College Chefs Chef/Kitchen Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

College Chefs Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 124 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
College Chefs CEO Kevin Gadus
Kevin Gadus
93 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Chef"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Chef in Lincoln, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at College Chefs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to make your own menu- but only if the greek house you work for has any type of pallet, and only if your Area manager approves it. Mostly you'll be making burgers and chicken strips and fries

    Cons

    The only reason they're getting 1 star from me is that you can't give them a 0 star rating. No support from management at all and when you come to them for help, you'll only get yelled at for everything you're apparently doing wrong. On the upside you get to clean up after a bunch of ungrateful kids that trash the kitchen every night. And when you finally get tired of it, they fire you a week before Christmas. The... Healthcare is a joke, it says it meets requirements but just try using it. Turnover is ridiculously high. In the two semesters I work for them there were 7 people who were fired or quit. They parade around this 'quality of life' motto but never deliver on it. You have to come in on days off for mandatory orders and spend hours out of your weekend typing in menus and orders. You aren't allowed to get any equipment, not so much as a serving bowl unless you can pay for it yourself and eventually get reimbursed. One admin will tell you to go ahead and get what you need and the next one will chew you out for buying anything. They will flat out lie to your face! They told me that the fraternity hated my food, hated me, wanted me out as a reason to demote me to sous chef and when I asked the frat they had no idea what I was talking about. If you value your sanity don't work for them.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Grow a heart, support your staff,

    College Chefs2017-12-18
  2. "Great, growing Company with Good People & Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at College Chefs full-time

    Pros

    Culture is great, very open & able to contribute ideas up the chain of command. Decent Pay and hours.

    Cons

    Not much training...work independently (which is good and bad)

    College Chefs2017-10-18
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs

    Pros

    Great schedule and opportunity for creativity. Lots of pto on the school breaks! Wonderful management team and great support!

    Cons

    No summer work so finding something for summers can be challenging. However the do help with job placement for those who can do the type of jobs they can get you

    College Chefs2017-07-05
  5. "Great for chefs who are creative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Chef 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    house I work for is fantastic in that they all treat me so well. The food I do for them is wonderful and this job definitely challenges you to be creative and impress your students by keeping it fresh and changing it up. I feel that I have been able to learn a lot on this just from trying new things that I would probably never be able to try in a restaurant kitchen.

    Cons

    it is no secret that the summer off can be a down if you cannot find summer employment. For me I had that covered. Personally think the paid vacation more than makes up for it.

    Advice to Management

    offer employees an allowance to further their education in the food world. bonus out chefs for staying on budget. give managers more leeway

    College Chefs2017-05-28
  6. "Best Fraternity and Sorority Foodservice Around"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time

    Pros

    Creative Freedom, Upward Advancement, Awesome Team Members, Supportive Management Staff, Quality of Life, Cooking Awesome Food

    Cons

    Summers off, which is a great thing but chefs don't get paid during the summer since there's no one to cook for.

    Advice to Management

    More communication between upper management and the people on the ground level, in houses making the food for the houses.

    College Chefs2017-05-26
  7. "This is a great company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Champaign, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Time off outside of work -Be part of a winning team -There are a lot of other companies in this business and it's not even close that College Chefs is the best -They survey their employees multiple times per year

    Cons

    -The health insurance, although it's inexpensive, isn't a name brand. If you elect for the major medical options, the coverage is quite good there are just some extra hoops to jump through

    Advice to Management

    -Continue to focus on making this a dream company for chefs and the rest of the business will follow to greatness.

    College Chefs2017-05-16
  8. "great first year for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time

    Pros

    freedom to cook what i want as a chef is easilly the best part of this job plus i love food done correctly

    Cons

    there is a lot to keep with having to write new menus

    College Chefs2017-04-26
  9. "definitely recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chef 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    time off ability to be creative relaxed environment good pay

    Cons

    they stay on you for sure but my boss was cool sometimes lonely working on own

    Advice to Management

    thanks for help finding summer camp work thats big help would like different hat options

    College Chefs2017-03-22
  10. "It's a great environment to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chef 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Ability to interact directly with the people you feed daily; Writing menus that make sense for your house; Support from above; Large corporate perks and feel with a more intimate working environment.

    Cons

    Vendors (US Foods), lack of direct (face to face) contact with your manager, budget restrictions

    Advice to Management

    Offer more choices for vendors, maybe do or set up a video conference once a quarter

    College Chefs2017-03-09
  11. "Wonderful work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Chef in Bloomington, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Creative freedom with menus. Excellent support from management and you actually have a life.

    Cons

    Not sure. I don't have any.

    Advice to Management

    Keep supporting your team, especially those that are dedicated.

    College Chefs2017-03-05
Found 124 reviews