KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co.

Engaged Employer

Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co.

Add a Review

Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co. Reviews

Updated Jul 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 506 of over 702 reviews

3.7
69%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co. President and CEO Tim Arnold
Tim Arnold
185 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible schedule, the work environment is amazing(in 23 reviews)

  • "Full support from Home Office that really cares about their field workers(in 22 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Almost all positions are 100% commission, which means you won't make money for a while when you start(in 27 reviews)

  • "No benefits from benefits company, amazing(in 21 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co. and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Best Company I've Ever Worked At!

      Feb 8, 2021 - Account Executive in Bend, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Freedom to set my own schedule, Great compensation, Incredible support, Top Notch Trainers, Recognition for achievements, Team oriented, Friendly competition.

      Cons

      None that I can think of!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co. Response

      Agency Account Manager

      Thank you for your great review. We’re committed to offering our team an environment they can thrive in. We are happy to hear about your positive experience while working with Colonial Life.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      ASR

      Jul 19, 2021 - ASR (Account Service Representative ) 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They have a lot of bonuses for employees coming on in their first year to help with building up income and after a few years of building residual income your paychecks really start to add up.

      Cons

      It can be very stressful because you live off sales.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Leadership wants us to succeed

      Jul 13, 2021 - Agency Development Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I own, not rent, my career. I get to write my own paycheck by putting the work into my business. I get to go to bed every night knowing I've done some good for my community. Great pay structure. Wonderful culture. The best training programs I've ever experienced. I've had my last interview!

      Cons

      Requires being a self starter and activity driven. Not an issue if one knows this going in and is willing to put in the work.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Terrific

      Jul 17, 2021 - Insurance Agent 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Offers a Great work environment

      Cons

      I have nothing bad to say

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Benefits Counselor

      Jun 30, 2021 - Sales Associate in Mesa, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Helping families get through these challenging times. I also love sharing with employers the importance of benefits for attracting quality applicants.

      Cons

      The normal corporate expectations and playbook requirements.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Insurance agent

      Jul 18, 2021 - Insurance Agent 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      High commission pay outs Good support staff

      Cons

      All commission job so it can be stressful for somebody that’s new and wants a steady income

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Culture!

      Jun 24, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing culture and opportunities for growth

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      AH claims

      Jun 16, 2021 - VBS II in Columbia, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company and embraces diversity and inclusion.

      Cons

      Unrealistic claims decision goal for 8 hours of work. Stressful.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good company

      Jun 2, 2021 - Instructional Designer in Columbia, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great communication by leadership, especially during the pandemic. They care about the people who work there. Excellent work/life balance, fully remote if that's what you want or office space if you want to go in

      Cons

      Not much to complain about that you wouldn't find anywhere else.

      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      TERRIBLE HIRING EXPERIENCE

      Apr 27, 2021 - Sales Representative in Marlborough, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are no pros for working here its an 100% commission job at a low grade company. The first month they pay for the course and the course itself they pay for ($200 online course)

      Cons

      I never got to the point where i could work in the office because a recruiter at their firm hired me and set me up for only the accident and health course and forgot to sign me up for the life insurance course so I wasted a lot of money retaking the exams and renewing the course 3 months in a row. Then 6 months later came to the realization that she had forgot to sign me up for that course when I was hired at another company with the same course work but it had both ACCIDENT and LIFE online course bundle. Not to mention this recruiter didn't give me a mentor to ask questions about the exam, couldnt help at all because she never took the exams and was very slow at answering emails. Although she made sure to email weekly saying "good job" for continuing with the coursework.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 506 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co. Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Co.? Share Your Experiences

    or