College Chefs Chef/Kitchen Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

College Chefs Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 124 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
College Chefs CEO Kevin Gadus
Kevin Gadus
93 Ratings
  1. "Love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chef in East Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have 34 years in the industry and I have worked the 80 - 120 work weeks ..not any more , I am working 40 - 45 hours a week , paid time off for thanksgiving and Christmas , I am able to use all my experience to bring creativity to the table , my boss is awesome always lending support , always willing to talk and help with any idea or problem . I am in a sorority house i have 50 girls , they are great individuals and they make it all.worth while ,, yes I love my job !!!

    Cons

    I don't have any cons of complaints

    Continue reading
    College Chefs2019-03-28
  2. "Horrible hours and management does nothing about racist house directors."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prep Cook/Dishwasher in Tallahassee, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at College Chefs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The compensation is okay and paid holidays are a plus.

    Cons

    Schedule was from 12-8pm, no off days whatsoever unless you’re sick or it’s a super emergency, house directors are allowed to harass and belittle you because as my supervisor told me “we are contracted by them”. If you are black or brown, I wouldn’t recommend this job to you.

    Continue reading
    College Chefs2019-08-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great challenging place to grow as a individual team member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Chef in Corvallis, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Monday thru Friday for the most no earlier than 7a.m. and no later than 6.p.m. weekends off for the most part. 1week off paid for turkey day 4weeks off paid for Christmas 1 week for spring break and four to five 3 day weekends through the year. I was sold on this aspect alone. Oh and did I mention the summer off which college chefs does not deny unemployment for the summer. 2. Great leadership that is knowledgeable, compassionate and has integrity no wishy washy bolognia. 3. No bosses leaning over your shoulder breathing down your neck with coffee breath. But plenty of support if needed upon request. All and all my experiences have been great with college chefs and the people we work with are great.

    Cons

    1. The way we communicate is a bit challenging at first, but I got it done and became more tech sauce because of colleges chefs. 2. Can be quite challenging at times and the work load can be alot, but as chefs we rise to the occasion and it just makes you stronger. 3. Accepting the fact that you can't make every client happy.

    Continue reading
    College Chefs2019-03-17
  4. "Best Culture Around!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, solid pay, management will make sure they put you in best position to succeed.

    Cons

    Some of the benefits could be improved.

    College Chefs2019-03-19
  5. "Great company to work for!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Full support from the management team, Cares a lot about their employees, A lot of vacation time, Great pay, Amazing culture the company has built, and they show their appreciation on a daily basis.

    Cons

    Health and Dental benefits could be better

    College Chefs2019-03-19
  6. "Good place to work if you enjoy being a chef and traveling for work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good management support staff Ability to travel for work Good pay Ability to work from home

    Cons

    Can be highly stressful throughout the year On call 24/7 Medical benefits could be better

    Continue reading
    College Chefs2019-03-19
  7. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Chef in Decatur, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been with College Chefs for right at 3 years. I love my job. I get to be creative and take suggestions from the house. Set schedule sun-thurs. Occasional later evening for an event. Paid winter break of over 4 weeks plus holidays and spring break

    Cons

    Unpaid summer break but job placement with summer camps is available

    Continue reading
    College Chefs2019-03-15
  8. "You Can't beat The Vacation time!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Chef in Bloomington, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love working for this company, it has truely allowed me to be able to hone my passion and have a life. I love that I am my own real limiter and I can make my own decisions without being micromanaged. Small crew, Great hours, Great Pay, Gr Vacation time!

    Cons

    No summer placement, but they are upfront about this so it can be managed with proper finacial management.

    Continue reading
    College Chefs2019-03-15
  9. "Good life work balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Chef in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    6 week paid vacation Menu freedom lots of creativity Upper management our chefs and our more of a coach then a boss

    Cons

    No work in the summer

    Continue reading
    College Chefs2019-03-16
  10. "Fun Job, Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Chef in Lexington, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice Benefits, Paid Vacation, Creative Freedom

    Cons

    Being laid off all summer

    Continue reading
    College Chefs2019-03-16
Found 124 reviews