Coles Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Coles CEO John Durkan (no image)
John Durkan
364 Ratings
Pros
  • "Nice people supportive workplace Good pay(in 163 reviews)

  • "flexible hours and convenience for uni(in 104 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper-tier people's response to basic team members(in 64 reviews)

  • "long hours standing can be harder(in 59 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Coles"

    5.0
     

    I worked at Coles

    Pros

    reasonable pay, advancement opportunities, good team environment

    Cons

    often not enough hours allocated to get jobs done

    Coles2016-09-19
  2. "Great Place to Work"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Assistant Sales 
    Recommends

    I worked at Coles part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly people to work with

    Cons

    Hours largely vary quite often

    Coles2019-08-24
  3. "Personal shopper at coles"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Online Shopper in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Coles full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is good if you are casual. Very Flexible in terms of working hours

    Cons

    Time constraint in this physically demanding job can lead to injuries if you are not careful. The position is about to be automated.

    Continue reading
    Coles2019-07-25
  4. "Good pay"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Coles part-time

    Pros

    Work life balance and good pay

    Cons

    Very strict management, just work hard

    Coles2017-11-02
  5. "Supervisor"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Shift Lead in Morrisville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Coles for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work in team in coles were the best interesting part of my job . It creates people self strong , motivated , multi skill knowledge .

    Cons

    It takes a phenomenal amount of self-discipline to start work when you know you don't have to be at the office by 8 a.m. You are the only person around all day, so there is no outside pressure to be busy. You must be entirely self-motivated. You miss out on the camaraderie that stems from working with others day after day. There are no coworkers to go to lunch with.

    Continue reading
    Coles2016-12-05
  6. "Controller"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Coles full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Boss was great. work exciting

    Cons

    Employees lazy . didn't work always complained

    Coles2016-11-16
  7. "Front end supervisor"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Coles

    Pros

    Support students studying at uni, friendly staff, great public holiday pay and benefits

    Cons

    Supervisors don't get paid overtime to close store

    Continue reading
    Coles2016-10-02
  8. "Good and Reasonable"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Night Fill in Greenacres, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coles part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    clean and fresh environment to work in friendly co-workers and managing staff easy and quick to get a hang off

    Cons

    can get busy at times (especially X-MASSSS) fussy and angry customers coles theme songgg "coles little red quote" "down down prices are down" urrrgghh

    Continue reading
    Coles2016-02-15
  9. Helpful (1)

    "You'll Love Coles"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Coles

    Pros

    Work environment has been significantly improved since Ian McLeod came on board - more open and friendly atmosphere, supportive teams, good leadership.

    Cons

    Insufficient parking allocations, poor catering, new open plan seating arrangements a little too cramped in some departments and very male-dominated environment.

    Continue reading
    Coles2009-09-22
  10. "Great productive environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Assurance in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Coles full-time

    Pros

    Casual approach; Creative thinking; Career growth options

    Cons

    Nothing really; all is good.

    Coles2020-06-03
Found 1283 reviews