Codero Reviews | Glassdoor

Codero Reviews

Updated Apr 22, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
John Martis
1 Ratings
  1. Helpful (10)

    "If you love learning, you will learn a lot here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Codero full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You will learn a lot in a short amount of time. Good people to work with from top down. Technical teams are some of the best-WoW. Hire ups are down to earth and care about the employees. Can be hectic and stressful at time because you are in the service business, but also exciting and rewarding. The company is growing and adding locations.

    Cons

    Not much. if I must however, long hours, and some disorganization due to the fast pace. All manageable, if you have a good attitude, and a good sense of humor! A beer would help as well.

    Advice to Management

    Dont forget the small guys when you go real big! Take care of the employees as you grow. I like the monthly town halls. Keeps me updated.

    Codero2014-04-10
  2. Helpful (10)

    "Countries WORST place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Codero full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    MOST of the management team is great! You have very talented minds that could move this place to actually hit their goals with a top notch product. The board needs to take a closer look at the CEO, if they want to make any money moving forward.

    Cons

    The CEO. He is a nightmare. He is abusive to his staff, both verbally and emotionally. His time has been played out here. There is no strategy, and every day is a fly by the seat of his pants. He puts everyone under unnecessary stress. He is the worst leader I have seen in my life. I am unclear why the board doesn't see how he can't keep any good employees. They all leave, some after only a month or two, or...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The CEO needs to step down and let the COO run this place or find another CEO. He will continue to run this company into the ground. I hope the someone on the board reads this and take some action. Interviews the managers, past managers please I am begging you….

    Codero2014-06-08

    Codero Response

    June 13, 2014CEO

    Thank you for the feedback. We are proud of the entire management team we have assembled, and of our mission here at Codero. We take all the feedback into consideration, and appreciate yours. Thank you, and we wish you the best of luck in your next endeavors

  3. Helpful (12)

    "Love it...great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Administration in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Codero full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart people, good challenging work, lots of learning opportunities, free snacks, and beer Fridays! Whats not to like?

    Cons

    No real cons. More structured training program would be nice. When you start, it is a little intimidating. But once you get started, most are super helpful...Some of the people we work are in other locations, so more face time would help.

    Advice to Management

    Keep your work ethic, and onto your vision, and this company will continue to do great things.

    Codero2014-02-11
  4. Helpful (11)

    "Good Place to work with great people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Codero full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I am relatively new here, but my impression is that this is a great place. You learn a lot. At first it feels like drinking from a fire hose, but then it steadies out as you master your job. people are good. management is good. Culture is fun, but not crazy. Lots of people working hard to make the company successful and focus on customers.

    Cons

    None that I can see so far.

    Advice to Management

    keep taking care of your employees and making new employees feel so welcome to join the team. it is obvious you all care about employees, the company and customers.

    Codero2014-02-14
  5. Helpful (11)

    "Good place to work and great place for a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Codero full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really happy here. Good experience. I get to work with technology, which is fun. Fix problems, and grow my career. If you do a good job, you can get promoted quickly. people are good, some of the best in the industry. management team is all good managers, and veterans of hosting industry.

    Cons

    Pay is fair, but a little low. Sometimes shift work is required, which can get to you.

    Advice to Management

    Go international. Don't wait too long on it and send me to get it going :) Also, Dont put too many rigid processes in place...Keep it fun.

    Codero2014-02-12
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Great co-workers, HORRIBLE management, a dream is not reality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Codero full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Product ideology is sound for the future of the market. COO is one of the best execs I've had the privilege to work with. Benefits start day 1.

    Cons

    Senior management is stuck in their past experiences and lacks perspective they are not playing amongst the big boys like they think they are. Reality is they are a budget provider running spiffs that attract the exact opposite of the target buyer they say they are after. Marketing lacks vision as the CEO holds a firm grip over them yet accepts no responsibility but rather goes on tirades (see previous reviews) belittling...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get some executive coaching for the CEO or find a real C-Level exec that knows how to lead and treat others with dignity and respect. Hire an HR department, having the CEO as acting HR is not a healthy environment. The new VP of Marketing needs to reconstruct everything though he probably won't be allowed by the CEO. Come to the realization that your greatest asset in leadership is the COO as he's well respected and...

    Show More
    Codero2014-04-12

    Codero Response

    April 18, 2014CEO

    Thank you for your feedback. As always, feedback is always cherished and is considered a huge asset at Codero. I want to personally thank you for the feedback, and we wish you the best of luck in all your endeavors, with all the respect and gratitude for your service to Codero.

  7. Helpful (13)

    "energizing, challenging & amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Support Technician/Engineer in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Codero full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Terrific opportunity to grow within this ever growing hosting industry. it feels like we are on a rocket ship. better and better all the time. Everyone comes to work driven to get the most out day after day. This mixed in with the atmosphere of warmth and camaraderie make it joy to wake up everyday and come to work. I feel appreciated, as it looks like management takes the opportunity to appreciate employees that...

    Show More

    Cons

    Would like the opportunity to meet coworkers face to face in other locations. I work with them, but never met them.

    Advice to Management

    Continue your appreciation for front lines with rewards, and promotions. We need training opportunities on technical topics to better ourselves. we need a program of continuous training. Also, make sure all members of the staff have challenging jobs.

    Codero2013-10-29
  8. Helpful (13)

    "Best Kept Secret; A great gem of a company, having lots of fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Codero full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great work environment. Some of the best talent out there in all disciplines. Some really innovative things are going on that change the industry. Really good products, and hard problems to solve everyday keeps everyone going. Management is really sharp, involved, and friendly from the CEO on down. Everyone is really approachable. I am lucky to be working with industry luminaries like Emil, Chandler, and Robert....

    Show More

    Cons

    Short staffed in some technical functions, which causes some strain on work. High workload.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people where we are strained. But also, Keep the new products pumping. Very happy with the new smart server, cloud, and hybrid products. Good move in expanding the space in Austin but we may even need bigger and better space.

    Codero2013-10-23
  9. "Management team needs to learn more if they want to really IPO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Codero full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the best support staff I've worked with in the hosting industry and teamwork is really there at the company.

    Cons

    Management has no clue what they want when hiring for a new role and aims for almost impossible goals even though they know it. Most of the management team has been their since the Aplus.net days and therefore seem not to try and change their old ways of doing business. Turnover rate high, I witnessed a newly hired sales executive quit after a week and an amazing recruiter get fired after a couple months. Job stability...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    As of the previous reviewers stated, send the CEO to an anger management class. I personally experienced the tirades, rants, and work harassment that has been posted about him. Change your management way of thinking, the company will never IPO if managment cannot even handle how to better themselves into the future, they were great at disapproving change for the better.

    Codero2013-10-07
  10. Helpful (12)

    "Very Happy! Cutting edge work, good environment, fast pace, good people. Learning a lot."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Codero full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I am working on great projects. Codero has some Really good folks, A high caliber team. I am learning a lot, and getting challenged a lot by really good problems to solve.

    Cons

    Some legacy IT systems in place that need to be dealt with, and revamped.

    Advice to Management

    Add more space. I heard that we are adding another floor? do it quick, we are running out of room!

    Codero2013-07-27
Found 40 reviews