KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

College Chefs

Is this your company?

College Chefs

Add a Review

College Chefs Reviews

Updated Aug 19, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 171 of over 180 reviews

4.1
91%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
College Chefs Founder  Kevin Gadus
Kevin Gadus
122 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "there is alot of time off and i am given the freedome to write my own menus.(in 13 reviews)
  • "Pay is good.(in 10 reviews)
  • "As a head chef the schedule and creative freedom are amazing.(in 10 reviews)
  • "Great environment and management works hard to make sure people aren't over worked.(in 9 reviews)
  • "There used to be a good management team(in 8 reviews)
Cons
  • "Medical benefits could be better(in 6 reviews)
  • "working with the budget at first was very challenging as i feel like my house goes through a ton of milk. it has settled down recently and my supervisor has been helpful.(in 4 reviews)
  • "With that said though communication is key and delivery of an issue in a positive and professional way such as a messy kitchen can usually be resolved on the Chefs level.(in 4 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Quality of Life for a Chef

    Aug 19, 2022 - Chef in Bloomington, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love working here. It's great knowing how many people to cook for every day and that I have a very standard schedule that compares to bankers hours. I get to spend time with my family during evenings and weekends. I have free reign over the menus as long as I'm preparing familiar food with a focus on making everything in house. It's so much fun to have variety every day. The paid holidays throughout the school year are a huge bonus too.

    Cons

    It's tricky learning to write menus every week to a standardized budget, but once you learn how to craft the menu and build an order guide in the ordering system, it's really pretty straightforward. I also wish I could do this year round, since we only work when school is in session.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Independent to the extreme

    Jun 15, 2022 - Sous Chef 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Can experiment with food the way you want

    Cons

    You will receive very little help or instruction from higher up

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Place

    May 23, 2022 - Business Development Representative in Birmingham, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    work-life balance, benefits and atmosphere

    Cons

    Any job takes hard work to be successful.

    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Love my job

    May 24, 2022 - Regional Executive Chef 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Plenty of time off, offers work life balance. Awesome people in the company to work with.

    Cons

    While job is busy the tim off is more than worth it

    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Love every minute!

    May 25, 2022 - Special Event Coordinator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    After 20 years as a well traveled Chef and Pastry Chef I was hired as a Chef for a Small Sorority. It was a lot of fun, great time off, workable budget and complete freedom to cook whatever my house requested. Then covid hit- I enjoyed a little more time off than desired but was quick to return when asked to cover a few houses in surrounding states. My Regional Manager was great with communication and knew I loved paperwork and organizing as much as cooking and was quick to ask me to apply when a position opened up. I love my job, I have amazing management to work with and share ideas, and I am able to work with so many awesome and talented Chefs that inspire me to keep cooking and experimenting at home for friends and families.

    Cons

    While the pay is less then I used to make, or could make elsewhere, I have never regretted making the switch. I really enjoy not working crazy hours and multiple jobs and getting burned out with repetitiveness. The Management and Directors are top notch, they listen and are proactive- if you are proactive enough to share your problem.

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Caring leaders and great time off!

    May 21, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Holiday, spring and Christmas breaks! Great leaders!

    Cons

    Small business means we have to be creative with little

    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Awesome place to work

    May 24, 2022 - Head Chef 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of time off Monday-Friday and lots of creativity.

    Cons

    Sometimes hard to not repeat a dish on the menu

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Low wages, deceitful, liars

    May 20, 2022 - Sous Chef 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Paid time off, great concept, free meals

    Cons

    Low wages, liars, low budget, no fmla, high insurance, no possibility of overtime

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Sounds great but isn’t

    May 20, 2022 - Cooks Assistant in Corvallis, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pay is good and the job is fairly easy

    Cons

    They don’t care about you or your health at all

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Employee

    alright

    Apr 7, 2022 - Barback 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good people good show good places

    Cons

    lazy lazy lazy and lazy

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 171 Reviews

College Chefs Reviews FAQs

College Chefs has an overall rating of 4.1 out of 5, based on over 180 reviews left anonymously by employees. 91% of employees would recommend working at College Chefs to a friend and 79% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -5% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, College Chefs employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at College Chefs. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

91% of College Chefs employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated College Chefs 4.5 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.2 for culture and values and 4.1 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at College Chefs to be culture, management, benefits and the cons to be career development, senior leadership, compensation.

Popular Careers with College Chefs Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at College Chefs? Share Your Experiences

College Chefs logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

College Chefs Photos

+ Add Photo
College Chefs photo of: Avo Deviled Eggs
College Chefs photo of: Zeta Tau Alpha - Tennessee
College Chefs photo of: Alpha Xi Delta - Illinois
College Chefs photo of: Alpha Sigma Phi - Purdue
College Chefs photo of: Chef Mike
College Chefs photo of: Delta Zeta - South Carolina
College Chefs photo of: Chef Tim - Fiji - Mizzou
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

College Chefs Job Seekers Also Viewed

AJ's Fine Foods Logo
AJ's Fine Foods

3.3

77 Reviews
Compare