Cobb Theatres Usher/Concessions Reviews | Glassdoor

Cobb Theatres Reviews

Updated Jan 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
50%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Cobb Theatres President, CEO Robert M. Cobb (no image)
Robert M. Cobb
23 Ratings
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hourly Team Member 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cobb Theatres part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People that work there are nice and fun to be around, free movies

    Cons

    the pay sucks, barely get any raises

    Cobb Theatres2017-11-27
  2. "Good first job for only a little bit of time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member in Miami Lakes, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cobb Theatres part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free movies and you get to meet cool people

    Cons

    Corporate sucks, they don't get anything resolved

    Continue reading
    Cobb Theatres2017-11-07
  3. "Fun place to work at as a teen in high school, but not enough to stay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Usher/Concessesions/Box Office in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cobb Theatres for more than a year

    Pros

    Free popcorn, discounts on food, free movies, fun environment, friendly management, flexible scheduling.

    Cons

    Pay/benefits, some coworkers, sometimes disorganized, short staffed a lot of the time.

    Cobb Theatres2017-09-06
  4. "Decent place, minimum pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Cobb Theatres part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The management at the location I worked for was good at listening to employees for the most part. Free movies whenever the showtime for that movie wasn't really busy. Chances for small yearly raises. For the most part, aside from all the cons, it's an okay job if you need a little side money.

    Cons

    Starts out with minimum wage, but it is a theater so it's not necessarily supposed to be high paying. Most of the time you're working with high schoolers, so not many of your coworkers take the job seriously. Schedules can be inconsistent.

    Cobb Theatres2017-08-07
  5. "Box office/concession/usher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Cobb Theatres part-time

    Pros

    Good first job Easy and quick to learn the ropes Friendly coworkers Flexible scheduling Good for someone in school (since it's mostly a nights/weekends/holidays business) Uses a convenient scheduling service (When2Work)

    Cons

    -Low pay Good first job or for someone who isn't financially independent but it's minimum wage with maybe a $0.05 raise per year -Management Managers at the theatre I worked at could be lazy and unprofessional. On slower days, they were nowhere to be found for hours on end (even after calling them via walkie talkie for customer refunds, etc). Some micromanaged (one manager didn't let me allow people to buy tickets to an R rated movie without an ID, even for a woman who looked to be at least 55 years old). Managers were generally inconsistent and would tell employees different things -Concessions Even while on break, there is only a $2 discount. Some food costs $8 so it makes more sense to bring food or buy it elsewhere for full price. -Late hours If closing concession, you likely won't leave until at least 1 am on a weeknight -Inconsistent firing/discipline I knew of coworkers who had gotten fired for seemingly mild things in comparison to other coworkers who were very lazy and rude (some had been caught in the break room during their shift) who still work there with just mild repercussions. -Long/boring shifts Unless you work in the summer or on weekends, shifts may be very boring. Particularly for box office, you're typically standing in there alone for 6-8 hours, and you aren't allowed to sit even if there's nobody outside nor are you allowed to bring a book to read or homework to do even on extremely slow days.

    Continue reading
    Cobb Theatres2017-08-15
  6. "Alright waste of time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hourly Team Member in Wesley Chapel, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cobb Theatres part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You meet good people Free movies Many different positions to keep you from being bored Management is lenient if they like you the best, they probably won't like you the best

    Cons

    Low pay Hours can be cut because not good movies out Nepotism to the extreme Not much room for advancement unless you're the favorite Not many raises and small raises Management kind of strict about ridiculous things

    Continue reading
    Cobb Theatres2017-07-13
  7. "Management sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crew Member in Lakeland, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cobb Theatres part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people to be around , free movies,

    Cons

    To many managers so one manager will tell you one thing and another manager will tell you another.

    Cobb Theatres2017-07-19
  8. "Not a bad option in school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Cobb Theatres

    Pros

    Free movies are great, as long as its a weekday. Management will have food catered on busy premiere weekends. Mostly flexible with time off, except around holidays which are always busy. Scheduling and availability is great because theyre always willing to work around school schedules or if youre trying to work multiple jobs.

    Cons

    Wish we could get more than $2 off food, particularly since some of it is $7 and above depending on what you get. Also at 35 hours a week Im almost full time but cant even hit $9 an hour??

    Continue reading
    Cobb Theatres2017-05-30
  9. "good first job, but a terrible choice if you have bills to pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Usher, Cashier, Box Office Associate in Lakeland, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cobb Theatres part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    a great first or in-between job, you'll work with fun people (most are high school or college-aged), and most likely have great supervisors and friendly management. while you are required to work holidays and weekends, there's otherwise flexible hours and, if you have open availability, you're basically guaranteed to have 30+ hours a week. they also use a great app (when2work) to view your schedule, trade and pick up other shifts from coworkers, or directly message management. it's very convenient, i must say. in addition, you do get to bring you and one other person to see movies for free, and if you earn employee vouchers you can earn posters, free popcorn/drinks, and free movie tickets.

    Cons

    the amount of work you're required to complete versus the pay is absolutely not worth it if you're an individual who pays bills and lives independently! there's no work-life balance whatsoever, especially when you find yourself being scheduled for several closing nights in a row. not only that, but people will call out frequently and their workload will absolutely be tacked onto your own. this is incredibly burdensome, and most nights where i'm scheduled to leave at 12:00 or 12:30, i'm instead leaving at 1:00 or even 1:30 struggling to complete two loads of work with little to no help. management hardly cares about their employees, and they are inconsistent with rewarding for good behaviour, selecting employees of the month, and giving employee evaluations. my location hasn't seen an employee of the month since april, and i haven't had an evaluation since january (they're required to be done monthly.) cobb also has a terrible fraternization policy that, if you're found to be associating with a coworker who is at a title below/above yours (e.g. floor staff friends with a supervisor) outside of work, you can be immediately terminated. this is an absolutely asinine policy that i've never witnessed at any other employer, and can get longtime, reliable employees fired for simply having friends. they believe "favoritism" is a genuine concern, when this is absolutely not the case.

    Continue reading
    Cobb Theatres2017-06-07
  10. "overall cheap company but fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Cobb Theatres part-time

    Pros

    The atmosphere is fun and clean

    Cons

    There is absolutely no consistency in hiring

    Cobb Theatres2017-05-01

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 74 reviews