Cognex "hard play hard" Reviews | Glassdoor

Cognex Employee Reviews about "hard play hard"

Updated Jun 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
73%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Cognex President, CEO and Director Robert Willett
Robert Willett
77 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "hard play hard"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Excellent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Natick, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cognex

    Pros

    Work hard, play hard is the mantra. The core values of the company include outstanding benefits and competitive salaries.

    Cons

    No huge opportunities for advancement. HR seems disconnected and aloof when dealing with employee relations

    Continue reading
    Cognex2015-09-24
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Cognex full-time

    Pros

    Great work hard, play hard, move fast culture!

    Cons

    The work life balance can be a struggle, but its being addressed by management.

    Cognex2018-10-25
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Natick, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cognex full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, decent pay/benefits. Friendly people. Play hard environment.

    Cons

    No work life balance. No training whatsoever.

    Cognex2018-09-13
  4. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounts Payable Administrator in Natick, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cognex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are great as well as the play hard culture

    Cons

    Wish management was a little better

    Cognex2017-07-26
  5. "SQA Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in Upton, MA

    I have been working at Cognex for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture, benefits, people, play hard

    Cons

    Management, pay, disorganization, lack of direction

    Cognex2016-02-26
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Company Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Natick, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cognex full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been with Cognex for three years and currently lead a small team. It amazes me the strength of its culture and how it supports its employees. Unlike my previous company, Cognex wants its employees to stay for the long term. It's "Work Hard, Play Hard, Most Fast" culture is a big reason employees stay. It invest in areas that have previously been challenged like the HR organization, and I can see the difference in terms of support to employees and managers. It invest in the engineering organization and continues to hire top talent. I get to work on cool projects and feel challenged by my work with my team.

    Cons

    Not really a downside, but Cognex needs to invest more in employee development and career development. I want to be clear about my engineering path forward and how I can continue to build my skills and experiences.

    Continue reading
    Cognex2015-09-16
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Work Hard, Work Harder!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Natick, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Cognex full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Enticing culture which attempts to strike a healthy balance between Work Hard and Play Hard.

    Cons

    Play Hard cultural events are a nice feature, but not worth substandard pay levels, severely limited resources and unrealistic work performance expectations. HR function is a complete joke at this company (unprofessional and incompetent with no independent thinking or influence).

    Continue reading
    Cognex2015-07-10
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work if you don't stay too long-was better 5 years ago"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee -  
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cognex full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Smart, fun co-workers, casual environment. Promotes a "work hard, play hard" corporate culture. Tends to have low employee turnover.

    Cons

    Employee contribute health care plans, management doesn't believe in pay raises, the longer you work here the less they value you, not a lot of development/promotion options. Once you top out start looking.

    Continue reading
    Cognex2013-03-03
  9. Helpful (1)

    "District Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Sales Manager in Ho Chi Minh City
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cognex full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work Hard Play Hard Move Fast

    Cons

    No guidance from management. Only pushing on the sales number.

    Continue reading
    Cognex2019-06-15
  10. Helpful (5)

    "The Microsoft of Machine Vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Cognex full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    financially strong company (wrt market cap and cash), compelling products with good Ease of Use (VisionPro, Insight, Checker, DataMan, SmartView), company culture (Work Hard Play Hard), strong IP position (PatMax)

    Cons

    not at all a high-tech company, simple products (SmartCams, ID Readers), obscene margins (product sales, service outsourced to ASPs), weird financial reports (mad CEO self presentations), internal communication (ignorance, arrogance, stupidity)

    Continue reading
    Cognex2015-05-01

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews