Coastal Federal Credit Union Reviews | Glassdoor

Coastal Federal Credit Union Reviews

Updated May 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 41 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Chuck Purvis
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Not good anymore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Coastal Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There are a lot of good people to work with.

    Cons

    Coastal used to be a good place to work. In the past few years, the culture of the company is changed and is focused more on how to do more with less. The employees are over loaded with work and micro managed at every level. They are very stressed. Management cares less about employees. All they care is about maximizing results and most of them do not know what it takes to produce. Recently, favoritism has become a visible...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management, listen to your employees and act right. Remember that happier employees do more and care more about their job.

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2018-08-03
  2. "Terrible Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Coastal Federal Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    Nothing good to say about this bank

    Cons

    Everything. Small environment. Terrible leadership.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of them, bring a new environment.

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2018-08-04
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Underwriter in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Coastal Federal Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coastal was truly an amazing place to work. Due to extenuating circumstances I had to relocate to Illinois, and it was the hardest decision of my life. Coastal was so good to me as an employee. Their payment was fair, they saw all that I brought to the establishment and paid me accordingly while giving me the potential and ability to grow

    Cons

    Be open and honest with your employees. And they will do the same to you.

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2018-06-22
  4. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coastal Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Loved my team -Relationship building opportunities -Provide Networking tools and opportunities -They provide the right tools to complete the job

    Cons

    -Expensive Insurance compared to other companies -Hard to get promoted within -Limited Bonus opportunity -Sometimes felt more like they had more Banking qualities than a Credit Union! - Cost Insurance will increase every year

    Advice to Management

    -Promote within -Decrease Insurance Cost -A Happy employee will generate more revenue!! Take care of them!!

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2018-06-22

    Coastal Federal Credit Union Response

    February 8, 2019Recruiter

    Thank you for your review! Your suggestions will certainly be seen. I am also hoping that our recent internal career fair has sparked interest in employees to explore other opportunities as well as managers to connect with employees looking to grow!

  5. "Teller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teller in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coastal Federal Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good pay and benefits, manager cares about his team, co-workers are helpful

    Cons

    difficult to get promoted, have to wait 12 months before eligible to post

    Advice to Management

    None

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2018-01-30
  6. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Coastal Federal Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits Great people to work with

    Cons

    Lower than comparable salaries Slow upward mobility

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2017-12-27
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Pure hell."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Coastal Federal Credit Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company itself is awesome.

    Cons

    Teller Center is trash, bad management, cancelled breaks, weekends, high call volume due to high turnover. Low pay.

    Advice to Management

    Since most of you have never even done what your employees do, you would be better off getting opinions from the actual tellers when you go to make changes. People leave right and left and no one cares, you just replace them. It's not very cost efficient to train all these people just to have them leave because you all don't know how to manage and you don't listen to your employees.

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2017-12-28

    Coastal Federal Credit Union Response

    February 8, 2019Recruiter

    Thank you for your review! I see that you are a former employee and I hope things have changed in the Teller Center since you departed. With a recent bump in pay for the Teller Center and a new management in the department I am hoping current employees are not experiencing the same ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Teller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teller in Durham, NC

    I have been working at Coastal Federal Credit Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, benefits. That’s about it

    Cons

    Everything. Micromanagement, they stay on top of everything that you do even go to the bathroom, you get written up for not meeting referral goals, stressful call center environment, would not recommend to anyone, it’s draining all of my energy can not wait to leave this place.

    Advice to Management

    Stop making employees’ lives miserable for no reason, people don’t work well when you’re on top of their every single move.

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2017-11-03
  9. "The benchmark for every future job I have had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Coastal Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Management that shares and participates in a single company vision Goals that are all measurable by employer and employee Great benefits: medical, dental, 401(k) are all above the average. You also get discounts on loans you originate with them (while employed). Good pay for the Raleigh area.

    Cons

    Some old processes linger that are still holding back innovation. However, I do think they are working on it so really: not much

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work and work to keep senior management and employees on the same page and working on the same goals. Long term vision is worth the sacrifice.

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2017-09-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Teller Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Coastal Federal Credit Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    pay more then average

    Cons

    breaks cancelled, people quitting right and left

    Advice to Management

    If it aint broke don't fix it. The teller center was much better up till 2 1/2 years ago and has been going down hill ever since. People cant wait to get out....Senior management not really interested in solving the problem.

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2017-07-12
Found 41 reviews