College Works Painting Reviews

Updated Mar 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
68%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
College Works Painting Co-CEOs Jeff Gunhus, Spencer Pepe, Jason Reid, Matthew Stewart (no image)
Jeff Gunhus, Spencer Pepe, Jason Reid, Matthew Stewart
236 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Flexibility and Fun"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Works Painting full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    #1 Career Development and #6 Overall Internship in the Country by Vault Reviews. I love the company culture and enjoy working with college students

    Cons

    It's a lot of work but I love what I do.

    College Works Painting2019-11-06
  2. "Amazing company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Safety Manager in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at College Works Painting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Gives you the opportunity to grow and learn

    Cons

    Long hours and average pay

    College Works Painting2020-03-12
  3. "Decent"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at College Works Painting part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours, friendly environment with small teams

    Cons

    Door to door sales, lack of training

    College Works Painting2020-03-04
  4. "Lots of work but you’ll be glad you did it"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Manager in College Park, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at College Works Painting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Real world experience Jump start career High earning potential Feeling of accomplishment Great way to get reference letters for future use

    Cons

    Long hours and generally not fun Weekend work Gotta work a lot to rise to the top

    Continue reading
    College Works Painting2020-02-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible management in new york"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Jersey City, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at College Works Painting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learn how terrible management can really be. Learn how to succeed on your own

    Cons

    poor management, don't get compensated at at all for the amount of work you put in. Instead the manager would just buy alcohol for college freshmen to over shadow the poor environment

    College Works Painting2020-03-04
  6. "Unforgettable experience"

    4.0
    Current Employee - District Manager 

    I have been working at College Works Painting part-time

    Pros

    Hard work pays off Create unbelievable relationships with the other interns Learn a lot of applicable skills Can't learn these skills in another internship

    Cons

    Lots of hours Pay off isn't until the very end

    College Works Painting2020-01-14
  7. "Terrible"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at College Works Painting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros to this job

    Cons

    A scheme to take advantage of college students

    College Works Painting2020-02-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "scam artists that fail to pay employees, overcharge and lie"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Painter in Fort Collins, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at College Works Painting full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros to this company. would choose any other painting service

    Cons

    They lied to multiple customers about having professional painters even though our "professionalism" summed up to a one day class without actually painting a house. They failed on multiple occasions to provide the proper equipment while also failing to pay their employees the full amount for the hours worked. Their reasons for this was "we just have not been paid by the customers fully yet". After having to end my employment there due to working other part time jobs just to pay rent the company failed to pay me for 50 hours of work. After providing time sheets proving the failed payment I received a check for 32 and nothing after. I served in the marines for 4 years as well as my team member we worked hard and provided quality work for what we were given. We both have been tested mentally and physically. The lack of leadership and mindset of quantity of work over quality is the reason I left.

    Continue reading
    College Works Painting2019-12-30
  9. "Scam"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crew Chief in Fort Collins, CO

    I worked at College Works Painting full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You can show up whenever you want and won’t get fired. In other words it’s a very easy job to maintain.

    Cons

    You will get scammed out of hard earned money

    Continue reading
    College Works Painting2019-12-05
  10. "Great experience, horrible management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at College Works Painting full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    fun challenging rewarding great resume booster Great experience with DM

    Cons

    management pay communication main office is horrible payroll Friday is a waste of time

    Continue reading
    College Works Painting2019-12-04
Found 467 reviews