Coastal Medical Reviews | Glassdoor

Coastal Medical Reviews

Updated Jan 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Coastal Medical President and CEO G. Alan Kurose
G. Alan Kurose
7 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Medical Secretary in East Greenwich, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coastal Medical full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great doctors, manager and awesome staff

    Cons

    There are no cons that come to mind

    Advice to Management

    Being employed for a company I enjoy working for is extremely important to me. I have to say that I’ve found a home at Coastal Medical and am thriving in the fast-paced environment. The company is a great place to work offering employees many numerous incentives as well as the opportunity for growth. I’m proud to be a part of the Lead Academy where the Chief Operating Officer of the company gives her time to train coastal staff to be leaders. I am also an employee of Coastal 365 where Coastal patients can be seen for a scheduled same day sick appointment when their office is closed instead of going to a walk-in or urgent care during the hours offered. The caring doctors also enhance the coastal experience. Working for Coastal Medical has been an awesome journey which I look forward to continuing!

    Show More
    Coastal Medical2019-08-27
  2. "good work load/ Not so good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Certified Medical Assistant in Providence, RI

    I have been working at Coastal Medical full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Patient centered. Good workload if you like to keep busy.

    Cons

    Not paid enough for the amount of work done

    Coastal Medical2020-01-03
  3. "Encourage development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator, Nurse Practitioner in Providence, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coastal Medical full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I have been an employee at Coastal Medical since 2009 after receiving my advanced nursing degree. The culture at Coastal Medical has developed over time to address the expressed needs and wants of its employees. I have grown professionally within the organization, from a novice Nurse Practitioner to the role of coordinator, leading others and guiding change and development within the organization. I have also had the opportunity to impact change and ideas within human resource initiatives, professional development workgroups and patient-focused committees. In addition, Coastal has been receptive to new ideas, provided me with tools to develop and grow as a professional and has encouraged a positive work environment through team building. I feel my current position has offered me the flexibility to maintain a work/life balance which has facilitated my strengths as a leader in the company as well as a mother and wife. I believe in the vision of Coastal to provide its patients with the highest quality care and apply those principles to its employees. I encourage those who support that vision to join our comprehensive care team.

    Show More

    Cons

    Health Care benefit is costly for individuals and families.

    Advice to Management

    Continue working on Advanced Practitioner initiatives to standardize work throughout the company.

    Coastal Medical2019-09-04
  4. "LOVE MY JOB"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Medical Secretary in East Providence, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coastal Medical full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    awesome managers, doctors and staff. great benefits. awesome enviroment.

    Cons

    i have no cons- love my job

    Advice to Management

    My manager and assistant manager are awesome and always willing to help the staff in any way.

    Coastal Medical2019-08-21
  5. "Innovative and fulfilling work experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in Providence, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coastal Medical full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Team based atmosphere, opportunities for professional development and advancement

    Cons

    Health plan is not great

    Advice to Management

    Continue involving all levels of staff in projects and development

    Coastal Medical2019-07-09
  6. "One more thing to add"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Coastal Medical

    Pros

    I wrote a review earlier. Please see below

    Cons

    Just wanted to add to my previous review that for every 1 bad review that the company receives, the administration will add 3 good reviews within a week to compensate. So watch out for that

    Coastal Medical2018-12-18
  7. "Referral coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Warwick, RI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Coastal Medical full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible time off , some nice people

    Cons

    Time off, no employee appreciation

    Advice to Management

    Don’t fire people who are good workers for stupid reasons

    Coastal Medical2018-08-01
  8. "Good start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Coastal Medical full-time

    Pros

    Benefits were really good.

    Cons

    Management was awful to work under.

    Coastal Medical2018-04-30
  9. "Collaborative Environment and Growing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Providence, RI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coastal Medical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    With over 20 locations and 600 employees, having input from various levels of the company is key to decision making and you will find that at Coastal. Large project teams are always encouraged in order to implement change. Patients are at the epicenter of our mission and they are even invited to participate in meetings and feedback is always welcome.

    Cons

    Not a "family" style business culture

    Advice to Management

    Similar to the pros, with 20 office locations and 600 employees, communication is key to success and I think the company could do a better job. Maybe planning an all-staff event or improving how everyone is told about changes occurring would be beneficial.

    Coastal Medical2018-02-09
  10. "Working"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Coastal Medical full-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours, large will allow to work at different sites

    Cons

    Poor management, bad benefits, working hard to squeeze every penny out of you

    Advice to Management

    None

    Coastal Medical2017-09-14
Found 15 reviews