College of Charleston Reviews | Glassdoor

College of Charleston Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 108 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
College of Charleston CEO Andrew Hsu
Andrew Hsu
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "flexible, great hours, beautiful campus, great co-workers, departmental managers are great(in 12 reviews)

  • "There is a very nice work environment and most people are passionate about their jobs(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay, medical benefits are not that great, administration doesn't listen to concerns or ideas from staff, no room for advancement(in 5 reviews)

  • "People who don't do their job get to keep it, not much room for growth(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at College of Charleston full-time

    Pros

    Great location to work in.

    Cons

    Not a lot of work.

    College of Charleston2019-04-04
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College of Charleston full-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours, great people, beautiful campus, good managers.

    Cons

    Pay can be low, state benefits aren't amazing.

    College of Charleston2019-06-10
  3. "Good student work environment, learned a lot about hardware and was surrounded by engaging colleagues."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AV Classroom Support in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College of Charleston part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Chose own hours, friendly staff

    Cons

    Needs better funding, better storage facilities.

    Advice to Management

    Put a bit more money into IT, you'll be glad you did.

    College of Charleston2019-06-12
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at College of Charleston full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people and family atmosphere

    Cons

    Long hours and limited resources

    College of Charleston2019-05-16
  5. "Some Good Things/Some Institutional Challenges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at College of Charleston full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Location is great. - Beautiful Campus - Some dedicated staff and faculty

    Cons

    - Mediocrity is rewarded - Racism (subtle and institutional) - Low salary

    College of Charleston2019-04-10
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Charleston, SC
    Recommends

    I have been working at College of Charleston full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, great work environment, love my job

    Cons

    I have no complaints. I love my job.

    College of Charleston2019-03-21
  7. "Good Starting Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at College of Charleston part-time

      Pros

      Good starting job to help build a resume

      Cons

      Sometimes there was not much work to do

      College of Charleston2019-02-28
    • "Great to Employees"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Teacher Assistant 

        I have been working at College of Charleston part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Flexible Hours, good instruction for new assitants

        Cons

        Pay is low but increased recently I believe

        College of Charleston2019-02-20
      • Helpful (1)

        "Loved working at the Career Center, great group of people"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Student Employee At Career Center 

        I worked at College of Charleston part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great Director at the Career Center, good work culture and ethic, reasonable pay for a student worker

        Cons

        None that I can think of

        College of Charleston2019-02-14
      • "You have to like your job to work here"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charleston, SC
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook

        I have been working at College of Charleston full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Students, Grounds, Staff and Faculty, Bus

        Cons

        Pay is low, does not keep up with cost of living. Increases often in the form of 1-time bonuses. Money goes into programming benefitting few. Limited work schedule flexibility.

        Advice to Management

        Advocate for higher pay for your employees. Look at programs in relation to actual students benefitting vs. cost of programs and find more funding for salaries. Offer more flexibility and 4 day work week or half day Fridays. More on-line programming.

        College of Charleston2019-02-25
      Found 108 reviews