Coffman Engineers Reviews

Updated Mar 25, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.7
97%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Coffman Engineers CEO and President David T. Ruff, P.E.
David T. Ruff, P.E.
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work/life balance isn’t a pipe dream at Coffman(in 10 reviews)

  • "Coffman has a great work environment with fun peers(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The biggest grip I hear is about the high-deductible HSA(in 7 reviews)

  • "long hours, bad management, sub par pay(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing place to work!

      Mar 25, 2021 - Senior Engineer in Oakland, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Coffman is a great team that treats their staff well and provides career growth opportunities.

      Cons

      Nothing comes to mind right now.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Can't stay away!

      Sep 10, 2020 - Administrative Assistant in Anchorage, AK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Coffman is like one big family. Everyone I've worked with has a sense of care for me and my personal and professional endeavors. I started at Coffman in 2018 as an intern. After riding out my internship for as long as I could I returned as a full time employee for a year. I took 14 months off to pursue other interest but came back because I enjoyed working here so much! My coworkers and supervisors are kind, helpful and eager to see one another succeed. I would summarize Coffman Engineers as a "family" firm with big firm business oppurtunities and growth. I'm proud to be apart of the Coffman family.

      Cons

      I can't think of any con's working at Coffman. In the past I have been able to bring any concerns or ideas for areas that could use improvment to the attention of my supervisor. With an open door policy it's easy to turn con's into pro's quickly! Probably more people related rather than company I have sadly seen some of our cultural traditions fade away. I would love to see new traditions come to life whenever our office returns back to normal, in-office work.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Best environment

      Jan 24, 2021 - Structural Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Smart management, friendly coworkers, people-centered structure. Love the versatility of work

      Cons

      None that come to mind

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company Culture | Mediocre Pay

      Feb 9, 2021 - Marketing Specialist in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Office autonomy, transparent leadership, cool projects with some of the largest companies in the world, flexible work schedule, good benefits with 401k matching

      Cons

      Below average industry pay in non-eng

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Very glad to call this company home!

      Jun 4, 2020 - Senior Project Manager in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      In my career of over 20 years to date, it has been rare to find a company that: 1) Treats its employees very well 2) Serves its customers very well 3) Has a successful and long term business strategy 4) Has self awareness and the ability to change and adapt (leadership humility) 5) Embraces process improvements 6) Committed to excellence and continual improvement I've worked at many companies that get one or two of these qualities right, but in the time I've been at Coffman, I am happy to report that they are committed to all 6. If you are internally driven to do excellent things, this is a great place to join others who feel the same.

      Cons

      Everyone was so warm and friendly to me the first week I was here that it was creeping me out at first.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Coffman Engineers Response

      President

      What a great list of successful company attributes. Can I use your list? Super excited that Coffman is able to check all of the boxes. Now we just need to keep it that way. I know you will help us stay on track. Very funny that we sort of creeped you out with our friendliness. "The Firm" encourages friendliness. I am committed to following your great advice. Thanks for the insightful feedback. Dave Ruff - CEO/President

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great People and Values at Coffman

      Jan 9, 2020 - Administrative Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Super Friendly Management. They let you do your job and support employees. They foster a fun work environment and really believe in the well being and happiness of the employees. Decent Salary and Benefits. The company wants to do their very best for clients, which is a nice goal to have every day. Fun coworkers, seriously some of the best I have had.

      Cons

      Have to keep up with a lot of changes constantly going on. This is a good sized company so there are many programs and details to learn and adapt to. Not really a Con, just a challenge with the amount of time you have sometimes.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Coffman Engineers Response

      President

      We will keep up the great work. Thanks for the encouragement. You joined us as we are in the last stages of right sizing our systems and tools for our current size/breadth. Certainly some growing pains, but we are almost through it. We have one more big adjustment as we implement a new project management and accounting system. Hang in there. Smoother sailing in the near future. Appreciate you. Dave Ruff - CEO/President

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Handling of Pandemic

      Sep 8, 2020 - Mechanical Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Providing great resources and help through this difficult time.

      Cons

      Hope to not see them rush back into the office.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great culture, challenging work, and a collective pursuit of excellence.

      Feb 3, 2020 - Marketing Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly, diverse groups of people supporting each other, and company projects, from offices across the nation. Each office has its own fun, unique, and inviting culture, yet they all share fundamental corporate initiatives and common goals. Excellent work-life balance, competitive pay/benefits, and defined career paths.

      Cons

      As the company continues to expand, growing pains may be experienced as certain processes and systems get (re)defined. Occasional long hours, however, the company comp-time and overtime pay policies make up for this!

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Coffman Engineers Response

      President

      Thanks for the feedback, and list of pros. The overtime pay for exempt employees is the right thing to do. If our team members are providing value to a client, and billing the client, then we believe that team member should get paid for that effort. Otherwise the company is highly incentivized to increase profits by working people harder. This would be contradictory to our commitment to employee well-being and balance. Thanks again. Dave Ruff - CEO/President

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Integrity, Respect, Professionalism

      Sep 2, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      At Coffman, the idea that employees are valued and respected goes beyond mere lip service; it’s backed up by behavior and resources. Coffman walks the walk. Employees are encouraged and supported in the pursuit of professional development and career growth, regardless of tenure, position, or department. If you want to learn and grow, the opportunities are there. Work/life balance isn’t a pipe dream at Coffman. Yes, there are times when project deadlines and workloads necessitate extra hours, but management pays attention and works hard to ensure that such situations don’t become the norm. Scheduled check-ins between employees and managers are standard operating procedure, across the board. The company has been growing, in ways that are thoughtfully considered, well communicated, and sustainable. Though I’ve been at Coffman less than a year, I’ve already witnessed firsthand – on several occasions – remarkable instances of open communication, accountability, and integrity, from the highest levels of leadership.

      Cons

      Some of the benefit offerings could be better (e.g. life insurance, options for health insurance), although overall, they’re fine, and again, are well thought out and communicated.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Coffman Engineers Response

      President

      Thanks for the positive comments and the confirmation that you are experiencing integrity at Coffman. We certainly aim to walk what we talk. But the proof is in the experience, not the words. Although we are not perfect, we strive to continuous improvement. Glad you joined the team and can help with this endeavor. Regarding benefit offerings, and specifically life insurance, we happen to be looking at options right now to improve this benefit. Best Regards, Dave Ruff - CEO/President

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Employee-Centered Firm

      Jan 29, 2020 - Engineer, Structural Engineering in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      + The Corporate team does a great job of allowing autonomous direction in each of the different office locations. + The company culture is a major focus, both professional and personally. + The employees are the center of the company, and there are structured growth opportunities. + Salaried employees can choose to bank overtime as PTO or get paid at their effective hourly rate.

      Cons

      - High-deductible health insurance, but the company does more than most companies I know to help mitigate the impact to the employee.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Coffman Engineers Response

      President

      I really believe in the benefits of federalism (i.e. delegating the most authority possible to those closest to issues at hand). This creates the most freedom which fosters the most inspiration which in turn enhances creative thinking for our client and our business. Office autonomy is a continued commitment for these reasons. Thanks for posting a review. Dave Ruff - CEO/President

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 105 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Coffman Engineers Job Seekers

    Structural Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Coffman Engineers? Share Your Experiences

    Coffman Engineers logo
    or