting from within is certainly a practice we like to encourage and hopefully our latest internal career fair ...

    Show More
  9. "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Coastal Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Culturally they try to do good things for their employees.

    Cons

    Politically it’s the same ‘ol good boys and either you’re in the club or you’re not. Doesn’t matter how hard you work or what you do unless you’re part of the club. Don’t waste your time cause they don’t care. Health insurance is horrible and pretty much non existent.

    Advice to Management

    Start over. You’re doing it wrong.

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2018-11-23

    Coastal Federal Credit Union Response

    February 8, 2019Recruiter

    I am very sorry to hear your negative experiences at Coastal. Although I have not personally experienced what you are describing we will certainly review your concerns with upper management.

  10. "Loved the Credit Union"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Coastal Federal Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic Manager, good benefits, nice environment,

    Cons

    Lots of RBC Vice Presidents that only promote RBC employees.

    Advice to Management

    Look at your branch sales people and promote from within.

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2018-09-24
Found 41 reviews