KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Coffee Meets Bagel

Engaged Employer

Coffee Meets Bagel

Add a Review

Coffee Meets Bagel Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 51 of over 53 reviews

4.7
96%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Coffee Meets Bagel CEO Arum Kang
Arum Kang
44 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great engineering culture with a lot of tech debts

    Aug 15, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great product, adding serious value to users' success in dating - Great engineering culture with frequent hackathons, engineering pitches and demos & drinks - Engineers get to vote on the product pitches - Decent amount of documentations, on par with the couple-thousand people tech orgs I know - Great data infrastructure and data scientists - High quality engineers and engineering managers - Great work-life-balance - Strong expertise and experience in all areas - Great pay compared to Canadian tech - Remote friendly, even before Covid

    Cons

    - Ever-growing amount of tech debts on both backend and frontend - Even though the tech debts are known and people do care, the manpower shortage make it impossible to make progress - It's a chicken and egg problem. If we don't have more human resources, we can't reduce tech debts (while developing new features). But at the same time, if we don't reduce tech debts, we consume for resources than we actually need in the long run, we make it hard to onboard new people now and retain good people down the line

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    I Hope They Win

    Jul 6, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people who value each others' work and time.

    Cons

    Senior leadership seemed to be overwhelmed at times.

    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Easy to like, easier to love!

    Jun 25, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The management and executive staff at CMB does an excellent job of leading from the top down when it comes to setting a tone for the culture and what to expect from leadership. And let me tell you--they do an outstanding job! They are very opened minded, have very little ego, and really take advantage of the lean-and-mean when it comes to maintaining that "small business" vibe. It's so refreshing to have my voice heard, my ideas considered, and my projects approved. There is very little bureaucracy and red tape that obstruct good work and make progress difficult. Over time this has undoubtedly increased, but not to the detriment of innovation and efficiency. Leadership aside, the one major thing I have to call out is THE PEOPLE. The team here really makes up the amazing experience I have had at CMB. Everyone really cares for each other and really cares about the company succeeding. It genuinely feels like we have each other's back and are rowing, with ferocity, in the same direction with the same enthusiasm. I have never had a better work/life balance, and CMB does an excellent job of allowing me to disconnect, so that synergy when I am "on the clock" doesn't ebb and flow like it does at companies where I am considerably less happy.

    Cons

    Honestly, I hate typing anything here because I don't want anyone who is potentially looking into applying, to read too much into this stuff and get turned off. I am listening some items here because no company is perfect, and everyone can always improve somehow. But please zoom in on the "pros" I've mentioned rather than lamenting too much on these points. Sometimes it feels like projects/softwares/vendors don't feel thoroughly scoped out and prepared for. I think we could do a better job of thoughtfully planning out and ensuring we are setting ourselves up for success. I also feel like we don't iterate enough, if something does well or does poorly, or just doesn't meet expectations, I'd like to continue to build and expand on core concepts, ideas, or projects.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Culture, Great Company

    Jun 24, 2021 - Senior Engineering Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Executive leadership is committed to company culture There are lots of interesting problems to solve The team is small, so there are lots of opportunities to make major contributions The company values its employees and supports them not only at work, but in their lives as well.

    Cons

    The downside of a small team is there isn't much place to hide. Being a small player in a very tough industry with lots of competitors means hard work.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great remote friendly company

    Jun 23, 2021 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - remote-friendly culture - management genuinely cares about people - transparency - a lot of nice perks - edu budget, wellness budget, remote happy hours, etc

    Cons

    - tech debt + fast-paced work = a lot of stress - chosen work framework leads to crunch and causes burnout - wearing multiple hats is very much a thing here

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year
    Featured Review

    Great Company

    Jun 21, 2021 - Chief Technology Officer (CTO) in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    When I was looking for my current job, I wanted to find a company with a strong mission, a great culture around collaboration and transparency, and work on a product domain that was interesting. I couldn't have found a better place than CMB. Arum and Dawoon are fantastic leaders that care about our users and employees. We have a non-political culture where we are all trying to solve problems for our users and our business. Dating apps are a really fun problem domain that is subtly complex and some of our tests continue to surprise me. It also helps that we are helping people find authentic connections that the world needs more than ever. It's a great place to work.

    Cons

    May not be the best place for people that want an environment where everyone goes to the same office. We are very remote friendly which isn't fore everybody.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great leadership and management

    Jun 21, 2021 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - The leadership/executive team is very transparent about what's going on within the company - The company definitely cares for it's employees - My manager is excellent and my peers are very collaborative - I enjoy the company's culture and events - I enjoy the education & wellness stipends for personal mental growth and health

    Cons

    - This may be a con for others: CMB is a fully remote-working company at the moment. - No complaints otherwise

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Awesome place to create impact & great teammates

    Jun 21, 2021 - Product Designer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - The people you work with are amazing, genuinely care for you and your work. - Great sharing culture he nit comes to work and general transparency about the company - Opportunity to work with and get mentorship from senior management

    Cons

    - Might not be the best fit if you're not used to fast-paced work environments

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Culture

    Jun 8, 2021 - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    App is used by many for a good cause Good culture (fun/friendly, transparent, empathy)

    Cons

    Legacy code -- in some ways this is a pro bc it can be a fun challenge

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work!

    May 24, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    – Remote friendly – Good work/life balance – Great coworkers with a lot of teamwork – Very open for collaboration and feedback – Opportunities to grow and try new things

    Cons

    – As a smaller company, sometimes you have to wear a few hats

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 51 Reviews

Popular Careers with Coffee Meets Bagel Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Coffee Meets Bagel? Share Your Experiences

Coffee Meets Bagel logo
or