College Chefs Reviews | Glassdoor

College Chefs Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 124 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
College Chefs CEO Kevin Gadus
Kevin Gadus
93 Ratings
  1. "fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time

    Pros

    great job that i love. happiest ever

    Cons

    not a huge fan of the uniform

    College Chefs2017-02-25
  2. "Love my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chef in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Challenging job but very laid back and FUN!!!

    Cons

    Some downsides include not having guaranteed summer work but they provide a website where can apply for summer jobs.

    College Chefs2017-02-24
  3. "Chef"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chef in Decatur, IL

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hours are great. Flexible with creating the menus.

    Cons

    Being laid off for the summer.

    College Chefs2017-03-05
  4. "Head Chef"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Chef in Tallahassee, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun work atmosphere, for a creative person and I get to spend the summer with my family. Love this job

    Cons

    Summer time if you can't find employment

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing a great job at helping us cause I love my job

    College Chefs2017-03-05
  5. Helpful (5)

    "These Guys are total frauds!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chef in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at College Chefs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are none. Not even one that I can think of. They are a fraudulent, dishonest, liars. Do not be fooled by their fancy company Chef Placement Services, either. It's the same group of frauds. Same Owner, same "good ole boys" running both companies.

    Cons

    This company preys on unassuming college students with high pressre sales pitches to con kids out of hundreds of thousands of dollars. While employed by College Chefs, they encouraged the Chefs to write good reviews on this site. Wouldn't you if your job depended on it? They gave me $1200 a week to feed 80 guys 6 days a week. Only to find out that they were charging the house over $180,000 a year for food... service. After factoring out my salary and the weekly food budget, where did the other $90,000 a year go? Straight to the Owners pocket, that is where. They tie their employees hands with no budget or means to do the job correctly. In turn, the students hate the Chef because we don't have any money in the budget to provide them what they were promised by a commissioned sales team.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop defrauding college kids and professional chefs and putting us into crappy situations. The Chefs aren't happy and the Fraternity I worked for hated the company.

    College Chefs2017-03-03
  6. "Agree with other reviews. Great gig. Almost perfect."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chef in Bloomington, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time

    Pros

    If you love to cook and have fun doing it this job will mostly not feel like work after you get the hang of the administrative stuff. If your not super in love with food I would shy away as management stays on you to be creative.

    Cons

    Summer is an issue but the holidays off make up for it during school. Creating new menus each week can be taxing but it's still more fun than anything.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing as I love this job. Find chefs that love to cook and this job would be a cake walk.

    College Chefs2017-01-18
  7. "interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Selector 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs

    Pros

    great interview process, low work week, creativity

    Cons

    summers could be difficult off, company trying to help

    College Chefs2017-01-19
  8. "The Unicorn of Food Service Jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Head Chef in Gainesville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs

    Pros

    College Chefs offers qualified chefs the ability to run their own kitchen, use creativity in planning menus while providing the best work/life balance I have ever been afforded in my 18+ years working in the culinary industry. Management is very accessible while allowing employees a true sense of freedom and autonomy. It's like a unicorn, mythical and glorious...except this job is real!

    Cons

    I have yet to find a real con with this job. It is hard work but very rewarding. I suppose budget restrictions can be a challenge but it's totally doable.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up! If you maintain the sense of work family and care for your employees as the business grows you'll only reach new heights. I love my job.

    College Chefs2016-12-21
  9. "Great Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Chef in Bloomington, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been working in the foodservice industry for over 20 years, and College Chefs offers a lifestyle that is almost impossible to find in this line of work. I work daytime hours Monday-Friday, and even on the rare occasion that I have to close, I'm still home by 7:00. The PTO during the school year is fantastic (5-6 weeks at this school), and while the insurance coverage isn't the best I've had, it's adequate and... available, and it carries over into the summer. I make my own menus, I do my own ordering, and as long as the guys in the house are happy and I stay within my budget, I get to keep on doing what I love to do, which is cook delicious food for hungry, appreciative people. My boss is great, too, and is always available when any issues arise, or when I just need some advice.

    Show More

    Cons

    Having to find summer employment could be a problem, but luckily I have some connections in my town, so it hasn't been an issue for me thus far.

    College Chefs2016-12-17
  10. "Love this job & company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Laid back culture makes a person want to go to work everyday Coworkers are genuinely nice people who want to help you succeed

    Cons

    Cost of health insurance if enrolling more than just yourself

    College Chefs2016-12-17
Found 124 reviews