College of Saint Rose Reviews | Glassdoor

College of Saint Rose Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
24%
Approve of CEO
College of Saint Rose CEO Carolyn J. Stefanco
Carolyn J. Stefanco
3 Ratings
  1. "student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at College of Saint Rose full-time

      Pros

      diverse, fun, happy, vibrant, small

      Cons

      expensive, city life, need better dining, more parking

      College of Saint Rose2017-06-15
    • "Full Time"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at College of Saint Rose full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Time off Decent benefits Nice campus Campus events ???

      Cons

      Poor hiring process takes 4+ weeks Human Resources could use training/organization and in need of professionalism. Pay (most employees at or close to minimum wage) College runs skeleton crews in offices and facilities alike. No raises for 5 years, only to meet minimum wage. Not somewhere you can make a career, in any field. Promotes the hiring of managers/supervisors friend's, instead of qualified applicants.

      Advice to Management

      The problem starts in HR and trickles down. Supervisors are unnecessary, too many managers sitting around. Most departments have many managers/supervisors but no head manager . Managers/supervisors are out of control.

      College of Saint Rose2018-07-17
    • "Great place to learn"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at College of Saint Rose full-time

      Pros

      -Many opportunities to learn -Great location

      Cons

      -Below average salary -Offices frequently understaffed

      Advice to Management

      More competitive wages

      College of Saint Rose2018-05-30
    • Helpful (2)

      "Has its perks, but many downsides"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Coordinator 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at College of Saint Rose full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Time off is good Healthcare is average cost and good coverage Parking is good

      Cons

      President needs to go HR needs a lesson in professionalism Faculty and staff are leaving en masse Student admission and retention is down

      Advice to Management

      When so many people are unhappy with the way things are going, you need to listen.

      College of Saint Rose2018-02-06
    • "Student Caller Knightwire"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Student Caller in Albany, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at College of Saint Rose for more than a year

      Pros

      There were flexible hours for students.

      Cons

      The program got cut and then brought back

      College of Saint Rose2017-09-20
    • Helpful (1)

      "Materials and Supply Specialist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at College of Saint Rose full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Time off benefits, health care benefits and some really great people to work with.

      Cons

      You will never get a raise. If you are not hired as management, you will never be considered for a managerial position regardless if you are qualified or not. All maintenance staff are union employees, Management staff finds it easier to yell at office staff about things than to confront a union employee because they are afraid of the backlash from the union. All in all, if you are looking for an easy job, that comes...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Utilize your employees knowledge and skill set rather than side with building maintenance workers so they have an excuse to be lazy and not follow established protocols.

      College of Saint Rose2017-08-30
    • Helpful (2)

      "Unpleasant Working Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Administrative Profes in Albany, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at College of Saint Rose full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Decent pay, good benefits, some staff are friendly

      Cons

      Working for the Institutional Advancement was a disaster for me. I wasn't qualified for the role I was hired for and was treated horribly by upper management for not having amazing fundraising ideas right off the bat. Training and support was promised during the interview process and none was given.

      Advice to Management

      REALLY consider who you are hiring and what experience they have. Do not promise to train someone if you don't have the time or desire to. Consider a person's feeling and realize they are more than just a body in a chair.

      College of Saint Rose2017-09-14
    • "Culture Challenges"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at College of Saint Rose full-time

      Pros

      Some high level administrators really love the school and are committed to improving the experience for employees and students alike. There is some school spirit, parking is pretty cheap (compared to other institutions), and it is hopefully going in a better direction than when I was there. Also, if you bring a reusable cup to the on-campus Starbucks, you will get (at least when I was there) $1 off your coffee.

      Cons

      Some lower level administrators have no interest in professional development or support, no real opportunities for growth

      Advice to Management

      The organization is getting way too top-heavy - how about not as many vice president roles?

      College of Saint Rose2017-05-01
    • "I like my employer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at College of Saint Rose part-time

        Pros

        amazing and positive environment, great support and people.

        Cons

        sometimes feels like low pay

        College of Saint Rose2017-03-27
      • "graduate assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook

        I have been working at College of Saint Rose full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        great supervisor and friendly environtment.

        Cons

        nothing to say cons about the position.

        College of Saint Rose2017-02-21
      Found 44 reviews