College Board Reviews

Updated May 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
69%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
College Board President David Coleman
David Coleman
165 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "The best place I've ever worked"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Board full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible, friendly, collaborative, supportive environment. Everything about working here is amazing. You get to work towards an extremely important mission. For once in my life, I walk into work everyday with a huge smile on my face.

    Cons

    There are no cons of working for the CB.

    College Board Response

    January 17, 2020Head of Talent Acquisition

    Welcome to the team! -- Karl D'Souza

  2. "A Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Board full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Camaraderie and a sense your work matters.

    Cons

    Not many that I can think of

    College Board Response

    June 17, 2020Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the comment. - Karl D'Souza

  3. "An employer that cares about people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Board full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cares about people - employees, members, customers, and students. Handles crises well. Thoughtful and intentional in action.

    Cons

    Meeting heavy most times, but understand because they want to be thoughtful in approach

    Continue reading
  4. "Great Employer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Board full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The company is innovative and Mission driven

    Cons

    There are sometimes limited regional opportunities

  5. Helpful (1)

    "4 year experience"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English Tutor in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at College Board part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Many hours are provided. Free snacks.

    Cons

    Very low pay. Stressful work environment.

  6. Helpful (9)

    "Diversity"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at College Board full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great PTO and benefits package

    Cons

    If you are Caucasian and Jewish you will most likely thrive here. If you are anything else you will most likely not reach senior leadership level nor be promoted. It takes nothing but looking at the executive leadership to see the lack of diversity.

    College Board Response

    April 3, 2020Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your feedback. The College Board aims to be a great place to work and to champion diversity and inclusion at all levels and in all functions. Like all organizations, we understand that greater diversity helps us make better decisions, achieve our goals, and fulfill our mission. We have a dedicated group of senior leaders focusing every day on how we can continue to become a team that better reflects the students that we serve. We’re proud of the diversity of our senior leadership team, our Board of Trustees and our broader team. And we continue to recruit, support and elevate talented colleagues with diverse backgrounds and experiences -- Karl D'Souza

  7. "Online transcription of AP tests into the College Board database in several subjects and languages."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Transcription Technician 

    I worked at College Board part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was a technical job where I had to be precise, observant, and detailed which are things that I enjoy and that I am good at.

    Cons

    The project ended and I wished to be paid better.

    College Board Response

    April 16, 2020Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your contributions towards our work to serve students. -- Karl D'Souza

  8. "Great work environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Board full-time

    Pros

    Open and supportive environment Employee friendly culture Incredible amounts of flexibility High value placed on collaboration

    Cons

    Low value placed on excellence and high quality work deliverables Over reliance on consensus reaching Very slow to make process change Very heavy meeting culture

    College Board Response

    April 16, 2020Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the feedback and positive review about our elements of our culture and colleagues. One of our values is getting stuff done with a premium on quality and efficiency. In that spirit, we’re also always seeking ways to balance inclusive decision making with being nimble . -- Karl D'Souza

  9. "A great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Board full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    work life balance, technology, collegagues, opportunities to grow, culture

    Cons

    Just some old school management

    College Board Response

    February 7, 2020Head of Talent Acquisition

    We’re delighted you’re part of our team and able to enjoy the benefits, culture and great colleagues. We agree – College Board is a great place to work! -- Karl D'Souza

  10. "Best of the Major Testing Companies"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Assessment Specialist in New York, NY

    I have been working at College Board full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people here generally aren't crazy, which is way more than can be said for the culture at similar test development companies.

    Cons

    The work isn't the most exciting, but that's not the particular company's fault.

    College Board Response

    February 7, 2020Head of Talent Acquisition

    We know there are a lot of companies out there doing great work. We’re glad you made the choice to join our team as we work to provide more opportunities for students. -- Karl D'Souza

Found 331 reviews