Collin County Community College Reviews | Glassdoor

Collin County Community College Reviews

Updated Sep 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 82 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Collin County Community College CEO Cary A. Israel (no image)
Cary A. Israel
34 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible schedule, was able to study on downtime(in 7 reviews)

  • "The Board, President, and VP's of the college truly have the best interest of the students, faculty and staff in mind(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Hard to land full-time teaching positions(in 8 reviews)

  • "Only part-time positions available(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Collin County Community College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, opportunity to do homework, meet great staff and faculty, get to know other students, be in the know about campus events.

    Cons

    One bad manager at PRC but otherwise great managers.

    Advice to Management

    The way you treat your employees will be reflected in their quality of work.

    Collin County Community College2019-09-04
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Student Worker 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Collin County Community College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You will get to know all the campuses

    Cons

    None that i can think of

    Collin County Community College2019-09-08
  3. ""A career dead end""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Professor in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Collin County Community College part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The students are very good, bright and eager to learn.

    Cons

    The administration causally lies to employees. The over-use of part-time professors is grotesque and borderline out of compliance with state regulations. I would say 80-90% of the classes are taught my low-paid, low-energy part-timers. Courses are often shuffled around at the last minute and the course themselves are not very well-organized. The administration eliminated departments and chairs and I watched... two-thirds of the faculty leave, myself included.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Replace Neil Matkin. His changes have destroyed morale and caused large turn-overs in faculty. Return to an academically-oriented, department-based faculty and have part-time faculty teach, at maximum, 20% of the offered classes. And don't pretend to call them "Associate Faculty" instead of adjuncts. Management should be honest.

    Collin County Community College2019-09-01
  4. "Associate Professor at Collin College"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Associate Professor in Frisco, TX

    I have been working at Collin County Community College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The campus itself is a nice place. It is clean and neat. People here are nice, friendly and helpful. Many professors are dedicated to providing a quality education to their students.

    Cons

    If you are considering employment as an associate (part time) professor, you should know a few things. A whopping 70 percent of all professors at Collin are part time. These people teach the same amount of class hours as the full time professors, but are paid a small fraction of their salaries. Last year, I worked my full class load, and was paid just $14, 300. This year, I am on course to earn a whopping $18,000. ... Part timers receive NO benefits, except for a small "retirement fund". Collin has no economic incentive to promote professors. Once you are hired as part time, you have virtually no chance of being promoted to a full time position.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Promote your best part time professors to full time. Listen to your students. They will show you who the best are.

    Collin County Community College2019-07-09
  5. "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Testing Center- Student Assistant in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Collin County Community College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Loved working for Collin College Testing Center, good pay- much better than other colleges for student assistants. Very understanding of the homework load and finals as well.

    Cons

    I have no complaints what so ever.

    Collin County Community College2019-04-14
  6. "Great for College Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Assistant in Frisco, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Collin County Community College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Allowed to work on homework. Given tasks specific to my major.

    Cons

    Pay is low. Only part-time positions available.

    Collin County Community College2019-03-28
  7. "An Okay Place for Students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Assistant 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Collin County Community College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay Can do homework while working

    Cons

    Boring sometimes Sitting most of the day

    Collin County Community College2019-02-23
  8. "Super chill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Student Assistant 

    I worked at Collin County Community College part-time

    Pros

    Super flexible hours of work

    Cons

    The pay was not that good

    Collin County Community College2019-02-22
  9. "Great atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Writing Consultant in Frisco, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Collin County Community College part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent place to work. Great people who truly want you to grow and thrive. Plenty of resources on campus.

    Cons

    Outdated computers. Distracting break room.

    Collin County Community College2019-03-04
  10. "Math Tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Math Lab Tutor in Frisco, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Collin County Community College part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Staff, Great Office, mostly smart students, Flexible schedule,

    Cons

    you have to be ready to be asked for different math topic every day

    Collin County Community College2019-02-12
Found 82 reviews