KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Codero

Is this your company?

Codero

Add a Review

Codero Reviews

Updated Apr 2, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 42 of over 42 reviews

3.6
58%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Codero CEO Bill King (no image)
Bill King
1 Rating

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Sales Engineer

Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

700

230 Comments

Join the conversation on
  1. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Management team needs to learn more if they want to really IPO

    Oct 7, 2013 - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some of the best support staff I've worked with in the hosting industry and teamwork is really there at the company.

    Cons

    Management has no clue what they want when hiring for a new role and aims for almost impossible goals even though they know it. Most of the management team has been their since the Aplus.net days and therefore seem not to try and change their old ways of doing business. Turnover rate high, I witnessed a newly hired sales executive quit after a week and an amazing recruiter get fired after a couple months. Job stability is definitely not there, and anytime the CEO gets anger at you its probably time he wants to fire you as well.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Very Happy! Cutting edge work, good environment, fast pace, good people. Learning a lot.

    Jul 27, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I am working on great projects. Codero has some Really good folks, A high caliber team. I am learning a lot, and getting challenged a lot by really good problems to solve.

    Cons

    Some legacy IT systems in place that need to be dealt with, and revamped.

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Employees are some of the best! Top tier management needs work!

    Jul 31, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Front line employees are some of the best and brightest. They work very hard and are very dedicated to their jobs. The company tries hard to recognize the outstanding work and accomplishments of the staff. Benefits are pretty good, salaries could use a little work.

    Cons

    The workload on the employees can be overwhelming at times. Even though management knows this, they are reluctant to hire enough people to get the job done. Consequently, some of the employees are getting burned-out. This company is very fast-paced, to the point that some people have left within a month or two of being hired. Turnover has been very high.....do your homework before applying for a job with this company. When did the headquarters move to Austin, TX? I thought Codero was headquartered in Kansas?

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Codero Response

    CFO

    Thank you for your feedback. The fast pace of a rapidly growing entrepreneurial company like Codero is not for everyone. However, we strive to be one of the best places to work in the world. We respect, cherish and love both our employees, and our customers. Our passions run deep, and we push each other every day to achieve their best, and volunteer their best for the customers who pay our wages, and the team members sitting next to us. When needed, we have a direct style of communicating with each other, and we value open and honest feedback. We also have a lot of fun together, and consider our teammates extended family. We respect your feedback and wish you the best of luck in your endeavors.

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great, and getting better everyday

    Mar 30, 2013 - Level I Tech in Lenexa, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This is the first company I have worked in that has really given me an opportunity to grow and learn. Thats not necessarily because of some structured, pre-ordained method they have... its because they still operate as a small company. That means there is opportunity to shine (all the way up to getting noticed by the CEO) in pretty much anything you do. Pay is fair. The work is challenging. And if you believe in having a job where you get to learn new things and take care of customers by solving problems all day, you'll love it.

    Cons

    Working at Codero is like jumping into deep pool with both feet... and not knowing how far down the water is, or how deep the pool will be. You will have to jump into areas that you may not be 100% comfortable with. And for that, its not for the faint of heart. But honestly for someone wired to grow their knowledge of technology, all of that is just opportunity. The business is growing which means that more and more servers come online, and more and more customers come knocking. This can be a little stressful as we try to hire new support staff, but management is working hard to do so from what I can tell.

    Continue reading
    15 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Excellent- My best job ever

    Jan 11, 2013 - Support Technician in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Very customer focused-You get to work with customers, and solve their problems and actually help them out. Makes the day go by fast, and very rewarding. -Good pay, and good benefits. Some of the best in the industry. -Good management team that knows what they are doing, and where they are taking the company

    Cons

    -A lot is expected of customer support technicians, and data center techs but that is not necessarily bad. We are expected to not only solve technical problems, but also sell, and resolve account issues, billing, etc. I have learned a vast number of skills at Codero. But sometimes, the sheer load can be too much especially in the absence of a good training program.

    Continue reading
    16 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A good company with lots of growth potential!

    Oct 6, 2012 - Anonymous Employee in Lenexa, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I like working here. The customer focus is great and refreshing. The pace is a little hectic, but hey it is also a lot of fun. You get to do a lot of things, and people are mostly nice from the employees to the management. Codero is a company that is growing, fun to to work for, and is in the middle of good changes that mostly are of the betterment of the company. it is definitely a start up environment. I understand it was not always like this, but it seems like the changes are for the better. it has been fun, challenging, and I look forward to growing my career here. I see many opportunities.

