KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Colorado State University

Is this your company?

Colorado State University

Add a Review

Colorado State University Reviews

Updated Jul 30, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,084 of over 1,186 reviews

4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Colorado State University President Joyce McConnell
Joyce McConnell
100 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work environment and students(in 58 reviews)

  • "Great place to work in Fort Collins(in 41 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Low-pay compared to industry positions(in 46 reviews)

  • "Still not enough money to live in Fort Collins(in 18 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Colorado State University and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Dean Student Support Staff

      Jul 30, 2021 - Student in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work environment & staff. Very Flexible

      Cons

      Don't often promote or give wage increases

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Big campus with lots of amenities

      Jul 26, 2021 - Graduate Research Assistant in Fort Collins, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Big campus Great networking potential Lots of international students

      Cons

      Language barriers exist if English isn’t your first language.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee

      a

      Jul 25, 2021 - Graduate Student in Fort Collins, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It was good to get my education

      Cons

      There isn't really I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great hands on experience

      Jul 9, 2021 - Student Researcher in Fort Collins, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Helpful for students to understand and get a glimpse of their field of study. Especially because we aren't professionals yet the PI's will help you along the way.

      Cons

      Compensation could be better for students

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Abusive and Bad Work Place

      Mar 17, 2021 - Resident Assistant (RA) 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is great, room and board is a big deal. Direct management, RDs and ARDs from my experience are the only good part of housing that is higher then the RAs.

      Cons

      Things will change at a moments notice. We were just given four week notice that we are going to be working spring break with not extra compensation even though our contract says breaks will give us extra compensation for working. There is a stipulation that says they can change this how ever this is still unethical. There is an emphasis on saying the right things, being the right person, and liking the right people. I had a manager tell me that I do not have diverse enough friends and that was reason for concern for him. They WILL invade your personal life in some way. There is a strong layer of fake corporate woke that is dripped over everything that I personally find revolting. I am still here though becasue it is one of the only way that I can pay for collage. During COVID-19 we have not had hazard pay or any extra PPE past what we are will to buy for our selves. RA's have been told to clean up bio waste with out the correct training, we are working 24 hours a day, and management is unreceptive to anything that we have to say and uses anti-union language in our meetings and trainings.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      great place to work

      Jul 8, 2021 - Graduate Assistant in Fort Collins, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      very comfortable working here as a GA.

      Cons

      Sometimes it felt like the resposibilities were not defined enough

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Adjunct Professor

      Jul 10, 2021 - Adjunct Professor in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Supportive administration, courses are well designed

      Cons

      I have not encountered any issues.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Graduate assistantship

      Jul 8, 2021 - Graduate Student in Fort Collins, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Half of base tuition and insurance was covered in addition pay.

      Cons

      Juggling work with grad schools

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Supporting environment and plenty of learning opportunities

      Jun 23, 2021 - Graduate Research Assistant in Fort Collins, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As a graduate research assistant I learned many applied skills in quantitative analysis, the department was mostly supportive and collaborative.

      Cons

      Prices in Fort Collins go up a lot year-to-year, while GRA salaries remain mostly the same and do not catch up with inflation.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Flexible Workplace

      Jun 29, 2021 - Mailroom Associate in Fort Collins, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My work at Colorado State University was great. Good people with flexible hours to fit my school schedule.

      Cons

      I have nothing negative to say.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,084 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Colorado State University Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Colorado State University? Share Your Experiences

    or