College Chefs Chef Reviews | Glassdoor

College Chefs Chef Reviews

Updated Mar 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 73 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
College Chefs CEO Kevin Gadus
Kevin Gadus
57 Ratings
  1. "Love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chef in East Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have 34 years in the industry and I have worked the 80 - 120 work weeks ..not any more , I am working 40 - 45 hours a week , paid time off for thanksgiving and Christmas , I am able to use all my experience to bring creativity to the table , my boss is awesome always lending support , always willing to talk and help with any idea or problem . I am in a sorority house i have 50 girls , they are great individuals... and they make it all.worth while ,, yes I love my job !!!

    Show More

    Cons

    I don't have any cons of complaints

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing ! This company rocks !!!

    College Chefs2019-03-28
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great challenging place to grow as a individual team member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Chef in Corvallis, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Monday thru Friday for the most no earlier than 7a.m. and no later than 6.p.m. weekends off for the most part. 1week off paid for turkey day 4weeks off paid for Christmas 1 week for spring break and four to five 3 day weekends through the year. I was sold on this aspect alone. Oh and did I mention the summer off which college chefs does not deny unemployment for the summer. 2. Great leadership that is... knowledgeable, compassionate and has integrity no wishy washy bolognia. 3. No bosses leaning over your shoulder breathing down your neck with coffee breath. But plenty of support if needed upon request. All and all my experiences have been great with college chefs and the people we work with are great.

    Show More

    Cons

    1. The way we communicate is a bit challenging at first, but I got it done and became more tech sauce because of colleges chefs. 2. Can be quite challenging at times and the work load can be alot, but as chefs we rise to the occasion and it just makes you stronger. 3. Accepting the fact that you can't make every client happy.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing and come see us more.

    College Chefs2019-03-17
  3. "Good life work balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Chef in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    6 week paid vacation Menu freedom lots of creativity Upper management our chefs and our more of a coach then a boss

    Cons

    No work in the summer

    Advice to Management

    Could use a little more training for new chefs I would like to see more of the food competition next year with a small award for example maybe a 1 week budget increase for the top 5

    College Chefs2019-03-16
  4. "Fun Job, Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Chef in Lexington, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice Benefits, Paid Vacation, Creative Freedom

    Cons

    Being laid off all summer

    Advice to Management

    Incentives for meeting semester budget goals, winning contests, etc, etc, etc.

    College Chefs2019-03-16
  5. "Great Managers, Cool Food!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Chef in Moscow, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I'm treated like a respected professional, who knows what they're doing. I get to write my own menus and do my own ordering, all within a clearly stated budget. Can't go wrong w/ paid breaks during the school year, and we have actual usable benefits.

    Cons

    Summer lay-off can be a minor drag, but that is inherent in the business model. Unemployment for the seasonally laid off attached worker is an easy mitigation.

    Advice to Management

    As far as my own experience so far, just keep doing what you're doing, and don't try to fix things that aren't broken.

    College Chefs2019-03-16
  6. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Chef in Decatur, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been with College Chefs for right at 3 years. I love my job. I get to be creative and take suggestions from the house. Set schedule sun-thurs. Occasional later evening for an event. Paid winter break of over 4 weeks plus holidays and spring break

    Cons

    Unpaid summer break but job placement with summer camps is available

    Advice to Management

    Reward or incentive for maintaining budget

    College Chefs2019-03-15
  7. "You Can't beat The Vacation time!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Chef in Bloomington, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love working for this company, it has truely allowed me to be able to hone my passion and have a life. I love that I am my own real limiter and I can make my own decisions without being micromanaged. Small crew, Great hours, Great Pay, Gr Vacation time!

    Cons

    No summer placement, but they are upfront about this so it can be managed with proper finacial management.

    Advice to Management

    Keep working on communication, it is getting better than it was!

    College Chefs2019-03-15
  8. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sous Chef 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time

    Pros

    Couldn’t work with a better company or people. Great place to showcase skills as a cook and can’t be more proud of what I do and who I do it with.

    Cons

    If you can find one please let me know :)

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up guys! Thank you for all you do!

    College Chefs2019-03-12
  9. "Best Job I've Had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sous Chef in Gainesville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    We have creative freedom with menus (so I'm never bored with what we're making), a set Monday-Friday schedule, salary pay, and awesome coworkers and bosses. There is easy communication with management, and 5 weeks paid vacation throughout the school year. I love working for College Chefs and love the people we cook for.

    Cons

    No work/pay during the summer.

    College Chefs2019-03-12
  10. "This is my 4th year with College Chefs and I enjoy the hours/time off and creative freedom."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Chef in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, great for parents with small children because of weekends, holidays off and 9am-5pm (ish) work schedule. The menu you create changes weekly, keeping things interesting. 👍

    Cons

    This job may be difficult if you are not easily self motivated, and fail to plan ahead. The budget can be tight most weeks.

    College Chefs2019-03-15
Found 73 reviews