College of DuPage Reviews | Glassdoor

College of DuPage Reviews

Updated Jul 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 102 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Dr. Ann Rondeau
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "The College of DuPage offers a friendly, respectful work environment for full and part-time employees(in 7 reviews)

  • "Good advancement opportunities and friendly staff and faculty and students(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Adjunct faculty salaries are low everywhere compared to full time faculty salaries(in 13 reviews)

  • "Can only work part time as a student(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Clerical Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Worker 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at College of DuPage part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great community of people. Extremely flexible on my schedule, and worked around my classes.

    Cons

    Some of the students were unpleasent

    College of DuPage2019-05-24
  2. "Arbitrary changes, pay policy violation, and clueless management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Support Staff in Glen Ellyn, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at College of DuPage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you have kids who are college age, want to further your education, or learn some new skills, you get tuition at 2/3 off the in-district rate.

    Cons

    Senior management has been making changes over the last two years; however, the changes don't make sense to employees on the front line, because there is no communication about what is happening, nor is there transparency. Jobs are being changed, but the people whose jobs are changing aren't getting any details. The start dates of the new positions keep jumping around the calendar and changing. Promises are not kept,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Figure out what needs to be changed before making arbitrary changes. Hold HR accountable for allowing employees to come in at the top of the pay range, violating your own pay policy for support staff, learn what people do before you start rewriting job descriptions, and stop making promises to employees that you have no intention of keeping. You are going to lose a lot of valuable employees if you continue this way,...

    Show More
    College of DuPage2019-07-04
  3. "Slow and unorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Specialist in Glen Ellyn, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at College of DuPage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friday's off in the summer Pays well

    Cons

    Higher ups get paid a lot to do nothing. My boss is so young and she cannot make a difference in our department. I can't believe they hired her for her position when all our faculty are upset.

    Advice to Management

    HR is super slow.... Get on top of them. Pick qualified candidates to run your departments! Some departments are desperate for help and then they pick a candidate who cannot bring any change or take on a challenge. Stop hiring due to skin color.

    College of DuPage2019-06-26
  4. "Friendly Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Glen Ellyn, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at College of DuPage part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Business Casual -Friendly Staff -Good pay -Good 401k plans with paid christmas for part-time

    Cons

    -Multi-departmental miscommunication -Not much room for growth

    College of DuPage2019-02-21
  5. "Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Student 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at College of DuPage part-time

    Pros

    Close to home and affordable

    Cons

    Lucky to get a schedule to fit your personal work schedule. Professors sub par

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    College of DuPage2019-02-07
  6. "Excellent Institution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct Faculty in Glen Ellyn, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at College of DuPage part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Follows state guidelines Positive work atmosphere Great education opportunities

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind

    Advice to Management

    None

    College of DuPage2019-01-22
  7. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at College of DuPage

    Pros

    Flexibility, understanding, good people.

    Cons

    My department is open on the weekends. The schedule is almost too flexible, and it feels like I never know when I'm working.

    College of DuPage2018-12-13
  8. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at College of DuPage full-time

    Pros

    I’ve always felt supported by my colleagues. Good compensation.

    Cons

    Lots of recent turn over in the president, deans, and associate deans. Issues with consistency.

    College of DuPage2018-12-03
  9. "IT Lab Aid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Lab Aide in Glen Ellyn, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at College of DuPage part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people, great work culture.

    Cons

    There were no cons at all.

    College of DuPage2018-10-30
  10. "Peer Tutor Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at College of DuPage part-time

    Pros

    Flexible, fulfilling, interesting, and fun.

    Cons

    Can be stressful, may require you to work outside of payed hours.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing a great job.

    College of DuPage2018-10-18
Found 102 reviews