Cole, Scott & Kissane Reviews | Glassdoor

Cole, Scott & Kissane Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 90 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Richard P. Cole
38 Ratings
Pros
  • "The firm really allows young lawyers to get out there and get a wide range of experience(in 5 reviews)

  • "If you get with the right team and supervising attorney you can learn a lot about practicing defense litigation(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "High billable hours, no time off for vacation, opposed to flexible work schedules, harsh criticism from management(in 9 reviews)

  • "I had no work life balance, billable hourly requirements were high, and I was expected to work every weekend(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "I have been working at CSK for 6 years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Litigation Paralegal in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cole, Scott & Kissane full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have been with the firm now for the past 6 years. I can honestly say CSK values its employees. It is a firm that genuinely cares. They are extremely helpful in all aspects and the firm enjoys bringing its employees together for events. It brings great energy to the entire office. Also, it is a constant learning environment.

    Cons

    The legal field can be very stressful at times, but this aspect goes with the territory.

    Cole, Scott & Kissane2018-09-07

    Cole, Scott & Kissane Response

    September 10, 2018Administrative Manager

    Dear CSK paralegal, Thank you for taking time out of your day to rate our firm. We are happy that you have been with us 6 years but happier to hear your positive thoughts about how we value our employees as we truly do! We do know that our employees enjoy the event like ...

    Show More
  2. "Legal assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cole, Scott & Kissane full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and friendly environment.

    Cons

    None. I Do not have any cons.

    Cole, Scott & Kissane2018-12-04

    Cole, Scott & Kissane Response

    December 11, 2018Administrative Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write this positive review of your experience at Cole, Scott & Kissane, P.A. CSK is proud of striving to make our employees happy. We hope that you will continue working with us for many years to come.

  3. "Current employee at the firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Assistant/Paralegal in Miami, FL

    I have been working at Cole, Scott & Kissane full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Firm works with finding the right attorney/assistant pairing. Generous PTO and great location.

    Cons

    Staff are treated like children. Raises and bounces are minimal.

    Cole, Scott & Kissane2019-08-20
  4. "experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Associate Attorney 

    I worked at Cole, Scott & Kissane full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    you will gain a lot of experience very quickly

    Cons

    there seems to be a lot of turnover

    Cole, Scott & Kissane2019-08-07
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Prepare to be overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cole, Scott & Kissane

    Pros

    Flexibility, great reputation, has possibilities:

    Cons

    Disorganized, care about billing, partners steal billing from associates, associates work in office on weekends.

    Advice to Management

    If you value employees don’t overwork them

    Cole, Scott & Kissane2019-08-05
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Miami, FL

    I worked at Cole, Scott & Kissane full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good litigation experience. A lot of court, deposition and mediation experience.

    Cons

    Pay and bonus are not good. Very high caseload.

    Cole, Scott & Kissane2019-06-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great opportunity for litigation experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Attorney 

    I have been working at Cole, Scott & Kissane full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The firm provides associates with numerous opportunities to obtain valuable courtroom and litigation experience.

    Cons

    In some departments, the amount of compensation is not compatible with the amount of hours spent working.

    Cole, Scott & Kissane2019-05-11
  8. Helpful (1)

    "One of the Worst Places I've Ever Worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Litigation Assistant in West Palm Beach, FL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Cole, Scott & Kissane for less than a year

    Pros

    Newer kitchen, proximity to downtown WPB

    Cons

    Just about everything else. Employees were not treated equally. The firm is comprised of teams and some are easier to work for than others. Unprofessional behavior from at least one member of management, particularly with sharing information about others that should not be. Unrealistic expectations of what assistants and paralegals should achieve in the typical day. And criticism all around.

    Cole, Scott & Kissane2019-04-16
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Keep Looking for a Paralegal Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Paralegal 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cole, Scott & Kissane full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I wasn't there long at all. I guess the benefits would have been fantastic as well as the pay.

    Cons

    I was lied to from the interview on. Flexible time stated in their ad. NO Flexible time. I was told if I came in early I could leave early. This was also told to other employees. Very unfriendly place. No one speaks to you. No one can close their door! Very restrictive and I felt like I was a prisoner.

    Advice to Management

    Please don't lie to new potential candidates and say that you have flex time when you don't. Please don't use foul language during an interview.

    Cole, Scott & Kissane2019-04-23

    Cole, Scott & Kissane Response

    May 6, 2019Administrative Manager

    Dear former paralegal, CSK employs a large team of professional paralegals and most have been with the firm for many years. We do provide our paralegals with the choice of a start time of 8:00, 8:30 or 9:00. There are even cases wherein a paralegals requests a 7:30 or 9:30 start ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cole, Scott & Kissane full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Air conditioning, nice restrooms, chair to sit in

    Cons

    Awful people, and work environment, unethical office manager, horrible superviors who make life hell.

    Cole, Scott & Kissane2019-04-19

    Cole, Scott & Kissane Response

    May 6, 2019Administrative Manager

    Dear former legal assistant, We are sorry that you did not have a positive experience with our firm. Our Office Managers are all very fair and ethical. If you truly felt that there were any issues with management, it should have been reported to the Firm Administrator or the ...

    Show More
Found 90 reviews