KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Coffee Meets Bagel

Engaged Employer

Coffee Meets Bagel

Add a Review

Coffee Meets Bagel Reviews

Updated Mar 8, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 55 of over 57 reviews

4.6
89%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Coffee Meets Bagel CEO Arum Kang
Arum Kang
47 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

383

57 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
    There are no cons to display at this time.
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year
    Featured Review

    Great Culture - nice benefits - modern adaptive work environment

    Dec 15, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible work hours Flexible work locations (very remote friendly) Open and direct leadership style Flat organization - leads to less politics

    Cons

    Single product focus Family insurance is comparatively expensive

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    An amazing culture, from the top.

    Nov 1, 2021 - Android Engineering Manager in Spokane, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture, Culture, Culture.. The amazing culture, gives everyone the chance to speak, while being egoless. Everyone I have met at CMB embodies ownership and being egoless. I have seen some reports where they say, companies should not be treated as family. I disagree, I think all companies should.. It is just unique that this one does not seem to have any disfunction/drama. A diverse team, friendly, and dare I say it.. Humorous!

    Cons

    Some of the teams have built up tech debt, but as a leader it is part of my job to make sure we have the opportunity to groom & tackle tech debt.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee

    A place to grow

    Mar 8, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Opportunities to take initiative and demonstrate leadership Opportunities for strong technical growth Welcoming and supportive Flexible

    Cons

    Unbalanced teams create additional challenges

    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company

    Jun 21, 2021 - Chief Technology Officer (CTO) in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    When I was looking for my current job, I wanted to find a company with a strong mission, a great culture around collaboration and transparency, and work on a product domain that was interesting. I couldn't have found a better place than CMB. Arum and Dawoon are fantastic leaders that care about our users and employees. We have a non-political culture where we are all trying to solve problems for our users and our business. Dating apps are a really fun problem domain that is subtly complex and some of our tests continue to surprise me. It also helps that we are helping people find authentic connections that the world needs more than ever. It's a great place to work.

    Cons

    May not be the best place for people that want an environment where everyone goes to the same office. We are very remote friendly which isn't fore everybody.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Easy to like, easier to love!

    Jun 25, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The management and executive staff at CMB does an excellent job of leading from the top down when it comes to setting a tone for the culture and what to expect from leadership. And let me tell you--they do an outstanding job! They are very opened minded, have very little ego, and really take advantage of the lean-and-mean when it comes to maintaining that "small business" vibe. It's so refreshing to have my voice heard, my ideas considered, and my projects approved. There is very little bureaucracy and red tape that obstruct good work and make progress difficult. Over time this has undoubtedly increased, but not to the detriment of innovation and efficiency. Leadership aside, the one major thing I have to call out is THE PEOPLE. The team here really makes up the amazing experience I have had at CMB. Everyone really cares for each other and really cares about the company succeeding. It genuinely feels like we have each other's back and are rowing, with ferocity, in the same direction with the same enthusiasm. I have never had a better work/life balance, and CMB does an excellent job of allowing me to disconnect, so that synergy when I am "on the clock" doesn't ebb and flow like it does at companies where I am considerably less happy.

    Cons

    Honestly, I hate typing anything here because I don't want anyone who is potentially looking into applying, to read too much into this stuff and get turned off. I am listening some items here because no company is perfect, and everyone can always improve somehow. But please zoom in on the "pros" I've mentioned rather than lamenting too much on these points. Sometimes it feels like projects/softwares/vendors don't feel thoroughly scoped out and prepared for. I think we could do a better job of thoughtfully planning out and ensuring we are setting ourselves up for success. I also feel like we don't iterate enough, if something does well or does poorly, or just doesn't meet expectations, I'd like to continue to build and expand on core concepts, ideas, or projects.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great leadership and management

    Jun 21, 2021 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - The leadership/executive team is very transparent about what's going on within the company - The company definitely cares for it's employees - My manager is excellent and my peers are very collaborative - I enjoy the company's culture and events - I enjoy the education & wellness stipends for personal mental growth and health

    Cons

    - This may be a con for others: CMB is a fully remote-working company at the moment. - No complaints otherwise

    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Culture, Great Company

    Jun 24, 2021 - Senior Engineering Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Executive leadership is committed to company culture There are lots of interesting problems to solve The team is small, so there are lots of opportunities to make major contributions The company values its employees and supports them not only at work, but in their lives as well.

    Cons

    The downside of a small team is there isn't much place to hide. Being a small player in a very tough industry with lots of competitors means hard work.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great remote friendly company

    Jun 23, 2021 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - remote-friendly culture - management genuinely cares about people - transparency - a lot of nice perks - edu budget, wellness budget, remote happy hours, etc

    Cons

    - tech debt + fast-paced work = a lot of stress - chosen work framework leads to crunch and causes burnout - wearing multiple hats is very much a thing here

    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Awesome place to create impact & great teammates

    Jun 21, 2021 - Product Designer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - The people you work with are amazing, genuinely care for you and your work. - Great sharing culture he nit comes to work and general transparency about the company - Opportunity to work with and get mentorship from senior management

    Cons

    - Might not be the best fit if you're not used to fast-paced work environments

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work!

    May 24, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    – Remote friendly – Good work/life balance – Great coworkers with a lot of teamwork – Very open for collaboration and feedback – Opportunities to grow and try new things

    Cons

    – As a smaller company, sometimes you have to wear a few hats

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 55 Reviews

Coffee Meets Bagel Reviews FAQs

Coffee Meets Bagel has an overall rating of 4.6 out of 5, based on over 57 reviews left anonymously by employees. 89% of employees would recommend working at Coffee Meets Bagel to a friend and 80% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Coffee Meets Bagel employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.2 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Coffee Meets Bagel. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

89% of Coffee Meets Bagel employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Coffee Meets Bagel 4.5 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.8 for culture and values and 4.4 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Coffee Meets Bagel to be management, senior leadership, career development and the cons to be compensation, benefits, workplace.

Popular Careers with Coffee Meets Bagel Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Coffee Meets Bagel? Share Your Experiences

or

Coffee Meets Bagel Careers

Cover image for Coffee Meets Bagel

We're on a unique mission to give everyone a chance at love. And we are committed to making that happen for everyone, including our...More

  • Our Workplace Vision
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Company Updates

Logo

Coffee Meets Bagel

12 days ago

Culture
"I knew from the very beginning that dating is a cultural phenomenon, and it was important to have diverse representation in our workforce and our dater research. I can empathize with others thanks to my upbringing as a minority, but my perspective is also limited to my own experiences. I knew I needed people of different backgrounds who can serve different types of daters better. Ultimately, we want to get to a point where dating becomes so personalized that we don't have to make general assumptions about a dater based on their identity group. But we are not there yet." Spoken like a true CDO (Chief Dating Officer).
Three AAPI founders building apps on the App Store that cultivate community
www.apple.com

Coffee Meets Bagel Photos

+ Add Photo
Coffee Meets Bagel photo of: Shark Tank
Coffee Meets Bagel photo of: CMB's Co-Found and CDO (Chief Dating Officer) - Dawoon Kang
Coffee Meets Bagel photo of: CMB's CEO Arum Kang
Coffee Meets Bagel photo of: CMB Holiday Party and Retreat 2021!
Coffee Meets Bagel photo of: CMB Retreat 2021
Coffee Meets Bagel photo of: Our last in-person Halloween :(
Coffee Meets Bagel photo of: CMB Product mini off-site
See All Photos