Coastal Federal Credit Union Reviews | Glassdoor

Coastal Federal Credit Union Reviews

Updated May 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 41 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Coastal Federal Credit Union CEO Chuck Purvis (no image)
Chuck Purvis
5 Ratings
  1. "Feels like a family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coastal Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great team members, Pension plan and other benefits, technologically forward. They take the time to make sure people are in the right job for their talents, not set up to fail.

    Cons

    None that I can think of...

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2019-02-14
  2. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainer in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coastal Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excels in living the organization's values. Gives consistent recognition to employees. Coastal continuously seeks new ideas and approaches to improve our products and services.

    Cons

    I have no complaints. It's a great place to work!

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2019-02-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "One of the best places to work in the Triangle!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coastal Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I now know why Coastal has won so many awards for one of the best places to work! It's emphasis on matching and employee to his/her talents to set them up for success; career path opportunities; courses available for development; employee career fair; Coastal Cares initiatives that have a positive impact on the lives of employees, their families, and the community; fun events; and positive culture make it a place... where you can contribute, have an impact, grow, and make a difference! I'm proud to be a part of such a great company!

    Show More

    Cons

    I've worked for many companies in my past so, in comparison, I can't think of any. Wish I had found Coastal first!

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2019-02-13
  4. "Great Company Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Coastal Federal Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    - Employees are valued and their ideas are heard - Collaborative environment - Co-Workers - Engaging company activities - Communicative - Strong company values - Equally strong leadership values

    Cons

    nothing bad to say about this company

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2019-02-08
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Underwriter in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Coastal Federal Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coastal was truly an amazing place to work. Due to extenuating circumstances I had to relocate to Illinois, and it was the hardest decision of my life. Coastal was so good to me as an employee. Their payment was fair, they saw all that I brought to the establishment and paid me accordingly while giving me the potential and ability to grow

    Cons

    Be open and honest with your employees. And they will do the same to you.

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2018-06-22
  6. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Coastal Federal Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits Great people to work with

    Cons

    Lower than comparable salaries Slow upward mobility

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2017-12-27
  7. "The benchmark for every future job I have had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Coastal Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Management that shares and participates in a single company vision Goals that are all measurable by employer and employee Great benefits: medical, dental, 401(k) are all above the average. You also get discounts on loans you originate with them (while employed). Good pay for the Raleigh area.

    Cons

    Some old processes linger that are still holding back innovation. However, I do think they are working on it so really: not much

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work and work to keep senior management and employees on the same page and working on the same goals. Long term vision is worth the sacrifice.

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2017-09-19
  8. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Coastal Federal Credit Union

    Pros

    Great culture, leadership and opportunities for challenge

    Cons

    I can not think of any

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2017-01-03
  9. "Account Manager- Credit Union"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Coastal Federal Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    Training, Customers, Management, Benefits, Compensation

    Cons

    Work environment, Lack of Trust, Micromanagement, Certain loan processes, Miscommunication

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2016-09-09
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great to start once you get your foot in the door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Coastal Federal Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    Great training when you have the opportunity for it. Benefits are great for singles and couples. Internal hires are posted every month or so and there are plenty of chances to move up the ladder

    Cons

    If they love you, you are set If they don't, it doesn't always work out

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2012-11-27
Found 41 reviews