    Cons

    The company is in 3 locations, and some people work in other shifts. So you may work with someone forever, and not see them.

    Continue reading
    16 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee

    A Mediocre Company

    Jan 21, 2012 -  in Overland Park, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It can be a good place to get into a tech career. Their level of standards and high turnover make it easier to get in the door compared to other companies.

    Cons

    Don't expect to see any remarkable business or management practices displayed here. The company has failed to thrive over the years because of mediocre leadership.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Definitely not for everyone!

    Oct 16, 2010 -  in Overland Park, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you want to get started in the hosting industry for some reason, Codero is one of only a few local employers that are trying to do it at scale. There are some exciting possibilities for learning technologies and, as long as you keep other opportunities in your back pocket and don't assume this is a long-term job, there are some avenues for increasing your skills due to the high-tech nature of the hosting industry. Since the range of products offered by Codero are relatively limited and new "products" are just reinventions of existing products, there's little/no chance that you will find yourself working on a team whose project gets canned. There are very few projects that come down the pipes that are totally unlike everything you've done before. If you're looking for a place to just marinate for a while and not really tax yourself, it's a good place to be. The barrier to entry in the hosting industry is relatively low and new competitors show up weekly. It can be somewhat exciting. Codero is built on the idea of copying competitors ideas instead of generating new ones, so there is always a fresh idea that exists elsewhere that Codero is trying to emulate. There is a sort of unofficial post-Codero/post-Aplus.Net alumni association due to the sheer number of ex-employees there are locally and their understanding of the weird culture. I got to know many former coworkers better after I left than I did when I was there. My current position came to me directly from a former employee who I was never really allowed to talk to while we were both employed by Codero. I know many others that have had the same experience.

    Cons

    Very intensive political culture. You are encouraged to blame system failures on others and this often rolls downhill. Company is performing poorly overall with massive layoffs in the last year or so. Rather than addressing the sources of this poor performance at the middle management level, Codero has instead chosen to continually cycle through low-level employees. HR is tremendously inconsistent. Policies and procedures are just a rough suggestion. Management is generally free from adherence to any policies, while hourly employees are held to unwritten rules. Many great employees disappear suddenly for insignificant reasons because the company prefers to fire people than to let them quit. COO openly admits he likes to try and make people cry when he fires them. Successful employees tend to be the ones that keep to themselves and keep their guard up at all times. Codero is the type of environment where you need to hide anything on your desk that you want to keep long-term. iPods, computers, chairs, and office supplies tend to vanish mysteriously and most often during office hours. Ongoing turf war across all departments. You can get canned for trying to collaborate with people outside of your department. If someone requests a feature for your product and you need clarification, by all means DO NOT TALK TO THEM DIRECTLY...start a long email chain including all of their managers and all of yours and CC them on it. This is how business gets done and after a few months of employment, you will spend a lot of your day reading these emails. You WILL get reprimanded if you send an email to someone outside your department without permission. People will come to your desk and ask why you're not responding to email. Saying that you're trying to work is not an answer. IT is notorious for killing requests by tying them up in lengthy email chains wherein you are asked to justify your request repeatedly until you give up. I wrote more email in 2 months at Codero than I had in the previous 2 years. I eventually gave up requesting anything and began looking for employment elsewhere. Guess I'm one of the lucky ones that figured it out quickly.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Exciting place to work, fast pace with customer focus

    Nov 15, 2012 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, friendly and very positive atmosphere. Exciting place to work, fast pace and customer focused Adding lots of super smart people lately Management is very involved with the business and employees

    Cons

    Slightly lower pay than industry but this is improving. Understaffed in some areas

    Continue reading
    16 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Beware

    Dec 10, 2012 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Someone mentioned: if you are desperate. Accurate accurate accurate. Adverse accounts of this company in the reviews are accurate.

    Cons

    Do you enjoy hateful behavior? Slave-driving? Zero infrastructure? Mass perpetual confusion?

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 31 - 40 of 42 Reviews

Popular Careers with Codero Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Codero? Share Your Experiences

or