CollegeAmerica Reviews | Glassdoor

CollegeAmerica Reviews

Updated Jul 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Eric Juhlin
4 Ratings
  1. "Great company, underfunded"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Director in Saint George, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CollegeAmerica full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great vision, work teams are very knowledgeable, excellent communications, all around fantastic place to work.

    Cons

    None that I know of.

    Advice to Management

    Raise more money.

    CollegeAmerica2019-04-15
  2. "Disorganized Institution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CFA - Central Financial Aid Officer in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CollegeAmerica full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There were really no pro's working for the company.

    Cons

    Training was sub par, never had on going education/conferences to get us updated on new federal regulations. Institution was only worried about enrollment and hitting financial goals instead of advising students on proper financial aid. Management was very unprofessional and disorganized. There was not room for growth at all within the company. Office ended up closing and all officers were let go due to the poor management...

    Show More
    CollegeAmerica2019-07-10
  3. "Mixed Feelings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CollegeAmerica full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people at the local level. Flexible schedule. It's very rewarding to work with students who are striving to improve themselves.

    Cons

    Poor corporate support for education over making a profit. Little chance for raises, even for merit. Ethical issues at the corporate level due to for profit structure. School charges far too much for a barely accredited program with credits that will not transfer to other colleges. Eventually, one gets tired of helping to promote this sort of scheme.

    Advice to Management

    Make education, not profits a priority. Pay instructors commensurate with what admissions consultants are earning. Reduce tuition to students. Listen to instructors on curriculum. Make regional accreditation a priority. Be honest with the students when they come in for information on the school.

    CollegeAmerica2019-02-04
  4. Helpful (2)

    "director education alliances"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director Education Alliances in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CollegeAmerica full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The most innovative position I have had in 20 years. You can be your own motivator to enhance adult education. They are so open to new ideas.

    Cons

    NONE that I ever experienced.

    CollegeAmerica2018-10-30
  5. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Professor in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at CollegeAmerica full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    My Dean of Education was always very affirming while pushing me toward professional growth. All the Deans were helpful, encouraging, and supportive. Student success is a priority with all the current faculty and academic staff. Instructors have a fair amount of autonomy to be creative with curriculum. Teaching here allowed me the opportunity to make a difference in the world. The demographic makeup of the student...

    Show More

    Cons

    I often got the feeling that the Admissions Department played the numbers game too much. CollegeAmerica has a public image problem. They need to pour a lot of money into getting that fixed!

    Advice to Management

    Fix CollegeAmerica's public image. It's going to cost a lot more than you want to spend, but it needs to be done!

    CollegeAmerica2017-10-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "An Employer & School that cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Assurance Analyst in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CollegeAmerica full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Helping potential students to reach their goals. School is non-profit, with amazing benefits; flexible schedule, tutoring, Instructors, refresher courses, just to name a few. Accredited with the ACCSC-Nationally recognized. Financial Aid team helps students complete their FAFSA. Managers & supervisors, People helping people, opportunities to learn and grow, team work.

    Cons

    I really can't think of any cons. The office parking is crowded.

    Advice to Management

    Take time and get to know what different departments do. Right down to the low man on the totem pole.

    CollegeAmerica2017-03-02
  7. "Federal work-study"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at CollegeAmerica part-time

    Pros

    Learned different ways to file paperwork.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons for this job.

    CollegeAmerica2017-02-28
  8. "Not great, not Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at CollegeAmerica part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Some great people at the local level.

    Cons

    Poor leadership decisions at the top.

    CollegeAmerica2017-02-02
  9. Helpful (2)

    "How much is your soul worth?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Educational Leadership in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at CollegeAmerica

    Pros

    Decent salary Excellent teachers Average benefits Teachers and career officers who keep the objective in mind

    Cons

    Knowing you're actively participating in the fleecing of students out of title 9 funding for a company that was able to recently list as non-profit, but which the US Department of Education refuses to recognize. Know anywhere else that charges 43K for an associates degree that will, at the max, earn 15 dollars an hour?

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your teachers. Reduce tuition. Become regionally accredited because your current national accreditation is almost completely useless to the students.

    CollegeAmerica2016-12-21
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructor- Medical Specialties/Administrative Education Assistant in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CollegeAmerica full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Students Team Work Loyalty Growth Family environment I have been with CollegeAmerica as an Instructor for 2 years and on staff for 1. Like any position you can hate it or love it. When you do not look for the positive in life you will get the negative. CollegeAmerica has some of the best Instructors that put their heart into teaching, the management is on point with the needs of the whole staff.

    Cons

    Long hours - this happens at most jobs!

    Advice to Management

    Keep reaching for the stars because you rock! I thank you for all you do and continue to do for the students, staff and faculty.

    CollegeAmerica2016-07-03
Found 31 reviews