Colonial Penn Life Insurance Sales Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

Colonial Penn Life Insurance Sales Representative Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
11%
Recommend to a Friend
Colonial Penn Life Insurance CEO Joel Schwartz
Joel Schwartz
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company no micromanaging great CEO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Colonial Penn Life Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Great company...family atmosphere..no micro managing....you can work from home after 1 year...great bonus structure...friendly environment....let me repeat no micro managing!!! If you have telephone skills I recommend this place to anyone

    Cons

    They dont hire to often...if you can get in you stay in

    Advice to Management

    Hire more debt collectors

    Colonial Penn Life Insurance2014-02-25
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Fake review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Colonial Penn Life Insurance full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    It's nice to receive a paycheck so that bills can be paid. Some of the folks who work here are really special and hard working people.

    Cons

    The supervisor "review" from 7/21/16 looks very suspect. I would not be surprised if they were asked to post that comment with five stars just to raise Colonial Penn's rating on Glassdoor. There was nothing of substance in their review and they neglected to leave a comment which contained the truth.

    Advice to Management

    Instead of having employees post fake reviews to make the rating look better, create a more efficient work environment without crushing and haphazard micromanagement in the sales department.

    Colonial Penn Life Insurance2016-09-24
  3. "Col Penn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Colonial Penn Life Insurance full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, easy, monthly incentives

    Cons

    Micromanagement, repetitive, extensive use of key performance indicators. Not much room to advance if in Philly office.

    Colonial Penn Life Insurance2016-05-03
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Low Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outbound Sales Representative in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Colonial Penn Life Insurance for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Benefits, monthly celebrations, trips given out to top performers via lottery, clean working conditions, decent comuter systems at each desk

    Cons

    Poorly trained managers, limited growth potential, low salary, no commission, low monthly bonuses, high turnover, forced to use scripts and can't really use your personality to sell

    Advice to Management

    give better pay, quicker raises. Your losing good SALES people!

    Colonial Penn Life Insurance2015-09-06
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Good for interim employment while looking for something better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Sales Representative in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Colonial Penn Life Insurance full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Easily accessible by public transit, small business atmosphere, free coffee. New CEO is great and is cleaning up Management so things may be getting better in the near future. Co-workers are very kind and helpful. Company pays for and gives support for employee licensing which is rare in insurance business.

    Cons

    Pay not great, health insurance benefit plan is awful and the employee contribution is extremely high , mandatory Saturdays, sales bonuses are quarterly and very small. Facilities and technology need updating. Not much diversity in sales force.

    Colonial Penn Life Insurance2013-05-05
  6. "It's a job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Colonial Penn Life Insurance full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Lots of overtime is always available

    Cons

    Micromanagement is a serious problem. You will have at least 5 bosses

    Advice to Management

    A better balance of qualitative and quantitative employee evaluation

    Colonial Penn Life Insurance2012-08-30
  7. Helpful (1)

    "im taking my experience and bring it some where else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Colonial Penn Life Insurance

    Pros

    easy job and it pays the bills, convient for me cause I work from home as well as the downtown location.

    Cons

    very little one on one time with the supervisors, some of them rarely help out when you have an irate customer. the job is stressful because the people you talk to are dumb and you have to meet a stupid sales quota which is hard to reach because everyone is cheating!!

    Advice to Management

    stop rating us on our sales quota. how bout a find out why the percentage is so low instead of firing people.

    Colonial Penn Life Insurance2011-10-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "It is what it is..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Philadelphia, PA

    I have been working at Colonial Penn Life Insurance

    Pros

    Flexible schedule Not the hardest sell Leads provided, little cold calling Relaxed environment Friendly people Quarterly incentives May get to meet Alex Trebek

    Cons

    Micromanaging Management is completely out of touch No advancement opportunity Expect to be written up for frequently for unrealistic sales goals

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees. We are the ones who talk to the clients, not you!

    Colonial Penn Life Insurance2011-01-19
Found 8 reviews