Coffman Engineers Reviews

Updated Apr 18, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 124 of over 129 reviews

4.5
91%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Coffman Engineers CEO and President David T. Ruff, P.E.
David T. Ruff, P.E.
43 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years
    Featured Review

    Rewarding work environment and culture

    Jan 21, 2022 - Senior Engineer in Anchorage, AK
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work hard play hard culture Team camaraderie Stable employment Excellent leadership

    Cons

    Ocassional long days to meet deadlines

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Leadership and Overall Company Culture

    Apr 12, 2022 - Marketing Intern 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great leadership Amazing company culture Value their employees

    Cons

    I do not have any cons.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Tremendous Respect for the People and Organization

    Mar 4, 2022 - Senior Discipline Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There is mutual respect with EVERYONE I work with, leadership are genuinely good, cool people, pay is competitive, benefits are great, projects are fantastic, there is tons of opportunity, and I feel empowered to do awesome things. This company stands by it's mission and vision: Coffman’s mission is to empower our team to deliver innovative engineering solutions focused on our client’s success; Coffman’s vision is to be a preferred engineering consulting firm that supports employee well-being, local office autonomy, diverse and sustainable growth, and positive community impact.

    Cons

    The engineering industry as a whole right now is SUPER BUSY. Since Coffman is so successful and has a great reputation in the industry, working here, there is no downtime. You will be kept busy.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    A Company that Values

    Jan 17, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Coffman is not just a job. It's a place where my coworkers have become family and the projects I've worked on have provided both professional and personal growth. I highly recommend Coffman.

    Cons

    To date, I've been with the company through its largest growth. With that comes the significance to reflect on and protect our culture. It's this that makes our company stronger than the next. I have no doubt that we can do this together, but I feel the tension. While this is not necessarily a "con", I feel it's worth mentioning. Let's continue to shield what we have - it's Coffman's secret weapon.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Coffman Engineers Response

    President

    Thanks so much for the strong recommendation of your company. It is an ideal outcome for work to be additive to you as a whole person. Family and personal growth are great benefits. We spend over 1/3 of our waking hours at work. It is lamentable that so many companies don't take seriously the responsibility they have to their people. Work takes up a large portion of a person's life. It should be additive. If it is, it frees people up to be even more of a positive influence to their families and friends. We are doing our best to perpetuate this ethos, even while we grow. Thanks. Dave Ruff - CEO

  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Not as advertised

    Apr 18, 2022 - Marketing Specialist in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefit options and employee recognition

    Cons

    poor management, pay not competitive, not open to constructive criticism

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Decent Company, Growing Pains

    Mar 19, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    minimal overhead management, end of year bonus, interesting projects, good CEO

    Cons

    managers need soft skills training, "do anything to meet the deadline" attitude, limited advancement potential, poor benefits

    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Amazing Place to Work

    Sep 8, 2021 - Senior Administrative Assistant in Spokane, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have never experienced a workplace where everyone is valued and respected. We are truly part of a team and people work together to accomplish the best products we can deliver to our clients. Working as a support person, sometimes we are looked down on, but not at Coffman! Coworkers value our support as essential and treat us as one of the team. You are appreciated and it shows in all of the perks offered. Once I started working here, I knew I was staying until retirement. Cannot say enough good things about working at Coffman!

    Cons

    None - seriously. Coffman values family and supports each employee with the goal in mind that family is the priority, work comes second.

    2 people found this review helpful

    Coffman Engineers Response

    President

    Wow! Yes. Stay until retirement. I am so glad your experience has matched our stated culture and values. We do value everyone on the team. Each person has a role to fill and we all depend upon one another to achieve success. We are all human beings, intrinsically valuable, to be treated with dignity and respect. Thanks for all you do for Coffman. Dave Ruff - CEO

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Fantastic Company with Strong Values, Culture and Balance

    Nov 8, 2021 - Senior Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great leadership with clear and consistent communication, strong company culture and values and a very positive work-life balance.

    Cons

    Compensation could be improved to match market values.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Coffman Engineers Response

    President

    Empowering the team is in our mission statement. I will certainly continue to do my best to empower local leaders. The office leaders make decisions as a team whenever possible and this creates decision making that is in-touch with local needs and also takes care of the broader business requirements. And it is much more fun for me. Working within a high functioning team is the most rewarding of all work environments. Thanks for the feedback. Dave Ruff - CEO.

  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great culture, well run, employee first focus, and local autonomy

    Dec 7, 2021 - Executive Butler in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Employee focused organization, excellent culture allowing team members to thrive. Business has a solid management structure and talented team, allowing for local office autonomy, no corporate team forcing policies.

    Cons

    Employee health benefits include a solid HSA (with good company match), but are bundled with a high-deductible.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Coffman Engineers Response

    President

    Thanks so much for the review. We are focused on our people thriving, not just because it is the right thing to do, but also because creativity and responsiveness depend upon thriving. Our clients hire people as much as they hire a brand. Clients are expecting that the people they engage with at Coffman are empowered to solve their problem and that the organization is healthy enough for them to have access to our collective expertise. Thriving matters. Dave Ruff - CEO

  10. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Great company

    Jan 11, 2022 - Civil Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good, stable company. Cares about employees.

    Cons

    Wide variance in how departments are ran

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Coffman Engineers Response

    President

    Our office autonomy does dribble into department autonomy. What we want to avoid is experiences that are disparate as it relates to culture. We have implemented leadership training and manager training in part to help with consistency of experience. This will be balanced by the autonomy that is our secret sauce. Alignment, but not confinement, is the goal. Thanks for the comment. Dave Ruff - CEO

Viewing 1 - 10 of 124 Reviews

Coffman Engineers Reviews FAQs

Coffman Engineers has an overall rating of 4.5 out of 5, based on over 129 reviews left anonymously by employees. 91% of employees would recommend working at Coffman Engineers to a friend and 85% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Coffman Engineers employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.2 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Coffman Engineers. This rating has improved by 2% over the last 12 months.

91% of Coffman Engineers employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Coffman Engineers 4.4 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.8 for culture and values and 4.4 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Coffman Engineers to be senior leadership, career development, benefits and the cons to be work life balance, compensation.

Popular Careers with Coffman Engineers Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Coffman Engineers? Share Your Experiences

Coffman Engineers logo
or