KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co.

Engaged Employer

Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co.

Add a Review

Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co. Reviews

Updated Aug 11, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 596 of over 826 reviews
4.0
72% Recommend to a Friend
Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co. President and CEO Tim Arnold
89% Approve of CEO

Found 595 of over 826 reviews

4.0
72%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co. President and CEO Tim Arnold
Tim Arnold
242 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Training was good.(in 39 reviews)
  • "Great people to work with(in 36 reviews)
  • "Good benefits, products, and culture(in 30 reviews)
  • "Colonial has a great culture from the top down(in 21 reviews)
  • "Flexible schedule, good support from Management, opportunities are there if willing to work hard.(in 17 reviews)
Cons
  • "Commission only and even if you try your hardest there is a possibility that you will not succeed (as any commission job is).(in 64 reviews)
  • "Micro management and do not care about employee(in 26 reviews)
  • "2 years) with no salary at all and will pressure you to work for them.(in 20 reviews)
  • "If you don't get out and 'get the yes' then you won't make any money at all.(in 17 reviews)
  • "Sales representatives and managers are 1099 employees, so you do have to work to earn your income.(in 16 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co. and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Fantastic culture, support, and training

    Jul 30, 2022 - DGA - District General Agent 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Wonderful company and product. Loads of resources to run your business. The core team is incredibly supportive and ready to help in any way.

    Cons

    1099 sales isn’t for everyone, but for those who are entrepreneurial, it’s a panacea.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co. Response

    This is so great to hear! We partner closely with our managers to provide access to resources that help them develop into strong leaders. The fact that you felt supported and mentioned the strength of your leadership is reassuring that our sales teams are in good hands and set up for success. We really appreciate you taking the time to share this, and we will share this with our team.

  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Top Tier Insurance Company

    Aug 1, 2022 - Senior Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Professional, contemporary and progressive organization

    Cons

    Ramp up challenging but required

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co. Response

    Thank you for this great review! We’re committed to offering our people an environment they can thrive in. We‘re happy to hear about your positive experience with Colonial Life and can’t thank you enough for this valuable feedback that reassures us we are committing to the promise we make to our sales partners and team members.

  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Benefits are great

    Jul 31, 2022 - Billing Specialist in Columbia, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits, career advancement opportunities, team environment

    Cons

    Not hiring enough people to back fill positions. Job eliminations due to outsourcing some production jobs.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co. Response

    Thank you! We’re proud to be able to offer a comprehensive benefits package to all our eligible employees. We’re so happy to hear that you had a positive experience with Colonial Life and truly appreciate your feedback.

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    ADM

    Jul 28, 2022 - Agency Development Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Just started in my position

    Cons

    No cons at the moment

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co. Response

    Thank you for this great review, and welcome to the team!

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work

    Jul 20, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Garden City, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Unlimited training and support, large bonus, and income potential! This is a great place to get your own business started!

    Cons

    You must have an entrepreneur mindset.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co. Response

    Thank you for this five-star review! It makes our day to hear that Colonial Life is making a positive impact on your life. We're so happy to hear that you feel supported and mentioned the strength of your leadership is reassuring that our sales teams are in good hands and set up for success.

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Unparalleled Support

    Jun 30, 2022 - Territory Sales Trainer (SSR) 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to begin a career in the insurance industry. Colonial Life has amazing support from both the home office team and at a local level. Success is attainable for those who come into this business with the drive and determination to reach their goals and create a steady and solid income for themselves and their families.

    Cons

    Very hard work at the beginning and a lot to learn if you're new to the industry.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co. Response

    Thank you for this great review! Colonial Life is committed to offering our people an environment they can thrive in. We‘re happy to hear about your positive experience with us and can’t thank you enough for this valuable feedback that reassures us we are committing to the promise we make to our sales partners and team members.

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great team, solid company

    Jun 29, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good training and support, Great technology

    Cons

    None that I can think of if you do your job!

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co. Response

    This is so great to hear! We partner closely with our managers to provide access to resources that help them develop into strong leaders. The fact that you felt supported and mentioned the strength of your training is reassuring that our sales teams are in good hands and set up for success. We really appreciate you taking the time to share this and we will share this with our team.

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great job

    Jun 22, 2022 - Account Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Super fun job if your a go getter and willing to do the work.

    Cons

    1099 employee. Not much to complain about

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co. Response

    Thank you for this five-star review! We‘re happy to hear about your positive experience with Colonial Life and can’t thank you enough for taking the time to leave this valuable feedback that reassures us we are committing to the promise we make to our sales partners and team members.

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Agent

    Jun 19, 2022 - Licensed Insurance Agent 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    Back office problems due to covid

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co. Response

    Thank you for this! We‘re happy to hear about your positive experience with Colonial Life and can’t thank you enough for this valuable feedback that reassures us we are committing to the promise we make to our sales partners and team members.

  10. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place for new agents

    Jun 12, 2022 - Account Executive in McAllen, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * positive and friendly environment * you are your own boss * great training available

    Cons

    * commission pay * job comes with a lot of rejection for clients

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co. Response

    Thank you so much for this five-star review! We partner closely with our managers to provide access to resources that help them develop into strong leaders. The fact that you felt supported and mentioned the strength of your leadership is reassuring that our sales teams are in good hands and set up for success. We really appreciate you taking the time to share this and we will share this with our team.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 595 Reviews
</>Embed

Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co. Reviews FAQs

Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co. has an overall rating of 4.0 out of 5, based on over 826 reviews left anonymously by employees. 72% of employees would recommend working at Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co. to a friend and 63% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co. employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co.. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

72% of Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co. employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co. 4.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.0 for culture and values and 4.1 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co. to be culture, benefits, career development and the cons to be senior leadership, management, compensation.

Popular Careers with Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co. Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co.? Share Your Experiences

or

Company Updates

Logo

Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co.

110 days ago

Company News
Colonial Life, a Unum brand, has two new executives. Michael Stachowiak is Senior Vice President of Sales, and Shea Treadway is Senior Vice President of Field and Market Development.
Shared image - New Leaders Position Colonial Life for Future Growth
New Leaders Position Colonial Life for Future Growth
www.coloniallife.com
Logo

Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co.

304 days ago

Culture
We are proud to celebrate Indigenous Peoples’ Day to honor the culture and history of people living in the Americas both before and after Christopher Columbus’ arrival.
Shared image
See all

Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co. Photos

+ Add Photo
Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co. photo of: Colonial Life home office
Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co. photo of: Home Office
Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co. photo of: Challenge for Charity

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Glassdoor has 826 Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co. reviews submitted anonymously by Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co. employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co. is right for you.