Colonial Penn Life Insurance Reviews | Glassdoor

Colonial Penn Life Insurance Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 53 reviews

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
14%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Colonial Penn Life Insurance CEO Joel Schwartz
Joel Schwartz
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "the worst place to work in the world!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customers Service Sell Sell Sell in Philadelphia Main Post Office, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Colonial Penn Life Insurance full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    great co workers, pays the bills, weekends off

    Cons

    supervisors are insensative to employees, horrible health ins, quotas and goals are so out of touch for employees they can not be met. harrassment and bullying and constant threating of being fired when goals are not met. no room for advancement, obsolete computer systems. customer service is not really customers service but is a sales job where they tell you to somehow make older ppl buy ins they cannot afford. i...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    happy emloyess make better workers. suspervisor need more training, instead of harrasing employees try to figure out why the company itself is in so much trouble

    Colonial Penn Life Insurance2012-08-02
  2. "What a ridiculous company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Telesales in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Colonial Penn Life Insurance full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    -Friendly Co-Workers -Great Location --Nice Bonuses -2 good managers

    Cons

    -unqualified, unintelligent supervisors -Quickly changing metrics of evaluation -Terrible Health Benefits

    Advice to Management

    Please keep standard measurements of employee evaluation. Also, please make your supervisors take basic writing courses as well as management seminars. The supervisors are unapproachable, hide in cubicles. When they are approachable, they don't know what's going on. They also don't promote for a number of reasons. The only people in management who actually work are one supervisor

    Colonial Penn Life Insurance2012-06-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "im taking my experience and bring it some where else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Colonial Penn Life Insurance

    Pros

    easy job and it pays the bills, convient for me cause I work from home as well as the downtown location.

    Cons

    very little one on one time with the supervisors, some of them rarely help out when you have an irate customer. the job is stressful because the people you talk to are dumb and you have to meet a stupid sales quota which is hard to reach because everyone is cheating!!

    Advice to Management

    stop rating us on our sales quota. how bout a find out why the percentage is so low instead of firing people.

    Colonial Penn Life Insurance2011-10-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible- OVERworked UNDERpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service (Actually Sales) in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Colonial Penn Life Insurance

    Pros

    -Co-workers were great, sense of family -Fun training -Location

    Cons

    -Not truthful about expectations in your interview -You are told to sell sell sell, you receive no bonus, they hold that over your head every quarter, and at incentive time there is always an excuse as to why you didn't receive a bonus. -Some of the management could be a little more profesional.

    Advice to Management

    The happier your employees are the better the results!

    Colonial Penn Life Insurance2011-05-23
  5. "Work hard all day, never good enough,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Colonial Penn Life Insurance

    Pros

    many people out of work now. It is not a difficult job youcan sell a lot of policies and that does give a sense of satisfaction.

    Cons

    Along work day and 2 Sats a month. When they want you to work a Sunday or extra hours they act like you have nothing better to do. I don't believe they care if you have life out of work . You are just a cog grinding out policies and getting referrals- like a little well oiled machine. Pay is bad and it is hard to get your time off when you want it.

    Advice to Management

    think of the sales people. We have wants and needs just like the management. we have feelings and families we want to spend time with. Try thinking of ways to reward us financially and stop spendingso much time on trying to find ways not to pay us. better staff and not such a revolving door.

    Colonial Penn Life Insurance2011-03-21
  6. "The worst 5 months of my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Telesales in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Colonial Penn Life Insurance

    Pros

    You build rapport with your training class and some co-workers, but overall it's not a great experience.

    Cons

    You sell the infamous Colonial Penn guaranteed acceptance life insurance to seniors who think this may be a good product. There are unrealistic metrics that must be met in 20 or so areas. There is a lack of work most days that lead you to do nothing productive. There's a lack of training and development.

    Advice to Management

    Realize there are issues with training and management. Also, please realize there are issues with your hiring practices, and that favoritism is practiced by your floor managers.

    Colonial Penn Life Insurance2011-03-08
  7. "customer service rep/ telemarketer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Philadelphia, PA

    I have been working at Colonial Penn Life Insurance

    Pros

    good incentive program when you sell insurance

    Cons

    a bunch of women. You have to try to sell more insurance with every call.

    Advice to Management

    none

    Colonial Penn Life Insurance2011-02-01
  8. Helpful (1)

    "It is what it is..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Philadelphia, PA

    I have been working at Colonial Penn Life Insurance

    Pros

    Flexible schedule Not the hardest sell Leads provided, little cold calling Relaxed environment Friendly people Quarterly incentives May get to meet Alex Trebek

    Cons

    Micromanaging Management is completely out of touch No advancement opportunity Expect to be written up for frequently for unrealistic sales goals

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees. We are the ones who talk to the clients, not you!

    Colonial Penn Life Insurance2011-01-19
  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in

      I have been working at Colonial Penn Life Insurance

      Pros

      best insurance ever great company

      Cons

      diffucult to set appointment but once u have the meeting it is smooth sailing

      Colonial Penn Life Insurance2012-09-11
    • "Tired and IRRITATED"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at Colonial Penn Life Insurance full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Friendly co works safe work environment may have the opportunity to work from home the actual job you were hired to do is not that difficult

      Cons

      totally unprofessional work environment incentive is great only if your a new hire cause after that it really depends on who likes you the I believe they make up the #'s as they go along and if someone higher up wants you gone you can be a star employee and you will get written up on any little infraction until your out the door you can be above goal and every area and a little low in one and your on write up this is...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Need more training need to keep things professional need to be more appreciative of workers that are know to produce and not discourage or put down as soon as they have a down month personal feeling should be set a side I am well aware of business needs yet this company is horrible with employee needs the moral is low there is really no help and god forbid you need to escalate a call to a supervisor if your employees...

      Show More
      Colonial Penn Life Insurance2012-08-02
    Found 53 reviews