Coastal Federal Credit Union Reviews | Glassdoor

Coastal Federal Credit Union Reviews

Updated May 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 41 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Chuck Purvis
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Such a Shame..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coastal Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits are better than most employers.

    Cons

    Coastal used to be such a great place to work. In the past few years the employee morale has gone down hill. Employees are overworked and stressed to the max. Management does not see that side, they just want end results...Employee problems are swept under the carpet and not dealt with if you are upper management. They need more positive feedback from manager to employees as they get very frustrated when working so...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees. They can tell you what is going on in the lower ranks and might even have some good suggestions.....

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2015-09-02
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Cutting edge technology with too many old school managers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Coastal Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Loyal member base, great benefits, competitive products and dedicated co-workers.

    Cons

    I can only speak to my experience as a mortgage loan officer but suffice it to say there was little to no room for advancement. The management team consisted of a good old boy network going back many years and you were either in or out. My manager was slow to recognize the needs of its members and when approached was too cheap to do anything about it. We could have improved our volume, service and profit with an adequately...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen closely to what your hardest working employees are saying about certain managers who do not embrace the credit unions model regarding its internal customers. An open door policy should not be grounds for retaliation by your supervisor. The mortgage department suffered low morale and I believe everyone would have been served much better had the issues been addressed.

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2015-03-03
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Worst management I've experienced in over 25 years in the workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Coastal Federal Credit Union

    Pros

    Loved the staff and culture; were it not for my manager, I probably would have enjoyed a rewarding career at Coastal and stayed a long time.

    Cons

    Manager that I dealt with lacked integrity and leadership skills - willing to lie, interested more in his agenda than in working efficiently/ productively, played favorites with staff, and used bullying/harassment as a management tool.

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2015-02-11
  4. "Account Colleector"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Collector in Gulfport, MS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coastal Federal Credit Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Office Atmosphere, learning about the Car business

    Cons

    Political Atmosphere not good for business

    Advice to Management

    nothing, neutral

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2014-08-04
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great to start once you get your foot in the door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Coastal Federal Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    Great training when you have the opportunity for it. Benefits are great for singles and couples. Internal hires are posted every month or so and there are plenty of chances to move up the ladder

    Cons

    If they love you, you are set If they don't, it doesn't always work out

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2012-11-27
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good co-workers, bi-polar corporate vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends

    I have been working at Coastal Federal Credit Union

    Pros

    I have worked with the nicest people at CFCU. Everyone is on the same team and there is no back-stabbing. A very family-friendly atmosphere. Coastal is a family.

    Cons

    Sr Management cannot seem to make up their minds about the type of org Coastal should be. The branch staff is constantly being restructured. Good, competent managers are moved around and demoted for unexplained reasons. There is little or no promotion from within. A Sr. VP came from RBC Bank and he keeps creating VP positions form former RBCers. He seems to think Coastal employees are inferior to his RBC cronies!

    Advice to Management

    Please be consistent in branch structure and personnel. This is a relationship business and you seem to have forgotten that. Stop moving people around different branches! Develop an internal career development program and start promoting from within!

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2012-05-21
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Over-worked, under-paid, with no room to advance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Services Associate in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Coastal Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent, not great, benefits, 401k

    Cons

    The automated tellers are a disaster! As a result, the members are mostly cranky and they will let you hear it! It seems CFCU creates a "VP" position monthly so they can bring another failed RBC cronie over. The result, you saw what happened to RBC, the ship is taking on water fast. CFCU is headed down the same path. Honestly, I have no clue how people that are so wreckless with money can be in the important positions...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fire all these RBC crones. Promote from within. It's a shame these guys are changing CFCU in to the company it is today, because the CEO is a very nice guy who had a great company, 5-10 years ago. Staff your branches to handle the rush's.

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2012-05-24
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Bad decisions by upper management continues to pile on the "paper work" for the account manager, with no additional pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Coastal Federal Credit Union

    Pros

    Job security and good benefits

    Cons

    Minimal raises, NO advancement, awful teller machines, disrespected branch employees, cranky members, disconnect from corporate office. STAGNANT POSITIONS.

    Advice to Management

    Find ways to keep talent by promoting from within. Do research before implementing major change. Lose the teller machines

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2011-12-08
  9. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends

    I worked at Coastal Federal Credit Union

    Pros

    Great place to learn and grow

    Cons

    Communication between departments is key to success

    Advice to Management

    Open door policy, mean it whne you say it.

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2011-01-27
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Coastal Federal Credit Union is good to members, not employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Communications Director in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends

    I worked at Coastal Federal Credit Union

    Pros

    Credit Unions provide an excellent product and services to members and Coastal is a very good provider of these services.

    Cons

    In the last couple of years, they have grown exceptionally large and haven't been able to treat employees with the proper respect. There is very little room for advancement in a company that remains focused on it's own objectives without regards for employee training and advancement.

    Advice to Management

    Do a better job training and promoting employees. Allow employees to review the performance and abilities of middle level management and invest heavily in training.

    Coastal Federal Credit Union2010-01-25
Found 41 reviews