College Works Painting Reviews

Updated May 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
71%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
College Works Painting Co-CEOs Jeff Gunhus, Spencer Pepe, Jason Reid, Matthew Stewart (no image)
Jeff Gunhus, Spencer Pepe, Jason Reid, Matthew Stewart
266 Ratings
Pros
  • "Learn a lot about sales and running a business(in 51 reviews)

  • "Was responsible for the sales/marketing/management role of a small business(in 40 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Door to door sales, lack of training(in 60 reviews)

  • "As you have seen in other reviews you knock on doors and work long hours(in 45 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      CWP Review

      Feb 26, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great group of people and pay

      Cons

      Cant think of any now

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Tough Sell

      Mar 24, 2021 - Sales Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Although I believe this company to be largely a scam, I did learn a lot from the experience and it made doing other sales seem a lot easier.

      Cons

      No matter how hard they try to cover it up, it's a pyramid scheme. They will push a very sticked sales process to you that is long and over-detailed for potential customers. The paint jobs are very overpriced even if they are of good quality. The people that end of buying from you, do so because they have you portray, and play off, the image of a struggling college student. Although I did have success in selling jobs, I was unable to justify how much work had to go into closing one deal. The first 4 months will be done with virtually no pay. You may get a check, but it has to go directly to the company until the job is completed. Even then, you are making small margins on the total sale. I spent countless dollars on gas driving around to neighborhoods. I felt looked down upon if I prioritized school over work. We had an ice storm and I was given a hard time for not going out and knocking on doors. Then told to stop slacking by upper management, even after having the highest lead collection in my area. Also, If you are someone who can juggle a tough school schedule on top of calling and knocking on as many doors as you can, good for you; Otherwise, you will find yourself very overwhelmed with the workload.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good

      May 4, 2021 - Marketer in Carmel, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great setup and great objectives

      Cons

      a bit unorganized yet run by college students so not bad

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good experience to talk about, questionable if it was worth it.

      Mar 3, 2021 - Branch Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is definitely a resume builder and really helps you develop valuable career skills. Very hands on experience.

      Cons

      A lot of work and not a lot of pay. Do not expect to make a lot of money and expect this internship to consume your days. I liked the sales and marketing aspect of the internship but when it came to producing houses it was a disaster. I was under the impression that professional painters would be doing the actual project production, not me and random people with no experience. The training was SO limited and they really send you out with tools and one day of painting training and expect you to paint a whole house. At this point, the internship was no longer worth the stress of painting a huge project so I left. I felt like I was lying to my clients who expected professional work and in reality no one knew what they were really doing.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Hardest Job I Ever Had But So Rewarding

      Apr 19, 2021 - District Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is the opportunity to develop your skills and confidence and meet like minded hard working people at a young age

      Cons

      pay could be better, requires a lot of you to see success.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      N/A

      May 5, 2021 - Regional Sales Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You can make your own hours

      Cons

      Low pay, no base pay

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Know what you're getting into

      Aug 10, 2020 - Branch Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This job is NOT for everybody. I would advise anybody interested to throw their perception of an "internship", out the window. - The #1 factor for success is how devoted you can become to your business, because that's what it is; YOUR BUSINESS. - Advanced sales, marketing, client & employee management training - Amazing networking opportunities - Develop highly effective habits for success

      Cons

      - Business leaders get paid last, - you're almost working for free during the learning phase, but if you make it past your curve you make $800-2,000 per week during the Summer. - Intense interpersonal growth - This is a two pronged point, the program works you to your core and you will likely work more hours than you have in your entire life. Bad marketing/sales/production weeks can make you feel like you're failing the program, but work through the failures and you will learn invaluable lessons. - KNOW WHAT YOU ARE GETTING INTO: 20 hours a week during school (Trainings, Marketing, Sales) 40 hours a week BARE MINIMUM during summer. Your employees work 8 hours a day Mon-Fri, you have to be there to manage them. Meaning if you want to book any more work and experience exponential growth during the summer months you have to put in more time. Managers who work 60-100 hours a week during the summer have seen sales from $100,000+ in which they can take home $18,000+

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good

      Mar 10, 2021 - Painter in Manteca, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Lots of experience - Learning opportunities - Flexible Hours

      Cons

      -Inconsistent hours - Poor communication - Unplanned manual labor

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Had a great time!

      Jan 28, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great experience if you are interested in a challenge and extremely growth oriented internship. I was asked by my former recruiter (who I was spoke to prior to accepting an offer) and he put it perfectly: If you want experience in sales, marketing, management, and to grow skills in so many other realms, this internship is for you.

      Cons

      My experience was difficult, but it was the best.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good income but unprofessionally managed

      Apr 14, 2021 - Painter in Wichita, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They never run out of jobs

      Cons

      Managers are not very experienced and lack professional social skills

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 520 Reviews

    Popular Careers with College Works Painting Job Seekers

    Intern
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at College Works Painting? Share Your Experiences

    College Works Painting logo
    or