Coles "team members" Reviews | Glassdoor

Coles Employee Reviews about "team members"

Updated Jan 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Coles CEO John Durkan (no image)
John Durkan
365 Ratings
Pros
  • "good pay and excellent conditions(in 149 reviews)

  • "Great management team and flexible hours(in 81 reviews)

Cons
  • "They will implement changes without discussing with team members first to get opinions(in 60 reviews)

  • "Long hours, repetitive work etc(in 54 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "team members"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Not a bad environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member 

    I have been working at Coles part-time

    Pros

    The jobs are pretty easy. The customers can be quite rude but if you're lucky enough to have a good management team/ other team members to back you up then they're not too bad.

    Cons

    Because I worked at the checkouts, I also had to work at self check-outs. There are a lot of thefts that occur and management places pressure on the team member to check everyones' bags etc.

    Coles2020-01-15
  2. "Worst job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nightfill Team Member in Dapto
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Coles part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This was supposed to be a job designed so you can study or work another job.....

    Cons

    The position I applied for was nightfill so I would be able to study, the start time was 4pm and then was pushed back to 3pm. This made getting to work near on impossible, even after explaining this I was still rostered to start then. Had my shifts cut back to 24 hours a fortnight after working 30 plus hours every week for a year. Experienced severe discrimination against diagnosed illnesses and soon being told by fair work to report these as they where clear violation of the discrimination act, internals pushed it under the rug. After being promised a contract from day one it took almost 18 months to get a contract of bare minimum hours, even though I was regularly rostered for more than 30. Coles demands you do your modules at home and forced all team member to sign a privacy statement after the kid from Woolworths won his court case against them for the same unpaid work requirements. Coles has planned to save 2 billion dollars over 4 year, and as soon as this came into play, shifts and workers where picked in such a way as to pay people the absolute minimum and as little penalty rates as possible. For a job called nightfill, the regular shift is actually 3-11.

    Show More
    Coles2020-01-22
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Good part time job which pays quite well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Team Member 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Coles part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Meet some nice people working there - Pay is good especially on Sundays and evenings - Simple work - 5% team member discount

    Cons

    - Some rude customers - Department managers are often incompetent and don't understand business levels - Waste - Usually understaffed eg. 5pm (busy) to 9pm closing the Deli alone.

    Advice to Management

    hire better managers

    Coles2019-12-06
  5. "Part Time Team Member at Coles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Coles part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Highly organized and Employee friendly firm.

    Cons

    Few working hours only for Team Members.

    Coles2019-12-01
  6. "Lovely professional managers - great working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grocery Team Member in Camberwell, Victoria
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Coles part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, lots of casuals to fill in if needed.

    Cons

    Inaction over unanimously negative feedback from surveys about duty and grocery managers. Coles doesn't seem to care about team members' wellbeing.

    Advice to Management

    Take action from survey and feedback results and make it visible to team members.

    Coles2019-12-10
  7. "Coles Rouse Hill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Freelancer - Team Member in Rouse Hill
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Coles for less than a year

    Pros

    great team members that knew what they were doing.

    Cons

    nil - not bad for a first job.

    Advice to Management

    communication - there were times where I wasn't sure what I was meant to do.

    Coles2019-12-03
  8. "Coles nightfill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nightfill Team Member 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coles part-time

    Pros

    Friendly staff, helpful to new team members

    Cons

    Not many hours as a casual

    Advice to Management

    Scrap the 3hr and bring back the 4hrs+ nightfill shift

    Coles2019-12-03
  9. "Lack of care for team's personal wellbeing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Manager in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Coles full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Stable job Friendly fellow team members

    Cons

    Overworked and understaffed. Inhuman expectations from team members to complete loads that are far too large. Team members made to feel incompetent when the workload is simply too large for the quantity of staff. Team not assisted, simply monitored and badmouthed to higher management, where they're micromanaged and shifted without ever confronting the target with support or advice. Overall just a toxic environment in some stores.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Realise that your team members (especially younger ones) are humans too, and don't need to be gossipped about behind closed doors. Support and advise underperforming team members instead of behaving like school children.

    Coles2019-11-27
  10. "Is Coles a good Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Produce Associate in Glen Waverley
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Coles for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Regular weekly pay. Superannuation, 4 weeks leave, Other team members are easy to work with.

    Cons

    Management should consider the workload on team members.

    Advice to Management

    Consider what stress you put on stores before increasing the work load or try it yourself.

    Coles2019-11-17
  11. "I don't know"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Night Fill Team Member 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Coles part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management is very pushy and don't lead by example

    Cons

    Team members are very friendly and easy to work with

    Coles2019-11-17
Found 98 reviews