Colonial Penn Life Insurance Reviews | Glassdoor

Colonial Penn Life Insurance Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 53 reviews

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
14%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Colonial Penn Life Insurance CEO Joel Schwartz
Joel Schwartz
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company no micromanaging great CEO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Colonial Penn Life Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Great company...family atmosphere..no micro managing....you can work from home after 1 year...great bonus structure...friendly environment....let me repeat no micro managing!!! If you have telephone skills I recommend this place to anyone

    Cons

    They dont hire to often...if you can get in you stay in

    Advice to Management

    Hire more debt collectors

    Colonial Penn Life Insurance2014-02-25
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Avoid this place if you can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - TELESALES Representative in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Colonial Penn Life Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They help you get your life insurance license.

    Cons

    They micromanage your time using some dubious productivity software system that they never share with you during training about how it works or doesnt work.

    Advice to Management

    Stop selling GBL products, the social security recipients are going to go for it less and less as this economy becomes more difficult.

    Colonial Penn Life Insurance2014-02-21
  3. "Outstanding Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Telesales Virtual Agent in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Colonial Penn Life Insurance part-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    There is no Cold Calling. The prospects are interested in purchasing insurance. Excellent incentive program, outstanding merit increases and excellent benefits

    Cons

    I am a Virtual Agent, and I am 100% satisfied with my position.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be supportive and available to assist Sales Agents as needed.

    Colonial Penn Life Insurance2014-02-05
  4. "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Colonial Penn Life Insurance part-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Outstanding training program, no cold calling, excellent merit increases and incentive programs

    Cons

    I am 100% satisfied, I have no cons.

    Advice to Management

    Be more available to the reps with constructive criticism

    Colonial Penn Life Insurance2014-02-07
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Good for interim employment while looking for something better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Sales Representative in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Colonial Penn Life Insurance full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Easily accessible by public transit, small business atmosphere, free coffee. New CEO is great and is cleaning up Management so things may be getting better in the near future. Co-workers are very kind and helpful. Company pays for and gives support for employee licensing which is rare in insurance business.

    Cons

    Pay not great, health insurance benefit plan is awful and the employee contribution is extremely high , mandatory Saturdays, sales bonuses are quarterly and very small. Facilities and technology need updating. Not much diversity in sales force.

    Colonial Penn Life Insurance2013-05-05
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Take your skills someplace else!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phila, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Colonial Penn Life Insurance full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    convenient downtown location. some management are actually concerned about the employees. incentive packages are pretty ok. Salary pretty good.

    Cons

    Alot of the employees are simply there because of the salary. There are not many people that enjoy the job or the environment. Most supervisors lack intelligence, professionalism and management skills. I was an employee of colonial penn dating back to the 90's, at that time Colonial Penn was an awesome company to work for. Through the years with changes in HR and the company as a whole it has steadily gone down hill....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of supervisors that units are not pulling their weight instead of constantly firing the workers. Hire more professional employees. HR department needs to an overhaul. Stop overworking the customer service dept employees and show your appreciation of them just as you do the sales dept.

    Colonial Penn Life Insurance2013-03-16
  7. Helpful (3)

    "this is one of the worst jobs ive ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Colonial Penn Life Insurance

      Pros

      you can get your insurance license, its in center city, you can work from home if your lucky, the pay isn;t bad- especially if you qualify for the quarterly bonuses

      Cons

      I have literally sat at my desk some days, and forced back tears! the sales quotas are out of reach because soo many sales reps cheat the system old computer system that didnt work well, and a new one that has proved to be worse my supervisor gives me absolutly no suppourt whatsoever, but expects me to perform increasingly unreachable sales goals managment is a joke, i really ont think anyone there has a clue whats...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      resighn

      Colonial Penn Life Insurance2013-03-14
    • Helpful (5)

      "My last review was flagged by CNO...I told too much. I'll be politically correct..but still honest."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Philadelphia, PA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Colonial Penn Life Insurance full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Pay, bonus (but see below), location to public transportation. Excellent if you' re walking in from nothing as they will help you obtain your insurance license. I've watched some people lucky enough to be able to work from home.

      Cons

      Pay close attention to office environment if you walk around BEFORE accepting, multiple grading standards, new stringent bonus requirements. There has been gossip (fully disclosing as gossip) that any issues you share with operations level (which may include but not be limited to H.R., I.T., etc.) may not be completely confidential.

      Advice to Management

      1. Across the board Q.A. standards 2. MANDATORY refresher courses/live phone work for Supervisors 3. Consider occasional drug testing or implementing it 4. Hire additional H.R. Staff on site to manage issues and for the purpose of checks and balances. 5. If it's not in the handbook, insert clear language on relations between people on different hierarchy levels. Most companies are EXPLICIT and FIRM on this....

      Show More
      Colonial Penn Life Insurance2012-12-18
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good job bad management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Philadelphia, PA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Colonial Penn Life Insurance full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Wonderful co workers some supervisors treat you like family and actually about you. When they give bonus they are pretty good

      Cons

      If management has something personal against you no matter how good you are it means nothing

      Advice to Management

      Think more about the workers without them your doors will close. The whole idea that you can bring somebody in to replace a quality worker is terribly wrong. Also some of the floor managers shouldn't have their jobs. They cheated to get there and show favoritism which is obvious

      Colonial Penn Life Insurance2013-01-12
    • "It's a job."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Representative in Philadelphia, PA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Colonial Penn Life Insurance full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Lots of overtime is always available

      Cons

      Micromanagement is a serious problem. You will have at least 5 bosses

      Advice to Management

      A better balance of qualitative and quantitative employee evaluation

      Colonial Penn Life Insurance2012-08-30
    Found 53 reviews