College Chefs Chef/Kitchen Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

College Chefs Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 124 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
College Chefs CEO Kevin Gadus
Kevin Gadus
93 Ratings
  1. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Chef in Decatur, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been with College Chefs for right at 3 years. I love my job. I get to be creative and take suggestions from the house. Set schedule sun-thurs. Occasional later evening for an event. Paid winter break of over 4 weeks plus holidays and spring break

    Cons

    Unpaid summer break but job placement with summer camps is available

    Advice to Management

    Reward or incentive for maintaining budget

    College Chefs2019-03-15
  2. "You Can't beat The Vacation time!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Chef in Bloomington, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love working for this company, it has truely allowed me to be able to hone my passion and have a life. I love that I am my own real limiter and I can make my own decisions without being micromanaged. Small crew, Great hours, Great Pay, Gr Vacation time!

    Cons

    No summer placement, but they are upfront about this so it can be managed with proper finacial management.

    Advice to Management

    Keep working on communication, it is getting better than it was!

    College Chefs2019-03-15
  3. "Best Company I Have Worked For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Director in Gilbert, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Freedom, lots of Travel, favorable work hours and days, work from home, excellent support, excellent growth opportunities

    Cons

    The hours can be long and you are always on call.

    Advice to Management

    Be prepared to work hard and long and to always be on call, but its completely worth it.

    College Chefs2019-03-12
  4. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sous Chef 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time

    Pros

    Couldn’t work with a better company or people. Great place to showcase skills as a cook and can’t be more proud of what I do and who I do it with.

    Cons

    If you can find one please let me know :)

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up guys! Thank you for all you do!

    College Chefs2019-03-12
  5. "Best Job I've Had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sous Chef in Gainesville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    We have creative freedom with menus (so I'm never bored with what we're making), a set Monday-Friday schedule, salary pay, and awesome coworkers and bosses. There is easy communication with management, and 5 weeks paid vacation throughout the school year. I love working for College Chefs and love the people we cook for.

    Cons

    No work/pay during the summer.

    College Chefs2019-03-12
  6. "This is my 4th year with College Chefs and I enjoy the hours/time off and creative freedom."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Chef in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, great for parents with small children because of weekends, holidays off and 9am-5pm (ish) work schedule. The menu you create changes weekly, keeping things interesting. 👍

    Cons

    This job may be difficult if you are not easily self motivated, and fail to plan ahead. The budget can be tight most weeks.

    College Chefs2019-03-15
  7. "Horrible bosses"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Chef in Lincoln, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at College Chefs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Technically no weekends or evenings

    Cons

    No support, treated like crap by greek house, expect way more than any person could give, have to qork in your 'off' time

    Advice to Management

    Completely change everything you've done

    College Chefs2019-03-06
  8. "Seems to be alright people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at College Chefs full-time

    Pros

    Hours and work schedule, summers off , Christmas breaks and holidays off

    Cons

    Summer's off pay could be a little bit better you are definitely going to struggle paying your bills with this company.

    College Chefs2018-08-02
  9. "Best job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Assistant in Tuscaloosa, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at College Chefs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Holidays off with pay Great environment Great for learning new skills Work life balance is amazing

    Cons

    The Summer off without pay.

    Advice to Management

    Area Manager: Start having meetings with your ENTIRE staff occasionally. Male sure employees know what is expected of them

    College Chefs2018-04-05
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Very Chill Job for food service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chef in West Lafayette, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you like cooking you will like this job but it doesn't come with all of the craziness of a restaurant. As a relatively young chef with about 10 years in restaurants this job is a breeze. Plus the students are cool and enjoyable to work for.

    Cons

    The students sometimes will leave the kitchen and dining space less than desirable and it's hard for me as a chef to ignore some of their cleaning problems.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing other than would like a better summer options.

    College Chefs2017-12-14
Found 124 reviews